We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had two rooms for an overnight stop and trip to St Malo. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Good bathrooms with everything that we needed. Beds were all comfortable and there was free internet in our rooms. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and for breakfast and the quality and value was good. Staff were very friendly. We would use this chain again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel, part of the large Campanile hotel group, overs a great stop over on the way back to to ferry at St.Malo, it being placed just off the N137.
Our room came with good facilities, was spotless, had comfortable beds with cosy duvets, a full service bathroom with white fluffy towels.
We did not have high expectations from the restaurant but were very pleasantly surprised, enjoying a good dinner. We also enjoyed the extensive and delicious breakfast.
The hotel was full over the night of our stay, but despite meagre staffing levels, we experienced good service. Our main course at dinner was served by the chef.
We would not hesitate to use this Campanile again.

Room Tip: If you`ve got mobilty problems get a room on the ground floor as we did not see a lift to the second...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dau-dyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Great place for a stopover when travelling to or from ferry terminal in St Malo - very close to N137 (although didn't really hear the traffic noise)
Arrived late, due to a delayed ferry arrival in St Malo- Able to follow map from hotel website and find it in the dark!
No problem with checking in late.
Was very surprised at the standard / facilties in the room - was expecting quite basic but had everything we needed for our stopover - tea / coffee facilities / hair dryer / tv / toiletries in the bathroom.
Free Parking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJJ1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Campaniles appear all over France and this is the first time I have stayed at the one at St. Malo. Though outside the town and on an industrial estate in a small but quite pretty village, it is very easy to access and ideal for those catching the ferry or coming off one in the evening. The staff are friendly, the rooms clean but beginning to look dated. The food is the usual Campanile approach of buffets and some main dishes. I had two of these and I can certainly recommend the mussels, plenty of them and very few dodgy ones with broken shells or hard to open. Although it is by the main road out of St. Malo the rooms are really quiet at night. It is true to say that the decline of the £ against the Euro has made the chain less of the bargain it was before.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

This Campanile, situated on the outskirts of St.Malo, is one of the better ones. The restaurant was buzzing with people and the food, wine and service were better than expected of a stop-over type hotel/restaurant.

Although not near enough to the other delights of St. Malo - the shopping, history and variety of restaurants etc, this little enclave was attractive and slightly smaller than some of the other Campanile's we had stayed at. All parking was well laid out and accessible and visible.

The room we had looked as if it had had a recent makeover, was clean, warm and inviting. They are now using crisp white covers for the duvets and the towels were soft and downy (something other independent French hotels would do well to copy).

A really comfortable place to stay the night before the ferry.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank saltaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Since there are no other reviews here, let me tell you about our stay in July 2007.

I was a bit cross having to stay here. I had made a reservation at a St. Malo hotel, but a few weeks later Expedia contacted me to say that the original hotel had overbooked, and given that it was Bastille day they couldn't find anything closer than this 2* hotel 10km from St Malo. Since I already had my ferry booking what could I do?

As an American living in England I always look for 5*s (and always end up with what I would consider 3 or 4 star hotels.) So those 2 stars worried me. I pictured bugs and mildew. But I shouldn't have. The rooms were clean, well kept, better than basic and perfect for me and my two children on an overnight stay. The staff were courteous and efficient and extremely helpful arranging taxis and such. Given the language problem, we all had a go and got everything we needed when we needed it.

We dined in the restaurant for our evening meal and were extremely pleased with all of the food - particularly the starter and dessert buffets - in fact I could have just had the two buffets and been very, very happy.

This is really a Motel and not really what we needed as we were without a car. But I’m having to rethink 2*s (the food really made this place better than that) and I’m starting to think a road trip across Europe might be a great holiday. If at the end of a day’s drive I could end up in a place like this with a great meal, I would be very happy. Well done.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerryBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
1  Thank Lyva86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nathalie f, Gérant at Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
2.4 mi away
B&B Hotel SAINT-MALO Centre
B&B Hotel SAINT-MALO Centre
#52 of 81 in Saint-Malo
241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
Ibis Saint Malo La Madeleine
#18 of 81 in Saint-Malo
723 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
Ibis budget Saint-Malo Centre
#48 of 81 in Saint-Malo
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Saint-Malo Sud
B&B Saint-Malo Sud
#1 of 4 in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premiere Classe Saint Malo - Saint Jouan des Guerets
Premiere Classe Saint Malo - Sai...
#4 of 4 in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets

Address: Zac de la Chesnais, 35430 Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets, Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo > Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
Price Range: $51 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Saint Malo - Saint Jouan Des Guerets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing