We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value but a bit hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a good hotel if you want cheap & reasonable family standard. The only negative is that it is very hard to find with the address not being right (or at least being confusing with the road signs in the area), and the GPS coordinates give being wrong.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 237 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

we needed a place near St Malo for a 10 am ferry. This fitted the bill. Like most Campaniles - reasonable value, pretty basic, plastic decor, but clean and functional (bar heating: see below). Standard Campanile breakfast and dinner - which I quite like; dinner is nothing special, but OK for a chain. Friendly and efficient service. One complaint: it was June but very chilly and central heating was off. After two hours of having cold air blowing from the 'heater' we contacted front desk and they brought over a heater, which did the job fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

When we checked in the chef very kindly took our booking. Such a happy chappie and cracking jokes, certainly put a smile on our faces after the long ride to the Campanile. Our room was on the ground floor, and we were able to park the motorbike outside the door. The room was nice and clean and tidy. Coffee and tea making facilities which was a bonus. Nice white fluffy towels, extra pillows if needed. The supermarket was just a few mins away so we could stock up with treats.
We ate there in the evening. Good choice of food. Superb salad bar to help yourself before main course. Food was freshly prepared and hot !!!. So many little desserts to chose from after your main course. Young lady on the reception very kindly gave us a bottle of fresh milk for our teas, as I don't like the UHT milk pots. We were leaving extra early so no time for breakfast. Will use this stop again.

Room Tip: We had room 014.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

At the start of our holiday we needed a one night stop-over. This hotel is located close to St Malo in a convenient location close to the motorway.
We found the room clean, but a little small, but nothing to complain about. There is a restaurant on site at which we had a god meal.
We would recommend this hotel and the Campanile chain

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manfromguernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This Campanile, situated on the outskirts of St.Malo, is one of the better ones. The restaurant was buzzing with people and the food, wine and service were better than expected of a stop-over type hotel/restaurant.

Although not near enough to the other delights of St. Malo - the shopping, history and variety of restaurants etc, this little enclave was attractive and slightly smaller than some of the other Campanile's we had stayed at. All parking was well laid out and accessible and visible.

The room we had looked as if it had had a recent makeover, was clean, warm and inviting. They are now using crisp white covers for the duvets and the towels were soft and downy (something other independent French hotels would do well to copy).

A really comfortable place to stay the night before the ferry.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseygirl017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had two rooms for an overnight stop and trip to St Malo. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Good bathrooms with everything that we needed. Beds were all comfortable and there was free internet in our rooms. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and for breakfast and the quality and value was good. Staff were very friendly. We would use this chain again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel, part of the large Campanile hotel group, overs a great stop over on the way back to to ferry at St.Malo, it being placed just off the N137.
Our room came with good facilities, was spotless, had comfortable beds with cosy duvets, a full service bathroom with white fluffy towels.
We did not have high expectations from the restaurant but were very pleasantly surprised, enjoying a good dinner. We also enjoyed the extensive and delicious breakfast.
The hotel was full over the night of our stay, but despite meagre staffing levels, we experienced good service. Our main course at dinner was served by the chef.
We would not hesitate to use this Campanile again.

Room Tip: If you`ve got mobilty problems get a room on the ground floor as we did not see a lift to the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dau-dyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
1.6 mi away
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
#21 of 82 in Saint-Malo
726 reviews
2.4 mi away
B&B Hotel SAINT-MALO Centre
B&B Hotel SAINT-MALO Centre
#51 of 82 in Saint-Malo
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Saint-Malo Sud
B&B Saint-Malo Sud
#1 of 4 in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
#48 of 82 in Saint-Malo
789 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 82 in Saint-Malo
682 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premiere Classe Saint Malo - Saint Jouan des Guerets
Premiere Classe Saint Malo - Sai...
#4 of 4 in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets

Address: Zac de la Chesnais, 35430 Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo > Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
Price Range: $51 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing