We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth finding...”
Review of Hotel Tambourin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tambourin
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Well worth finding...”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Used this place as a stopover on the way back to Blighty after a motorcycle trip to the south of France. It was excellent, with spotlessly clean rooms and bathrooms and comfortable beds decorated in bright style. It did take a bit of finding just outside the town centre but with the bikes in the secure garage, we walked back through a bit of residential area to the town centre where we found quite a few options for an evening meal. Very pretty town centre and main plaza... One of the best things about the hotel was the breakfast, which featured scrambled eggs, sausages and (French!) bacon amongst the buffet - the best breakfast of the 8 day trip by far. Would recommend it as comfortable and pleasant stopover.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    60
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
43
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is an ideal overnight stop on the way to or from the Channel Ferry ports. It is very well presented, comfortable and inexpensive. Also it mis family run and you are given a very friendly welcome. I strongly recommend this hotel. I would happily use it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogclarke36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely love it, second year staying here for a one night stop over on way home fr Spain. Rooms are spacious and clean (we had a room that slept 4), breakfast is good (9 euros), staff pleasant and friendly. There's no bar or restaurant but that isn't a problem as there's dozens practically on the doorstep in the square that houses a beautiful cathedral. Can't wait to come back next year but this time we'll stay for 2 nights!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola1234_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Excellent hotel! We used it as a stopover from Calais to the Morillon area on the way there and back - it's just the right distance for a break. Some people have commented about the external balcony corridors but, as a dog owner, they were very useful to get the dog in and out with minimal fuss. They also cut down on noise. The area is very pleasant and the car park small so if there are no spaces you have to park in a public area out the front. You can ask for a room overlooking the car park (view towards the public swimming pool) for peace of mind. The area is residential but quiet (although there was a quad biker showing off to a prospective girlfriend on our second stay, noiey but he stopped by 10pm). Rooms were very comfortable and secure. Bath / shower room was excellent and the whole room was very clean and simply furnished. Breakfast (a must) was civilised and continental with few bangers, bacon and scrambled eggs thrown in. The staff and management are all really nice and very helpful - the manager speaks English too. We left our DVLA documentation behind and the manager posted them home to us after a quick call without any fuss.
I have stayed in many hotels of varying qualities from Marriotts down to a HoJo and, to be frank, this is one of the best: simple, fuss-free, helpful staff, comfortable. The downside? It's 20 mins off the motorway junction.
If you have time, you should give the town an hour or so too: plenty of shops, cafes and a wonderful little square. When we were there it was set up as a beach, complete with volley ball!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 'C' numbers if you want to easily watch your car in the public car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here in June for an overnighter on return to UK.
Rooms, spaciuos, clean and Modern.
Good secure underground car parking.
Excellent Breakfast
Nice pleasant staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaret139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I don't think I've ever stayed at a hotel that provides coloured towels in the bathroom before! And precious few where the shower-gel dispenser actually contains shower-gel, either!

Really liked the proprietor, who was friendly and welcoming. And the breakfast was hot, delicious and copious.

Not giving it 5 stars as to get to and from your room you had to go out of the door and up a flight of concrete stairs, which was fine, but might have been problematical had it rained, and also the room was a little dark. But apart from that, it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-Redboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Found this hotel on the internet, in an area that needs more 'night halt' hotels of my usual (Accor) type. When driving from Calais towards Franche Comté or western Switzerland for a Saturday arrival (eg in a holiday chalet) Reims is not quite far enough south for an overnight stay on the Friday night, but there are no '24hour' hotels in the area about 1 hour further south. I had to arrange for the owner to stay up until we arrived at after 23.00. The fact that we qwwere welcomed at that time in a cheerful way was excellent service.
Although the hotel is not '24 hour' the access to the rooms is still 'external' like some 'plastic automatic' hotels. The room was very spacious but rather 'cold' as there is no carpet, just a kind of rubberised flooring. That apart the facilities were excellent.
The hotel is in rather plain new housing estate so has no nice views of old architecture of countryside, the worst of both worlds really.
There is a Friday night disco in a

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WisetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitry-le-Francois
0.4 mi away
Hotel De La Poste
Hotel De La Poste
#3 of 5 in Vitry-le-Francois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Au Bon Sejour
Au Bon Sejour
#2 of 5 in Vitry-le-Francois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
7.8 mi away
Le Clos de Mutigny
Le Clos de Mutigny
#1 of 2 in La Chaussee-sur-Marne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hotel Le Montreal
Hotel Le Montreal
#5 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ibis Saint Dizier
Ibis Saint Dizier
#2 of 10 in Saint-Dizier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 1 in Fagnieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tambourin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tambourin

Property: Hotel Tambourin
Address: Rue Auguste Choisy, 51300 Vitry-le-Francois, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Vitry-le-Francois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Vitry-le-Francois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tambourin 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vitry le François privileged situation, main roads, to 20 mn of the Lac Du Der, the bigest artificial lake European, for fishing, water sport and meetings with the birds at the time of the migrations.We are at one Reims time, its cathedral and its Champagne; Epernay, its cellars and its vineyard and Nancy,the eart of Lorraine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tambourin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing