We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Old style French hospitality and food”
Review of Hotel De La Cloche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel De La Cloche
Kenninghall
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic Old style French hospitality and food”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Msr and Mme Sautet sure know how to make their guests welcome.
Every detail is taken care of, and the food is magnificent - no cuisine minceur here! Foie Gras au four , roast veal in beautifully rich sauce,

An Hotel definitely worth a detour, in a quiet town with character !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were heading back to CDG and the town, en route, seemed interesting, and it is. We like Logis Hotels, family owned and usually associated with a good restaurant. This hotel provided all these virtues and more. Well located with covered car parking. The owners were charming, but did not speak English but they suffered our very poor French and were extremely helpful in providing information about the region. So much so that we stayed an extra night to explore. The largest lake in France, the oldest timber churches in France and the old port of Vitry-le-François.
The hotel is well maintained, the rooms are large and comfortable. Our experience in the restaurant was one of genuinely feeling like pampered guests. The wine served from the basket, the food which was excellent, was presented under a silver cover as each course arrived. Champagne aperitif was a good suggestion from the waitress who I suspect is a member of the owner's family.
We have no negative vibes in relation to this hotel, we enjoyed our brief stay and if you want old world charm and comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price, this is for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doobasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very ordinary hotel with an overpriced disappointing restaurant. We chose a local wine based on the owners suggestion at 38 euros. It was dreadful. I regret that I found nothing to recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stix44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel is in the main street of the town. Although the owners do not speak English they made us very welcome. A little French might be useful, to get you by. The room was clean and comfortable and a reasonable price. We had a meal in the restaurant which was ok, but not as good as some other places we have stayed.
Parking was easy, right outside the hotel.

A good stop off for travelling to other parts of France

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalC757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

This was a very quaint hotel. We were greeted by the owners upon arrival, they were very hospitable. The hotel also has a restaurant (which is open at various hours), the food and service were wonderful. Our room was very nice and clean with a huge modern bathroom. I would stay here again, they made me feel very safe and right at home. Great location, you can walk to just about everything in the town.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stopped here for the first night of a leisurely drive to Montpelier. Vitry-le Francois is a reasonable distance from Calais, handy for the Champagne district without the cost of being in the trendier places, and not too long a drive to Beaune and the Burgundy area. Hotel de la Cloche is centrally located in the small town, with either private secure parking or an open public car-park both at the rear. As seems to be the norm in the Logis de France hotels, it is necessary to speak at least some French. Rooms were comfortable, food very good (again, in our experience the norm for Logis), welcome and service friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_the_bee_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitry-le-Francois
0.1 mi away
Hotel De La Poste
Hotel De La Poste
#4 of 5 in Vitry-le-Francois
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Au Bon Sejour
Au Bon Sejour
#2 of 5 in Vitry-le-Francois
18 reviews
8.0 mi away
Le Clos de Mutigny
Le Clos de Mutigny
#1 of 2 in La Chaussee-sur-Marne
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
#4 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
190 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel D'angleterre
Hotel D'angleterre
#2 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
211 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel balladins Saint Dizier
Hotel balladins Saint Dizier
#1 of 10 in Saint-Dizier
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Cloche

Property: Hotel De La Cloche
Address: 34 rue Aristide Briand, 51300 Vitry-le-Francois, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Vitry-le-Francois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vitry-le-Francois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Cloche 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel De La Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing