We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bianca Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kolasin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very quiet”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

my partner and I spent 2 nights 28th and 29th September in the hotel, we were the only two people at dinner on both evenings, the whole hotel was empty. There was no other bars open apart from the main bar and the spa was clean and staff helpful. We were again the only two people who used the facitilities.
Pool was freezing and my partner refused to go into it because it was so cold.
We had a package for the 2 nights including breakfast and evening meal. Breakfast was lovely and the evening meals were basic and not of 4 star quality.
It was a great break away from it all but I could not have stayed longer than 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    110
    56
    12
    3
See reviews for
80
129
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Beautiful hotel, clean and efficient BUT only one restaurant open out of five advertised. Also "gift shop and ice rink" did not exist. Food luke warm, no newspapers (although advertised). Village of Kolasin very dull, few bars and cafes. Trip to Nat. Park lovely and train to Podgorica interesting! but apart from that nothing to do. Also sauna, etc not open until 5pm.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
379 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed in the Bianca for a week. It is a large but beautiful hotel to stay in. One of the nicest we have ever stayed in. It has lots of comfortable seating and is beautifully decorated with lots of natural wood, stone and glass walls. The spa center is superb, the best we have ever seen, with a fantastic turkish steam room as well as saunas and lots of massage rooms. The 25m swimming is simply the best pool either of us had ever swam in. There is also small outdoor pool

The hotel was not at all busy, only 20 guests on one night. It would have nice for it to have been a bit busier but then it's peak season is in the winter. It would be lovely to stay there in the winter with the huge central fireplace.

The only thing that let the hotel down was the food. We were on full-board package with Inghams and whilst breakfast was fine, the evening meal was a buffet and I really don't like buffets. The buffet was ok but got a bit samey. If you are foodie you will want to try the al a carte menu, except they don't give you an allowance to upgrade which is a pity, which means you will waste some money if you upgrade. We decided not to try the al a carte, which was a shame for them and us as we would have spent a lot more money on wine (they have a nice wine list) if we had have had better food to justify the better wine.

Finally some of the facilities were closed because it is the quiet season, such as the cafe in the spa, the Cafe Mozart, and the national restaurant; so you might want to check if these are going to be open during your visit.

The Bianca has a newer sister hotel in Kolasin called the Lipka. We popped in there to have a look around and it is not in the same league as the Bianca. It is nice, but feels small and claustrophobic compared to the Bianca. Pay the extra money for the Bianca, you won't be disappointed.

Kolasin is also quite a nice little town. If you go to the lake at the Biogradska do have lunch in the restaurant - it is very good. We went rafting with the Montenegro Explorer, which was great. Fantastic breakfast, lunch and rafting. All told it took 13 hours though, so everyone was shattered at the end, as about 9 of those hours are travelling over the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Nice looking hotel but doesn't live up to its own marketing. Only 1 restaurant was open during our stay, the vienna cafe was closed as was the national cuisine restaurant, which was a disappointment to us. The heating was only turned on when guests complained and the outside temperature was 10 deg C! I agree that the windows should open wider - there is very little air in the bedrooms. Food was served lukewarm and if you were late for dinner there was very little left on the buffet table and it was not replenished. Rooms were very good, although I understand some are quite small, and were kept clean. Spa and swimming pool area very gloomy. In fact, I think the hotel has a policy of not turning on lights in order to save money. Beware cost of items from bar (euro 5 for a glass of wine!). Also, as previously mentioned, although hotel pictures give impression it is in the middle of woods it is actually in the centre of Kolasin, which does not have much going for it out of season. There is a lovely national park nearby (Biogradska Gora) which is well worth a day's visit, especially if you like walking. In conclusion, it is enjoyable for a few days, but not a full week.

  • Liked — Countryside in the area
  • Disliked — Rather gloomy and unwelcoming out of season
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

The hotel is extraordinary!
We were more than satisfied with everythig.

We will highly reccomende it to everybody who needs a gateway from stres and work.
Here you will be genuinely relaxed.
We couldn't choose better place for our honeymoon....

  • Liked — The room and the pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Neletaneleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

This is a superb hotel. It is classy yet informal. The staff are all eager to please - even though not many speak English well. It has been renovated in recent years to a very good standard. The pool is huge. The gym is excellent. The food is out-standing, and the decor throughout is tasteful and of good quality.
There are good walks to be had in the surrounding hills in the summer - but they could be far better sign-posted. No doubt that will come in due course.
The Montenegrins are very friendly and generous people.
The road system in Montenegro is not well developed. At the point we went there were extensive roadworks on nearly every trunk road and delays were lengthy.
Booked through Inghams this hotel is excellent value - though the organised tours are very poor value. It is not difficult to get around Montenegro by public transport - you meet real people and it's much cheaper. The currency in Montenegro is the Euro. Prices are not cheap.

  • Liked — The quality
  • Disliked — Little night life in the town...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrewWordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

Nearly from the moment one enters Montenegro, there are (aging) signs to this resort in Kolasin, a small town nestled in the mountains a couple of hours drive from the capital. The Bianca website gives you the impression this hotel isolated in the forest of Montenegro. It isn't - but Kolasin can be serve as a gateway to many of the national parks.

This very large hotel has been completely remodeled and is lovely. The staff was very nice and helpful. There was one woman at the desk in the morning who was particularly friendly and was able to give us a lot of good suggestions about which roads were good choices for cycling.

The rooms and bathrooms are first class. We looked at several rooms before deciding to take an “executive” room. We stayed for 4 days and wanted more space. The photos on the website depict the rooms accurately. My only complaint is that the windows open but not enough – just a few inches, which would be fine for ventilation in winter but isn’t enough any other time of the year. We were there when it was cool and pleasant so it wasn’t a huge issue. But there is NO air conditioning and I don’t know if they have fans available.

They have wifi and hard-wired internet in the rooms (no public computer however) but it is 2 Euro an hour and you need to get a username and password every time (minimum 1 hour) from the front desk. (I’m always a little mystified by these pricey resorts that charge for internet! It is a little aggravating.)

The common areas are numerous and inviting – and has the feeling of a cozy ski resort. We didn’t use the spa facilities but they appeared to be terrific. The indoor pool is popular – and while we were there, the Montenegrin Water Polo Team used it for practice (which meant we couldn’t).

The rooms and the restaurant are the only non-smoking areas. Even though there was a law passed in 2004 (?) that prohibits smoking indoors in public places, it is rarely observed, and smoking is a national pastime. The restaurant is good with a varied menu and breakfast was a huge buffet.

IMPORTANT!!! I probably shouldn’t have left this until last but – when we checked out after 4 days (167 Euros/per day plus putting all our dinners on the bill), our credit card “didn’t work”. At first I thought it was Visa denying the charges since that sometimes happens when there are big charges overseas. I called them that instant – and they said they didn’t even see anything try to come through and it wasn’t a problem on their end. The hotel “tried” again. Then with 2 other credit cards. Nothing!!! Of course they make it seem like we are the ones whose credit cards don’t work – or that we must be over the limit etc. They suggested we get money out of the ATM which is "conveniently" located steps away from the front desk. We were semi-prepared for this in Montenegro since we had read that many places didn’t take cards. And we were always asked if we would like to pay in cash before they would take a credit card in other hotels. But a chi-chi place like this??? Fortunately we had some cash – and 3 different ATMs and managed to come up with enough to pay the bill. Frankly, I wish we had pushed the issue more but we had a long day ahead of us and just wanted to get going. BE SURE and see if they can run your credit card – and don’t take no for an answer.

  • Liked — Great location to see the mountains and national parks
  • Disliked — Windows did not open enough; they DID NOT take our credit card
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mtdiablo-bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolasin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lipka
Hotel Lipka
#2 of 3 in Kolasin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rooms and Apartments Mirovic
0.5 mi away
Art Apartments Minic
Art Apartments Minic
#1 of 20 in Kolasin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cile
Hotel Cile
#4 of 11 in Kolasin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brile
Hotel Brile
#3 of 11 in Kolasin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartments Rakocevic
Apartments Rakocevic
#2 of 11 in Kolasin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bianca Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bianca Resort & Spa

Property: Bianca Resort & Spa
Address: Mirka Vesovica bb, Kolasin, Kolasin Municipality 81210, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kolasin Municipality > Kolasin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kolasin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bianca Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Bianca Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bianca Resort And Spa
Bianca Hotel Kolasin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing