We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

a really beautiful place to stay. The owners are lovely and full of useful information on places to visit and spots for a drink or dinner. The rooftop pool area is so relaxing... We didn't leave the rooftop for three days! If you want a relaxing quiet stay then this is the place for you in a real Spanish town. Some nice spots for lunch and dinner just a short walk away, and the beach bars are food fun too although you will need a taxi to get to them. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 303 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just stayed at our favourite hotel for the second time. The new owners Christa and Jan could not have been more welcoming. they are continuing and building on the already wonderful experience that is The Palacio Blanco. The hotel is delightful. The town is a step back in time before overbuilding spoiled the coastand the welcome and service is second to none. Would we return. You bet! Joan and Michael Davies England

Room Tip: We like to stay on the top floor which is convenient for the terrace and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Excellent accommodation in a proper Spanish town, all hidden behind a beautiful old door. Wonderful welcome. Spot on recommendations for dinners and dorade on the beach. Relaxed atmosphere especially with the roof top terrace. We would definitely go back. Thank you Nick and Lesley.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I truly love this bed and breakfast. Nick and Leslie are so kind, it feels like a home away from home. The decoration is awesome, it's so luxurious. The rooftop terrace and bar are fantastic - great for an afternoon relaxation. Only con for me was the airconditioning in the room didn't work proper (but maybe they fixed that in the mean time) so it was very hot in the room. There are some small restaurants in the village which do give you real Spanish food. But on arrival Leslie or Nick will tell you all about it.

Velez-Malaga is centrally located, it's nearby Malaga (about 30 min drive), Nerja (20min) and lots of other places. Remember daytrips to Cordoba, Granada, Seville and Ronda are also possible but it is a pretty long drive (around 4hours total).

All in all, we enjoyed our stay in Velez-Malaga, and especially in Palacio Blanco. It's a small and quiet B&B which is really nice if you do daytours to surrounding tourist cities. Keep up the good work Nick & Leslie!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bramvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It's all been said by other reviewers but I just wanted to say - it's all true! We had a very relaxing 2 days and will definitely go back. The bed was so comfortable I had to ask Lesley for the details. Spotless, friendly, comfortable, helpful, and sun all day on the fabulous roof terrace - what's not to like.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank bexby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

After some difficulty finding the hotel due to a haywire satnav (go up the street slowly - the hotel is not easy to spot as you approach) and a shortage of parking spots, we were very warmly welcomed by Lesley and Nick who went out of their way to help us find a parking spot and to settle in. Our room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. We felt as if we were in the real Spain, as the hotel is small and personal like a B & B or a guesthouse, rather than just another tourist in a big impersonal hotel. The continental breakfast Has an excellent range of food. You can help yourself to tea and coffee at anytime, and there is an honesty system for other drinks.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Winelovers1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place really is perfect and deserves the excellent reviews it receives. The hotel is beautiful, oozing style with a sun kissed roof terrace offering the perfect place to unwind. The rooms are spacious with walk in showers and it's place in the heart of the cobbled town gives a proper Spanish flavour compared to other options in the area. It's good value and a perfect place for a romantic break.

Despite all this what really sets the place apart are the owners, Nick and Lesley. Great company and keen for you to have the best possible stay. Nick even managed to arrange Europe to win the Ryder Cup when we were in town.

Just go!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velez-Malaga
1.6 mi away
B bou Hotel Cortijo Bravo
B bou Hotel Cortijo Bravo
#3 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Avenida JC
Hotel Avenida JC
#4 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
18 reviews
3.5 mi away
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Torre del Mar
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Torremar Hotel
Torremar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Torre del Mar
173 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mainake
Hotel Mainake
#2 of 5 in Torre del Mar
149 reviews
8.2 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Blanco

Address: Calle Felix Lomas 4 | Province of Malaga, 29700 Velez-Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Velez-Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Price Range: $97 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palacio Blanco 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio Blanco is located in the hitoric district of Velez Malaga,in an over 300 year old moorish monastry which was converted in 2008 to a luxury 9 bedroom boutique hotel with roofterrace,excercise water jet pool and sundeck with bar .Featured in the BBC program Amazing buildings which followed the whole conversion process. * Prime location in the city centre ,walking distance of bars,restauants,theatre and shops. *Beach and golf course only 4 kms from the hotel. *Rooms with luxery bathrooms and walk in shower, air conditioning, free wifi , international TV. *Perfect for business meetings ,weddings or as private hotel with family and friends. *We speak Dutch , English and German. *It is all afordable luxery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palacio Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Blanco Hotel
Palacio Blanco Velez Malaga
Hotel Palacio Blanco Spain/Velez-Malaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing