We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Tambourin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tambourin
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Malo, France
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

As other reviewers have said the exterior is a little off putting, but once inside all changes. The hotel is very clean and neat, from the reception area to the rooms all is spotless. Our room was a good size and had the twin beds requested and plenty of room for all cases and bags.

The breakfast was far better than the usual Continental buffet, hot food as well a good selection of fruit, cheeses and cold meats. The breakfast room was large, modern and very welcoming.

One slight downside is the proximity to a Salle des Fetes which can be a little noisy, although to be fair on the night we stayed all noise had subsided by 10pm.

This is a really well run and pleasant hotel and deserves to prosper.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossandcromarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    63
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
45
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Don't be put off by the appearance as you drive up to the hotel. Inside we were welcomed as if it was a 4/5 star hotel. Rooms and public areas immaculate, with little touches in rooms you would not have expected, ie coffee making facilities and sweets. Cosy and smart lounge again with coffee and tea facilities. Perhaps these little touches do not cost a lot but they show the owner cares. No evening meals but not a bad thing as the town centre is inviting. The Grillardin in town square certainly worth a visit. We travel down from Calais/Dunkirk fairly often and normally opt for the convenience of something closer to the autoroute but this was worth the 14 mile detour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

As with the other reviews this was an unexpected little Gem.
The out look might put you off but inside was very clean and acceptable, although this is a motel style establishment we were not subjected to any noise and the hotel was full. We were able to park in an secure underground car park which was great as the car was fully loaded after our trip to the Alsace.Breakfast was good and the hotel is only 5 mins walk from restaurants which the hotel were happy to give us suggestions.
If travelling back this way through France we would stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were initially put off by the utilitarian look of this hotel, however our fears were unfounded. The rooms were clean and well-equipped with coffee making facilities and free mineral water included. Breakfast is extra but well worth it. Pleasant staff made our stay even better

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea_K186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

On our way back from Switzerland to the UK we decided we'd have a change and stay away from towns close to the autoroutes, so took a 20 mile detour and chose Vitry le Francois. Reading a previous review we thought we were going to be in a Campanile sort of hotel, but although this did have external stairways, that's were the similarity ended. We had a lovely welcome at reception and although we'd requested a double room were given a triple, which was huge...spotlessly clean, very modern, and a big clean modern bathroom. There were other little touches not usually found in a 3 star, sweets, toiletries etc as well as tea and coffee making facilities and bottled water (more 4 star if you ask me). The breakfast had an amazing choice of cooked and cold meats and cheese, cereals, yoghurts, a variety of croissants and breads.

The hotel didn't do evening meals, but the centre of the town - Place d'Armes - is about a 5 - 8 minute easy walk away and we passed restaurants before arriving in the centre square where there are more restaurants. We ate at the Grillardin, they had a decent menu choice, I had delicious duck in a rich sauce with saute potatoes and my husband had trout, followed by ice cream.. we had a carafe of house rose which was a decent quality and the bill came to about 20 euros each...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ordinary-folk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Was a little worried about the motel style of this hotel. However, the rooms were spotless with free water and sweets on arrival.

The rooms look recently renovated with a nice colourful paint scheme. Lots of nice unexpected small touches in the service.

Friendly staff and manager who were very willing to please. Good wifi reception and speed.

Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJParkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the hotel whilst in Vitry for a wedding. Although the reception was closed on our arrival, a key was left for us in a safe. Spacious, clean rooms and good choice for breakfast make this a good choice of hotel. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonLindoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitry-le-Francois
0.3 mi away
Hotel De La Cloche
Hotel De La Cloche
#1 of 5 in Vitry-le-Francois
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De La Poste
Hotel De La Poste
#3 of 5 in Vitry-le-Francois
40 reviews
7.8 mi away
Le Clos de Mutigny
Le Clos de Mutigny
#1 of 2 in La Chaussee-sur-Marne
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Au Bon Sejour
Au Bon Sejour
#2 of 5 in Vitry-le-Francois
21 reviews
18.4 mi away
Campanile Saint Dizier
Campanile Saint Dizier
#4 of 10 in Saint-Dizier
162 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ibis Saint Dizier
Ibis Saint Dizier
#2 of 10 in Saint-Dizier
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tambourin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tambourin

Property: Hotel Tambourin
Address: Rue Auguste Choisy, 51300 Vitry-le-Francois, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Vitry-le-Francois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Vitry-le-Francois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tambourin 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vitry le François privileged situation, main roads, to 20 mn of the Lac Du Der, the bigest artificial lake European, for fishing, water sport and meetings with the birds at the time of the migrations.We are at one Reims time, its cathedral and its Champagne; Epernay, its cellars and its vineyard and Nancy,the eart of Lorraine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tambourin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing