We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Cantine, Chateau Gontier” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantine Restaurant

La Cantine Restaurant
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“La Cantine, Chateau Gontier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

La Cantine is situated near the centre of Chateau Gontier. The interior of the restaurant is very smart and contemporary, the Terrasse is more traditional, shady and well sheltered from any external traffic noise behind the main restaurant. Food is varied, freshly cooked for each order and very reasonably priced. It is well presented and of good standard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    68
    29
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smart Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice about ten days apart at the end of September. Our first visit was on a Sunday night.Good to find somewhere open, and by mid evening it became clear that this is a watering hole for the 'in set' and was very busy but with a comfortable feeling. The food is good, well above average, portions are not mean and the service is also friendly and pretty quick. Some English depending on who is on duty.
Large range of salads, we tried Greek and Niscoise, both with frites of course. Both had a wide range of salads and pleanty of chicken or fish. There are also good crepes, try the Creme caramel crepes for a desert or Poire Belle Helen if you have a really sweet tooth. Go for the local wine of the month, red white or rose all good value for money at about 12 euros
This is a good clean,very comfortable and friendly, modern restaurant where the proprietor works hard and is very much in evidence. If it is hot there is a covered rear courtyard area, but i would prefer to sit in the window area and people watch!
There is plenty of free parking nearby.
Would happily go back.
Simon H

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great little suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have read the reviews after having eaten at this restaurant and I am surprised to hear that not everyone is impressed. Maybe I have been hard done by in Perth Western Australia. We had two fantastic mains and I had a great Crème Brule. I had one bottle of wine and my partner had 2 yummy beers. The food was delicious and the service was fantastic, we even got to meet one of the chefs. the total bill was 55.euro and this would have cost at least 90 euro in Perth for the same dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingaussiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very modern, recently refurbished interior. Absolutely nothing wrong with the food, but not outstanding. Waitress was very efficient and friendly. Reasonably priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantine Restaurant also viewed

Chateau-Gontier, Mayenne
Chateau-Gontier, Mayenne
 
Chateau-Gontier, Mayenne
 
Chateau-Gontier, Mayenne
Chateau-Gontier, Mayenne
 

Been to La Cantine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing