We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely way to spend Valentines evening”
Review of Hotel La Vinuela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Vinuela
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Torrox, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What a lovely way to spend Valentines evening”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We have just enjoyed the most wonderful Valentines evening dinner at the Hotel La Vinuela.

The ambience, service and - most importantly - food quality could not be beaten.

We enjoyed a couple of pre-Dinner drinks in the bar where the restaurant waiter bought out the menus for us to study at our leisure.

On going into the restaurant - small and intimate - our orders were taken immediately then we were offered a lovely selection of hot bread rolls accompanied by a complimentary homemade/delicious Melon Mojito and a small Smoked Salad tartlet.

We both had Starters then my husband chose Duck for his main course whilst I had the BEST blue Fillet Steak I have ever had. We shared a Dessert (more than enough for 2 people) then finished with Coffee and Brandy. The whole meal cost just 87€.

Very pleasant, easy listening music played all night.

This was a magical evening - made even more so as at the next table a young man was proposing to his girlfriend on Valentines night (and she accepted).

We will be returning to the hotel for another wonderful meal very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    110
    32
    4
    8
See reviews for
86
226
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mojacar,Spain
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Had a lovely time here.This is a high quality hotel with excellent food and service.The rooms are very comfortable and all the prices are exceptionally reasonable.The wine list has many bargains! We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We went for a wedding, and everyone was so helpful.Buffet breakfast was fantastic.Lovely views over the lake. Staff were very friendly and attentive. The wedding party went very smoothly. The pool was clean .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctors1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Can I say first of all that we had a lovely meal here. It is not however 4 star either in respect of food or service.
On our arrival we were asked if we had a reservation, which we had, for five people. The table wasn't ready and we had to wait while they muddled together a fifth place setting...not a good start as we had booked as a thank you to our daughter and her husband for having us to stay at their holiday home in Puente don Manuel. We were shown to our table and the waiter disappeared, we presumed to fetch menus. We sat for a few minutes, chatting and waiting for someone to take a drinks order. Our wait became irritatingly lengthy and I noted that the head waiter/ restaurant manager appeared to be showing a young couple what I think were the wedding facilities. Now while I appreciate that this might well be an integral part of their business, is a Friday night, in the middle of a fully booked dinner service, when the staff are stretched to cope, really an appropriate time? The wait had got to the point where we were on the point of getting up to leave when a very pleasant young waiter appeared with menus and took our drinks and food order. We settled down to our drinks and meal and the food was good but not exceptional. But to be fair the prices are reasonable and the views from the terrace over the beautifully maintained gardens to Lake Vinuela are superb.
We were again disappointed when a more senior waiter came to take our orders for dessert/coffees and he most certainly displayed an attitude. I might add at this juncture that we have dined here on three occassions, and our daughter, numerous times, while on holiday and this particulair member of staff's attitude is very hit or miss. He swings between very charming and very off hand which, in itself, is unacceptable in his chosen career.
Our departure was not acknowleged, another bug bear of mine, and just about summed up the lack of attention to detail.
In summary, the terrace here is a pleasant location in which to spend an hour or two over a pleasant meal or drinks but requires a good Maitre'd to lick the staff into shape if they are serious about achieving the 5 stars displayed at the entrance.

Room Tip: Dine or have drinks on the terrace for superb views over Lake Vinuela.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at La Vinuela and only wish it had been longer. Lovely location right on the lake, super, clean comfortable and spacious rooms. Staff are delightful and only too happy to help with any request or problem. Only one outdoor pool open during our stay but it was very well kept, clean and serviced by good loungers and parasols. Didn't use the inside spa facilities but they looked well kept. The restaurant is very pleasant and the food excellent - however the portions are enormous so be warned that your waist line might take a beating if you were eating here for longer than a couple of nights! Overall a great place to stay and we hope to visit again before too long and for longer!

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are gorgeous but ask for a view of the lake as you get mountains too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyandAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I go to nerja every year this time I found a brochure in the villa for la vinuela so we took a day trip out there, im so glad we did, what a find! I cant comment on the rooms as I didnt stay overnight but the hotel itself and its surroundings were amazing, the room rates were very reasonable. We went to the restaurant for lunch so cheap and the food was fabulous, I actually found that the only review classed as terrible was for the food, a bit shocking I thought, we cleared our plates, we had 6 meals, drinks and cocktails and the bill was only round €70. Next time we travel back we are absolutely planning to spend a night or two here.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the lake/reservoir im sure it would be worth the extra pennies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dumdumdedum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel surrounded by well tended and relaxing gardens, overlooking a lovely lake. Lunch on the terrace is a must. The bar is well stocked with pretty much everything and the measures are generous. The September weather was perfect for relaxing.
NOTE: if you suffer from car-sickness plan your journey carefully. Most of the roads to get here are very twisty. There is a stunning view of the lake from one of the roads above.
This feels more like the real Spain compared with the coastal developments and is well worth a visit or a stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeJ942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velez-Malaga
6.2 mi away
B bou Hotel Cortijo Bravo
B bou Hotel Cortijo Bravo
#3 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
192 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#2 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 1 in Los Romanes
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
14.4 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
3.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vinuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vinuela

Property: Hotel La Vinuela
Address: Carretera de Velez S/n, 29712 Velez-Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Velez-Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Vinuela 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Vinuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Vinuela Spain/Velez-Malaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing