We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great couple of days in Rabat-sale”
Review of The Repose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Repose
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent personal service, good food, great rooms a real taste or Morocco. Jan and familiy are fantastic hosts. I would recommend staying to anyone.

However if you want a typical hotel with a tv in the room pool etc etc then this is not for you, but you will be missing out!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j7myr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 427 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

What an excellent place to relax after a long trip. We were welcomed most graciously with smiles, tea and cookies and later had a most delicious vegetarian dinner. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and harmonious. We enjoy every minute there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

As others so many others have said, Jan runs a great Riad. Morocco in general, especially the medinas can be a bit intimidating to the uninitiated. But Jan is there to help with arrangements advice, and pretty much taking care of guests and everything they may want. The Arabian Room, where we stayed was well appointed, well designed, and quite large.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wonderful welcome by Jan when we stepped into the Riad after a long day of travel. Tea and snacks were offered as we sat in her "groovy" lounge area.

Each room is wonderfully designed with comfort in mind. Interesting paint colors and textures, pretty bedding to match and each room with it's own exotic feel (although all of Morocco is pretty exotic!).

Meals were wonderfully prepared. Jan only cooks vegetarian; however, in Morocco this is a plus. Plenty of fresh vegetables, couscous, etc.

Jan is a delightful host and certainly makes you feel welcome in her home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylintheDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This riad in Sale was a delight in every way. Luxurious accommodations in an old restored private home, the rooms are large and visually stunning. Meals are Moroccan-vegetarian, large and delicious with many varied dishes. Most wonderful of all is Jan, the innkeeper, a personable British, now-Morrocan woman who arranges for your every need, from procuring train tickets, to arranging day tours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. I have travelled a lot, in many different countries, and this is absolutely one of the most beautiful places I have ever ended up.

Service: excellent
Jan, the owner, was entirely helpful from the moment I booked my stay, emailing with train info and organising a taxi to get me from the station to the front door. She also found out bus times for leaving the next day and organised another taxi for me. The girls who work here and serve meals are just lovely, and the service they provide is faultless.

Rooms: stunning
Inside the riad is a gorgeous little sitting room where meals are taken, with a room downstairs and then some upstairs with little balconies looking down into the sitting room. The rooms are just stunning I want my house to look exactly like this. All of the rooms are gorgeous (Jan showed me through as the other guests hadn't yet arrived). I stayed in the chefchaouen suite, which i could not fault. Shampoo, conditioner and soap are provided in cute little jars, and the rooms have heating. the bed was very comfortable. The rooftop terrace is also lovely, a good place to relax.

Food: delicious
The only negative against the place is that if I stayed any longer I would end up enormous. On arrival I was presented with a plate of delicious treats. The five course dinner was just delicious, and the service provided by the girls who work there was faultless. Breakfast was equally perfect. Most welcome after my previous breakfasts of stale bread and a quarter of an egg in egypt.

I almost want to extend my trip in Sale just to stay here. I would highly recommend it to anyone travelling through the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Australian1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This riad was probably the best in our trip. They only have 4 rooms but all are decorated with style and are very comfortable. The owners are also extremely helpful. They will come greet you at the parking lot so that you don't get lost in the medina. They will also give you a good overview of the things to see in Rabat. Don't miss out on dinner. We had probably some of our best food in Morocco at the riad. Check the menu before and ask them if you want to have anything different. Their vegetable tajines are amazing.
Breakfast is also very good and they will give you a breakfast to go if you happen to leave very early. Definitely a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristtov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
0.1 mi away
Riad Marlinea
Riad Marlinea
#2 of 3 in Sale
63 reviews
17.7 mi away
L'Amphitrite Palace
L'Amphitrite Palace
#1 of 1 in Skhirat
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#16 of 45 in Rabat
146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#6 of 45 in Rabat
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Rabat Agdal
Ibis Rabat Agdal
#27 of 45 in Rabat
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Repose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Repose

Address: 17 Zankat Talaa | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Sale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Price Range: $57 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Repose 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Repose, is an oasis of calm in the heart of Sale's traditional medina, Rabat. Lovingly restored by the owners, Rachid and Jan, this luxury riad has been renovated and decorated using traditional materials and craftsmanship to give a haven of peace and tranquility. The whole riad oozes Moroccan charm and each of the 4 suites has its own unique identity. The salon is ideal for dining in the cooler months, reading a book or playing games. The courtyard is great for sipping tea, listening to the splashes of the fountain, while the terrace is fabulous for breakfast, sunbathing or siestas in the shade. With Rachid and Jan on-site, the hospitality and customer service are second-to-none and the combination of their local knowledge and awareness of international expectations ensures a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Repose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Repose Hotel Sale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing