We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning location but appalling service”
Review of El Jardin

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Jardin
Ranked #67 of 98 Restaurants in Velez-Malaga
Restaurant details
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“stunning location but appalling service”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

First I would like to say I am writing about the beautiful restaurant overlooking a stunning garden close to the cathedral, not the photograph which is placed at the top of the page (cister, 4 y canon). The location was selected for a romantic meal having just got engaged. Sadly the service did not match the ambiance. The waiter was sullen and when I finish the first course he took the dirty knife and fork off my plate to use for the second course. Having eaten in many places across Europe this is the first time to be treated with such rudeness and the only time in 30 years that a tip was not left. The food was nondescript and of poor quality. We would recommend the staff are sent to bodega bar for training.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fire-by-night89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Traditional Spanish Food”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Good value and excellent service. Both of us had steak perfectly cooked.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“AVOID THE FOOD, BUT THE ENTERTAINMENT IS VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The food was a great disappointment as it was tasteless and plain. When I spotted the pictures of the meals in the menu, we knew we were in trouble even before we started. This was a beautiful place so I cannot understand why the food was not up to par. If you like plain food, then go. If you're a foodie, avoid and it's not cheap either. However, on the plus side, the entertainment was superb. A trip back memory lane. They had a couple of flamenco dancers and a singer which made up for our disappointing night. We went home hungry (we could not eat what we were served) but we enjoyed the atmosphere and entertainment.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sat in the sunshine, eating Paella - a lovely memory to treasure”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This beautiful little cafe very close to the cathedral and it is lovely, it was a pleasure to dine there, sat outside in the sunshine - lots of passers by stopped to peer inside-it's a really beautful cafe inside.

We had a lovely salad and shared a Paella -both were excellent, plenty of bread and we asked for more-there was no charge -we were amazed that the bill came to so little even including two drinks. Do try and find this lovely cafe if you are in Malaga - I absolutely loved it. (I would love to revisit - on Thursdays they have Tango dancing where you can join in-in such a stunning atmosphere I bet that would be a fantastic way to spend an evening.)

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“too expensive for the quality of food and service offered”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The food here is good, but not amazing given that it is pricier than comparable establishments. Go only if you are starving and cannot bear the thought of finding another place (which we were).

Paella is served only for 2 (20 euros) and is decent. Tapas-sized portions were not available for some reason - but the Tortilla espanola was good, as were the gambas al pil pil.

Our waiter was unhelpful and brusque, so that definitely detracted from the experience.
If you ask for a glass of water, they will bring you bottled water and charge you a lot.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank violinmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jardin also viewed

Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol
Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol
Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol
Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing