We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location”
Review of Hotel Oromana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Oromana
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

What a superb location this Andalucian hotel is situated in!!! Stayed here as a base for sightseeing as didnt want to drive into Seville (for this we walked 25mins to Alcala town and caught the M121 bus which then took about 40mins to Seville then a 5min tram ride, the bus was an incredible 1.50e each way per person! coming back the same bus from the stop you got off at but DONT get off at end of line C/Saturno in Alcala but stay on till you get near the castle, about 7 stops, no extra e's as in same zone). Apart from that the hotel was great, food if you have evening meals which we did twice was excellent and breakfast good.
Would stay again without doubt!!!!! MUY BIEN!!!!!!!!!!!
p.s. on the evening menu was a 'stink cheese' with a steak dish - this was a blue or Roquefort cheese which didnt really smell.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOromana, Gerente at Hotel Oromana, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Our hotel is located within a Natural Park, yet only minutes from the city. We always recommend our customers to access our hotel by car for your convenience. Access to Seville are very good and fast (15 minutes by car), and allow you to visit cities such as Jerez, Ronda and Cordoba is located 1 hour drive from our hotel
Thank you very much again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    79
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
41
68
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Because it was Semana Santa the hotels in Seville were full so we selected this hotel 30 minutes by bus (or car) from central Seville. The town of Alcala is lovely and we spent one day exploring this town and its river and its castle. Unlike Seville which is beautiful but very busy and full of tourists, this town felt very peaceful and we saw a different aspect of Spanish life. The hotel sits in a large park of stone pines above the river. Many locals came for a drink or family dinner and many mountain bikers use the area for recreation. The hotel lobby and restaurant are grand. The rooms are fine and with free internet access. Alcala is on the route out of Seville towards the white hill towns and Cordoba. It was a bit pricey but then we found most hotels in Spain pricey. At least with the price you were in a lovely setting and the breakfast was super.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainetSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOromana, Gerente at Hotel Oromana, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you very much for so positively assess our hotel, both for its location and service. We believe that we are in an unbeatable location surrounded by vegetanción and just a few minutes from Seville.
Our restaurant is in high demand by the inhabitants of Alcala de Guadaira and its surroundings, to have some great facilities and great food where they can enjoy with your family, because we have large terraces.

We hope your trip to Spain is pleasant and that we have in the future with you, your family or friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We arrived mid-afternoon for a three day stay. The bar and restaurant were closed that evening (I think the restaurant and bar are closed on Sundays and Mondays) so we felt a tad abandoned at first. But we were soon delighted to discover the hotel's context which is set in Parque de Oromana, a languid pine hillside forest that descends to a river below, interrupted by former mills where you can cross the water. For me this provided a chance to swim since the hotel pool was (understandably for February) unavailable, so I was happily catered for.

The hotel seems to run on a skeleton staff, perhaps due to it being out of season, but when you do find someone they are more than willing to help. What took us by surprise was the excellent dinner that was provided on our second night in the spacious and elegant dining room with attentive service from the receptionist who seemed to be covering all duties, and very well too.

I loved the place and would happily return. Its position provides a retreat-like atmosphere with pleasant walking. Seville is a 30 minute drive away (and not without its challenges), and if you drive to the station at Dos Hermanas (about 20 minutes away - allow longer for parking) you can let the train take the strain to Cadiz and Jerez, 90 minutes (Cadiz) away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesFlamantsRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOromana, Gerente at Hotel Oromana, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you very much for taking a moment to review our hotel.
Indicate that following their advice we proceeded to strengthen the service of restaurant and cafeteria, which is currently open every day of the week for both lunch and dinner.
As for our staff, who are well prepared strive to provide the best service to our customers, and either one can handle any request. But you know that the hotel has reception, cafeteria staff, and perhaps the day you stayed we would have a sick worker. Hope you will understand this situation and for our part we have taken steps to make these events do not occur.

We hope to see by nuetro hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

The location of this hotel is absolutely nice, up a hill, looking out over the little town in a park area.
Parking in front of hotel is easy. Only rooms that are not in the main building have Wifi-access but the quality is pretty good.
Room size is good but the furniture is dented and looks pretty used. Balcony looking over garden and pool is nice.
Sevilla is easy reachable by metro from Montequinto, free parking.
Breakfast below average.
I was in a room close to restaurant and don't like to be treated with ongoing music. I changed rooms to the very back. Staff was helpful esp. with trips and maps.
Rooms are not sound proof. Can hear neighbors and people going down hall. Also A/C can be noisy even when you don't have it turned on.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwinKuipersBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We found this charming country hotel by chance (the GPS knew it) and although we also looked at other places we came back and was not disappointed. The building is a beautiful hasienda from 1929 and at a very nice location overlooking the river and near a nice riverside walk and recreational area. The rooms and the hotel looks recently renovated. The town of Alcala is also nice. The nearest metro station with trains to central Sevilla is a 15 minutes drive away. The staff is very friendly and helpful and speaks English (very well)! The pool was unfortunately out of order when we were there. I think this was a temporary problem. Super prices at €55 including breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I lived in Alcala for 6 months back in '86 and we came to see both Alcala and Sevilla. The hotel was excellent--easy parking, beautiful grounds, comfortable room. There are lots of stairs everywhere in the hotel, which wasn't a problem for us. We drove into Sevilla, into Santiponce, and into Alcala from here. We considered visiting the hill towns to the south from here, too, but didn't have time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimfromiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

If you dont want the hassle of parking and traffic in Seville, this could be ideal place to stay.
Hard to find even with their map.Lovely park like setting with pool, although unheated and not very clean as under trees, i.e. lots od leaved and pine needles!
Rooms good size with balconies.Breakfast average, dinner o.k. but as few guests seemed to eat there, the restaurant had no atmosphere.
For price of euros 100, would recommend.
Staff very helpful and gave us excellent advice where to park when we went into Seville on a Fiesta day.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank bigmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala de Guadaira
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sandra
Hotel Sandra
#3 of 4 in Alcala de Guadaira
34 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel TRH La Motilla
Hotel TRH La Motilla
#1 of 3 in Dos Hermanas
274 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Parador de Carmona
Parador de Carmona
#1 of 7 in Carmona
1,074 reviews
5.9 mi away
Vertice Sevilla
Vertice Sevilla
#64 of 175 in Seville
570 reviews
5.6 mi away
MareHotel
MareHotel
#3 of 3 in Dos Hermanas
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oromana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oromana

Property: Hotel Oromana
Address: Av Portugal s/n, 41500 Alcala de Guadaira, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Alcala de Guadaira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alcala de Guadaira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oromana 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oromana Hotel is a regional style building, finished in the late twenties and designed by the Seville architect Juan de Talavera, on the occasion of the Ibero-American exhibition of Seville. Its architecture is reminiscent of the typical Andalusian haciendas or farmhouses. We can get beautiful panoramic views of the Guadaíra river and the mills on its banks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Oromana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oromana Alcala De Guadaira, Spain - Province Of Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing