We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 stars, couldn't have asked for more”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy spacious rooms with great views over open countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Cosy spacious rooms with great views over open countryside
Beautiful old country house with quirky features and tranquil setting.
Spacious parking.
Roaring open fires on chilly days and nights.
Space to work in every room.
Home cooked  food. Breakfast included, lunch and Dinner optional extras.
Spacious grounds with  riverside seating.
River Piddle in grounds
Relaxing areas.
Alfresco dining on our sunny south facing patio.
20 minutes drive to beautiful beaches and the Jurassic coast.
Art and craft gallery with all exhibits for sale.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Piddletrenthide, Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JoannaPag...
2 reviews
“5 stars, couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed here the night before my wedding. The house is beautiful and immaculately clean. Tracy and Martin are accommodating, generous and such thoughtful hosts. I have no hesitation in recommending South House Retreat to anyone that will stand still long enough! Very highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
We so loved being able to make your special day that bit more comfortable. Happy marriage days always
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place is lovely. Tracy and Martin have converted an 1820 large house which retains wonderful character. We were welcomed with tea and white wine on the lawn and a chance to play with Benji the dog.Tracy and Martin could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The house is spotless quiet and the breakfast was terrific.
Highly recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect country break.”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I've just spent the most idyllic few days with Tracy and Martin at their beautiful home in the stunning Dorset countryside. Not only is the house beautiful and immaculately kept throughout but you are also welcomed like one of the family and instantly put at ease. It really is like visiting old friends. The rooms are beautifully decorated. The catering is superb. The grounds are beautiful and you are in the heart of the most gorgeous corner of England. I would wholeheartedly recommend South House Retreat to anyone looking to relax and unwind and I'm certain that I shall be back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiofBucks
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Space to retreat”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

In so many respects, Martin and Tracy Willoughby have created space - spacious rooms, a quiet, calm space, space to relax, a homely, welcoming, thoughtful space. The setting is delightful - remote, quiet, rural with a stream through the garden. South House has been beautifully renovated and the rooms are large, quiet and the beds luxurious and cosy - even a fluffy dressing gown is supplied and Tracy had very thoughtfully put on the heating in my room as the September day had turned chilly. I appreciated the selection of tea bags too. Guests are welcomed into the kitchen where breakfast is freshly prepared and other meals can be had too - even a packed lunch. Check first re special diets though. I liked the little gallery space in the hall - a great idea. Rooms are not en-suite but there was no clash or rush for the bathroom though a sink in the room would be a welcome bonus I think. It was easy to book and I got rapid responses when I when I texted with queries. A lovely spot with a great welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed and warm welcome and very comfortable room
Liked least: Not having a sink in my bedroom!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at South house Retreat. We try our best to help all our guests enjoy their stay. As you mentioned at very busy times such as summer season , it is possible that you may share a bathroom with one other room i.e one or two guests, but I am glad as others you did not find this a problem. Due to the age and listing of the building we are unable to run plumbing directly to the rooms as it would be a logistic nightmare. We very much hope you choose to recommend us and stay again. Kind regards Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scary dad
2 reviews
“Homely tranquillity”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great house, hosts and hospitality. Lovely dinner with our hosts. Thankyou for all the local information and suggestions for places to visit. Delighted with our purchase..a beautiful painting to remind us of our visit and our wedding anniversary.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Lovely to have you stay. You were delightful guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing