We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Velez-Malaga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A room with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Bambu is a wonderful oasis of relaxation and peace. The beautiful views of the surrounding mountains change constantly with the light and you get the feeling you've stepped out of everyday life for a while. We met some lovely people, had fun evenings, and loads of chilling out. Our room was lovely, clean, comfortable and spacious. Two highlights were the fabulous and insightful shiatsu massage from Gabriela and the Rio Chillar walk guided by Catherine. I'll be going back first chance I get.

Room Tip: The upstairs room with the terrace was wonderful - so much space, a private outdoors area and much m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ali558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    35
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
74
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I've just come back from a week at Bambu and cant fault it. We did the sightseeing tour and Catherine and Suzanne went out of their way to take us to some amazing places within good driving distance of Bambu. The balance between sightseeing and relaxing was perfect. I had plenty of time to swim in the pool and sunbathe, broken up by days out, assisted by maps and places to visit, given to us in the morning. On the second night they came to the retreat with wine and home made nibbles (great hummous Suzanne!!) and went the extra mile to make us feel welcome.

Our apartment was very comfortable with everything we could possibly need but to be honest, I spent more time outside it, chatting to the others, eating breakfast in the morning sunshine, swimming as the sun came up over the mountains, drinking late into the evening... Ah, it was glorious.

Nothing was too much trouble for our wonderful hosts - even running me to the airport mid week to welcome a surprise addition to our party.

I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing break, with spectacular sightseeing on your doorstep, vibrant towns very nearby and a lovely, traditional and friendly village just up the road. Fiesta time is particularly good.

Thanks Catherine and Suzanne for a fabulous holiday.

You know who we are.....we will be back xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We loved it and hope to return! What a fantastic location and we were hugely impressed with Catherine and Susanna's hosting skills. There was as much advice as we wanted about where to go and what to see without feeling like we had to go anywhere and the welcome party was an inspiration - with generous catering to introduce the week's holiday go-ers.

We had a lovely time .. even enjoying some scrabble and RummyKub found in the plentiful supplies on site.

The accommodation is clean, comfortable with lots of storage space to make sure that the suitcases can go into a cupboard straight away. The kitchen equipment is not as comprehensive as it could be - we'd have appreciated a medium sized pan, a good sharp knife that didn't look like a cleaver, some good sized pasta bowls and some plastic containers to freeze our little left overs - but hey - this stuff is small fry and, when that sun is burning it'd be bar b q's every day!

For us, what was really great was the possibility to chill and relax whilst seizing occasional opportunity to travel not too far to some stunning locations. Cordoba is a must - WOW, Malaga a treat and Alhama de Granda was an understated joy (my personal favourite!). A bonus was to meet a bunch of fabulous women and make some new friends

Room Tip: The room with the private balcony is the lightest and brightest - makes it absolutely fabulous and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakovo, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went there for the New Year's Solo week with a plan to just relax, meditate and spend my days reading and walking around the beautiful nature. I came home without reading a single page because I was too busy having a great time with some amazing women :). At the resort you get the quiet surrounding which is ideal if you want to relax in the sun and recharge your batteries. And in the evening you can just drink wine in great company :-). The nearby village of Benamocarra is only 20 mins away on foot and it's a nice walk among the avocado fields. There you can take the bus and go to one of the bigger surrounding cities if that's what you wish. Catherine and Suzanne are both wonderful hosts, prepared us a lovely New Year's dinner and Catherine kindly took a few of us on 2 day trips :-). I had such a great time there and I definitely plan to go back, if I had a direct flight I'd go there every few months :-). Check their website for details of everything they are offering and just go for it :-).
http://www.bambu-resort.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Breathtaking views , well equipped comfortable rooms , kind and very obliging hosts. Benamocarra the nearest village is a genuine charming town with the white washed walls and the bars ,cafe's and locals all providing a glimpse into Spanish rural life ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborahp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a fabulous place, i travelled alone and the owners could not have been more welcoming and kind, the accommodation was comfortable and homely, lovely touches music/books/games available, 3 very friendly cats were an extra special treat. I plan to go back, a great place alone, the layout and setting makes it easy to make new friends, a car not necessarily essential, public transport it not difficult to negotiate even for someone who doesn't speak Spanish!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 11 days at Bambú and were very happy with our choice. The place is quiet, the other guests were friendly, on there own and at the same time open to make contact. The owner gave us a welcome feeling at our arrival. The room was perfect for us. Well equiped kitchen, everything was clean. We liked a lot the way the room was decorated. Not the standard overall IKEA stuff, but (as we learned) personal stuff, well mixed "antiques"with a couch i really would like to see in my house;-). U do need a car, if u don't intend to spend all days inside. There is so much to see and do around...visit Malaga, even better: visit Granada and the ALhambra, Granada needs at least 2 days to visit, i think, We went for one day and we fell in love.
What else about BAmbu? There's a washingmachine u can use by paying 2 euro's. Nice if u travel light. The only thing we were disappointed about: the towels were not refreshed once during our stay. If we had known, we would have washed them in between,. ON the other hadn: we had a big, a small and a normal towel..so, who's complaining..? Finally: i am a regular visitor of Lesbos, Skala Eressos and i must say that Bambu is a good alternative for women that seek the company of other lesbians in combination with quiet an d cosy ambiance. Ireally would like to go back again and woudl recommend my friends to go there,

Room Tip: number 1! Has a diswasher...the others don't;-) Like the room nextdoor, it's the room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lekramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velez-Malaga
2.1 mi away
Hotel Cortijo Bravo
Hotel Cortijo Bravo
#3 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#2 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Avenida JC
Hotel Avenida JC
#5 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 6 in Torrox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 1 in Los Romanes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women

Property: Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively for Women
Address: 63 Los Pepones, 29700 Velez-Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Velez-Malaga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Velez-Malaga
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambu Country House Holiday Studios Exclusively for Women, Andalucia, Spain. Enjoy sublime countryside, stunning pool, extensive terraces, beautiful gardens, quality self-catering accommodation and the company of other travellers like you. Perfect location for exploring mountain villages, historic cities, the Mediterranean coastline and some of the most stunning countryside in Europe. Walking distance to nearby village of Benamocarra. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bambu Boutique Apartments Exclusively For Women Spain/Velez-Malaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing