We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and ambiance”
Review of The Grand Thakar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Thakar
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Rajkot
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service and ambiance”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Thakkar is not at the best location in rajkot but we can rely on it if u are travelling by private bus services and railway station. Beside Platinum hotel it can get natural fall in...

Rooms- are good at that price
Service- ill rate below average
Restaurant- well i just had breakfast in the hotel but i dosent like it that much, may be because the hotel was hosting a wedding but then...i seriously doubt that they must have arranged breakfast of other guests also in the same arrangement made for the wedding guest.

Room Tip: they rooms in executive and standard class try to go for standard.There are not very much diff. in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sauby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
7
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

There were mixed views about this place and finally i took a chance and stayed here.
The place is very sleek and the rooms are worth the price. great ambience, and the food is simply great.

i suggest this place for people who travel to rajkot and are in search of a good option.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxmomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I am from the UK. I am extremely fussy about the cleanliness and the quality of rooms and the food served in the hotels in India (due to previous experience and subsequent sickness) . For the last 6 years, I have been staying at Imperial Palace Hotel, which is the 4/5 star hotel in Rajkot and I enjoyed my stay there. But the prices they are charging now is disrespectful to say the least, especially for Rajkot (charging Mumbai prices!). Thanks to this, I had the opportunity of experiencing something new and stayed at The Grand Thakar for a week in November this year.

I was totally moved by the 5 star quality rooms, the cleanliness and excellent service and with the price they charge, this is the best value for money (if you don't want to use the Gym and swimming pool, this is the best hotel I would recommend). What's more, they have excellent restaurant downstairs serving delicious, mouth watering food which is the best in Rajkot. When we wanted to eat, there were big queues waiting hours and hours to get a table but thankfully due to our stay, we were treated like VIPs and were ushered straight to the table. What's more the hotel owner, Mr Gopalbhai, is extremely friendly and down to earth gentleman who took special care for us and made sure we got whatever we asked for. I am lost for words with the hospitality that Gopalbhai and his staff gave at this hotel and I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in Rajkot.

Well done Gopalbhai and his staff- you are sure to rise in Rajkot. Best wishes Mitesh (UK).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great Hospitality. TGT (Thakers) has excelled in all the three important areas - Stay, Food and Services. We booked 12 rooms recently to celebrate diwali with our whole big family and stayed there on 14th Nov 2012. It was a great experience with all of us. The staff is very polite and service standards are very high. The best part was the owner brothers personal interest to keep on maintaining high quality standarad and personal attendance on guests. Front desk person - Bhumika was very co-operative.The food was so delicious and our group enjoyed the lunch in small banquet which is awesome. We don't have to say anything as everything was so perfect.

Keep on recommending this to my friends and relatives.

Regards
Amar Shah

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amarshahca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhoraji, Gujarat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The stay @ Thakar was just quite fine. It was fabulous with the family specially. It was just an Awsome experience, ever unforgettable and a great rememberence one too,,,
we were able to have a good service for ourself. The staff was courteous & prompt. The room service was good n fast. Thakar is beautifull hotel in the center of town. The appearance of the hotel was great. The hotel was really quite. Staffs are very friendly and the food is quite good. Ambience of the restaurent is exceptionally good along with service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ankita03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

I had a chance to drive in the city of RAJKOT, late in the evening. Though my stay was not planned in advance I had to hunt for hotel. I checked in The hotel Thaker's Grand. I was very sorry to have checked in such a hotel where guest relation is the concept unknown. The man on reception desk was lost spirit who never knew why he was sitting there. He called himself manager but what was missing was management. Hotel is well appointed but only furniture does not make a GOOD HOTEL, THE HOTEL SEEMED TO ME THAT IT WAS A DEAD IDENTITY. I WOULD RECOMMEND TO AVOID THIS PLACE TILL AN OVERHAUL OF THE HUMEN FACTOR IS NOT DONE!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Santosh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Only two categories of rooms there,Superior and executive,tastefully selected accessories, excellent bathrooms, superb bed for peaceful sleep and delicious food, best room service, helping staff, genuinely 24hrs room service.
In fact newly established hotel is best value of money, I got a good room for Rs.2200/ inclusive of B/F plus best n popularly known restaurant having number of options in menu,under class of 24HRS service.

Room Tip: any room you can have
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RNPAREEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rajkot hotels
5.7 mi away
Seasons Hotel  - Rajkot
Seasons Hotel - Rajkot
#1 of 41 in Rajkot
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#16 of 41 in Rajkot
45 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chouki Dhani
Hotel Chouki Dhani
#7 of 41 in Rajkot
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bizz The Hotel
Bizz The Hotel
#6 of 41 in Rajkot
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Regency
The Grand Regency
#10 of 41 in Rajkot
84 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Palace
The Imperial Palace
#4 of 41 in Rajkot
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Thakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Thakar

Property: The Grand Thakar
Address: Javahar Road | Jawahar Road, Rajkot 360001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Rajkot District > Rajkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Rajkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Thakar 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Grand Thakar is located on Jawahar Road in the heart of Rajkot city. Major Private and State Transporation vehicles pass through Jawahar Road. There are several bus stops on Jawahar Road and our hotel is very close to Hospital Chowk, Rajkot. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing