We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, style and service”
Review of Ganimede Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ganimede Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Galaxidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Galaxidi is well placed for visiting Delphi, and the Ganimede was just 2 blocks from the square where we caught the bus to and from Delphi and to Athens. About 4 blocks to the waterfront and the restaurants.

Our room was small but sufficient, with stone exterior walls and two brick arched windows that gave a nice cross breeze. Being July, however, we used the A/C a good bit.

Chrisoula was invaluable in helping us to get around town, catch the buses, answer questions about local culture, everything. Our last day was a Tuesday, we were the only guests left, and we slept in. We were allowed to enjoy a leisurely and tasty brreakfast well past the stated time for breakfast to be over.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quash8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
There are newer reviews for Ganimede Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 952 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2010

We discovered the Ganimede hotel last year, and this year we planned our trip in Greece so that we could stay there at the beginning and at the end. Christoula's kind welcome and the amazing breakfast in the plant-filled courtyard were highlights of our holiday and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrydance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed here for two nights for our visit to Delphi -- but the history of Galaxidi (as a 19th Century shipping center) is just as interesting.
What really distinguishes this hotel is not only the historic building (a shipping captain's house!), but the love and care that Chrisoula and Costas has brought to it -- not only the famous breakfast (brought to you with charm and elegance on a large tray), the kind service, but the year-by-year remodeling of the rooms and courtyard. As an architect, I see far too little of this kind of personal attention brought to landmark buildings.
While the hotel is not on the harbor, the water is only a few blocks away, past other historic homes and storefront shops. Be sure to see the sailing museum!

John and Crystal

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbsboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay when you are travelling in greece! We stopped here on our way to Delfi (very close). Chrisoula and Costas make you feel at home, with their warm welcome, eye for decoration, details, lovely garden AND HOMEMADE breakfast!!
You can walk through the lovely town in 5 min to the port, where nice restaurants and terraces offer you nice food and atmosphere at night.

Overall: lovely surprise on our tour to all the "famous" places, you will not be sorry you stayed here!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anke_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stumbled on Ganimede just as we stumbled on the lovely little town of Galaxidi. This small hotel is really more of a B and B in a restored captains home. No views of the sea, but it is clean, well-run, quiet, and has a smashing breakfast with homemade jams and fresh orange juice (strangely hard to find in Greece) served by the owner. The rooms are spacious, and the enclosed patio where you eat breakfast is full of beautiful flowers and plants. A great place for some quiet time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junkbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

My wife and two young children (ages 6 and 9) spent two nights at the Hotel Ganimede during an April 2010 visit to the Delphi area. Our kids, who seemingly can never agree on anything, were both sad to leave and believed the accommodations were the best of our ten-day Greece vacation.

Our room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. The balance of the hotel is obviously well cared for with a lovely courtyard garden.

Chrisoula served two wonderful breakfasts which included a variety of delicious breads (her husband is the local baker) and homemade spreads as well as fresh fruit and coffee. Our kids loved the hot chocolate. We dined inside one cool morning and noshed in the lovely garden the next day. The staff was friendly and provided great local information and recommendations. The free WiFi was an added bonus although my use of it to check my email ticked off my wife a bit !

If I had any complaint, it would be our mattress. While adequate, it was very basic and unsupported by box springs. For the record, that seemed to be the norm at all the hotels were we stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

A small and charming hotel, very clean rooms. We have been impressed by the warm hospitality of Mrs Chrisoula, the owner. Don't forget to buy home-made jams, preferably tomato+chutney. A very good fish restaurant to be recommended:"THE MEMORIES OF THE PORTS", just a 5 mins. walk.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOBTel_aviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galaxidi
0.3 mi away
Galaxa Mansion
Galaxa Mansion
#2 of 7 in Galaxidi
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Beach Hotel
Europa Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Galaxidi
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galaxidi
Hotel Galaxidi
#4 of 7 in Galaxidi
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Trokadero
Trokadero
#3 of 4 in Itea
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Archontiko Art Hotel
Archontiko Art Hotel
#1 of 15 in Galaxidi
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#2 of 15 in Galaxidi
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganimede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganimede Hotel

Address: 20 Nik.Gourgouris, Galaxidi 330 52, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Galaxidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Galaxidi
Price Range: $53 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganimede Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARDED homemade breakfast served . Ganimede is the LEADER of the area of FOKIDA according the Hellenic Chamber of Hotels . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ganimede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganimede Hotel Galaxidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing