We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat yourself at Grand Thakar”
Review of The Grand Thakar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Thakar
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Rajkot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is located in the centre of Rajkot city. This place is now the most favourite venue for wedding, parties, treats etc. The location is very convenient and they also have sufficient parking space. Food is simply amazing. This place is usually crowded with loads of people waiting for their turn. Thali is superb n food quality and quantity both are nice.

If you are looking for having a function at this place. They have a huge ballroom with all basic facilities. Food is very tasty and options are quite descent.

Overall this place is apt for any functions. There are lots of budget hotels near this place, so you can arrange lunch or dinner at this place easily.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sopan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 107 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very impressed with the service provided-staff friendly and approachable
In house restaurant very popular with queues most nights but got priority being hotel guests
Our stay was during the busy period of weddings and noise from the function rooms was an issue at times
Hot water 24/7 - a huge plus compared to other hotels in India
On the whole 10/10

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms had tea/coffee making facilities-none on 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandra_mamtora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I Luv to Stay more n more in Thakar Hotel in Rajkot compare to any hotl in Gujarat... Rooms r so clean, Big as compare to any 3*+ Hotel and and beautiful. Instant get Hot water in Bathroom. I Luv to eat UNIQUE Gujarati Thali at Thakar i like very much food Gujarati, Punjabi and Chinise. I recomand to all to order or eat Pure Deshi Ghee Crispy " Puran Poli/ Vedmi" .. Unforgatable place evrything is superb watever we need. Best place for Family. Lovely place Luv to Thakar Hotel

Room Tip: Try to drope Kittle ( Tea/Coffee maker) in each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KratThaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

While in Rajkot do not waste time looking for cost effective hotel. Just check in THAKER enjoy homely stay. It has neat n clean dining place too. Equal distance from Airport, Railway station and Bus station, all approx 2,kms only.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPVyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one week and I was simply delighted at the overall experience. Everything, right from the front-desk executive to the waiters to the chefs were very welcoming. The room was grand, fine interiors, lovely facilities. And for a cost that it one third or even one fourth the cost at other hotels across the country.

I'd strongly recommend this hotel to anyone on a trip to Rajkot, for any length of time. A choice you will wholeheartedly cherish.

Also, a pick-up and drop to and from the airport or railway station is complimentary, which I found to be extremely nice. I don't have to look for hotels the next time I'm in Rajkot. A straight drive to the Grand Thakar. It is a grand experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainshanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had an exhibition of RBA property show, i stayed at this hotel for 4 days and the overall experience was wonderful, everything was clean and tidy. food was excellent with value for money, breakfast was also up to the mark.

Can't wait to be back to Rajkot again.

Cheers!!!

Room Tip: there are just two types of rooms, both are good enough. all rooms are mostly similar and well place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny_Singh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were in family group of 20 adults and 3 childrens and have stayed for 2 N/3 D dec 27th 2012 to dec 30th 2012. This place is simply the best place to stay if you are looking for clean rooms, quality and delicious food variety and outstanding service. My experience with TGT was memorable. Since we were in group, it becomes very difficult to manage them but the staff of TGT have made my job simple-right from room service to arranging buffet counter for my group to railway drop service-EVERYTHING WAS OUTSTANDING. My special thanks to staff member -BHUMIKA who personally ensure and shown true sense of professional by giving prompt service and gave us good example of customer experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: Prefer higher floor for lesser noise from banquet hall at TGT
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipesh_hemani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rajkot hotels
0.8 mi away
The Fern Residency, Rajkot
5.7 mi away
Seasons Hotel  - Rajkot
Seasons Hotel - Rajkot
#2 of 41 in Rajkot
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#16 of 41 in Rajkot
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Evergrand Palace
The Evergrand Palace
#11 of 41 in Rajkot
145 reviews
0 mi away
Platinum Hotel
Platinum Hotel
#15 of 41 in Rajkot
177 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Regency
The Grand Regency
#9 of 41 in Rajkot
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Thakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Thakar

Address: Javahar Road | Jawahar Road, Rajkot 360001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Rajkot District > Rajkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Rajkot
Price Range: $33 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Thakar 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Grand Thakar is located on Jawahar Road in the heart of Rajkot city. Major Private and State Transporation vehicles pass through Jawahar Road. There are several bus stops on Jawahar Road and our hotel is very close to Hospital Chowk, Rajkot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Thakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing