We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Repose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Repose
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“First Rate Riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wonderful welcome by Jan when we stepped into the Riad after a long day of travel. Tea and snacks were offered as we sat in her "groovy" lounge area.

Each room is wonderfully designed with comfort in mind. Interesting paint colors and textures, pretty bedding to match and each room with it's own exotic feel (although all of Morocco is pretty exotic!).

Meals were wonderfully prepared. Jan only cooks vegetarian; however, in Morocco this is a plus. Plenty of fresh vegetables, couscous, etc.

Jan is a delightful host and certainly makes you feel welcome in her home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylintheDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    64
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
184
34
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This riad in Sale was a delight in every way. Luxurious accommodations in an old restored private home, the rooms are large and visually stunning. Meals are Moroccan-vegetarian, large and delicious with many varied dishes. Most wonderful of all is Jan, the innkeeper, a personable British, now-Morrocan woman who arranges for your every need, from procuring train tickets, to arranging day tours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. I have travelled a lot, in many different countries, and this is absolutely one of the most beautiful places I have ever ended up.

Service: excellent
Jan, the owner, was entirely helpful from the moment I booked my stay, emailing with train info and organising a taxi to get me from the station to the front door. She also found out bus times for leaving the next day and organised another taxi for me. The girls who work here and serve meals are just lovely, and the service they provide is faultless.

Rooms: stunning
Inside the riad is a gorgeous little sitting room where meals are taken, with a room downstairs and then some upstairs with little balconies looking down into the sitting room. The rooms are just stunning I want my house to look exactly like this. All of the rooms are gorgeous (Jan showed me through as the other guests hadn't yet arrived). I stayed in the chefchaouen suite, which i could not fault. Shampoo, conditioner and soap are provided in cute little jars, and the rooms have heating. the bed was very comfortable. The rooftop terrace is also lovely, a good place to relax.

Food: delicious
The only negative against the place is that if I stayed any longer I would end up enormous. On arrival I was presented with a plate of delicious treats. The five course dinner was just delicious, and the service provided by the girls who work there was faultless. Breakfast was equally perfect. Most welcome after my previous breakfasts of stale bread and a quarter of an egg in egypt.

I almost want to extend my trip in Sale just to stay here. I would highly recommend it to anyone travelling through the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australian1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This riad was probably the best in our trip. They only have 4 rooms but all are decorated with style and are very comfortable. The owners are also extremely helpful. They will come greet you at the parking lot so that you don't get lost in the medina. They will also give you a good overview of the things to see in Rabat. Don't miss out on dinner. We had probably some of our best food in Morocco at the riad. Check the menu before and ask them if you want to have anything different. Their vegetable tajines are amazing.
Breakfast is also very good and they will give you a breakfast to go if you happen to leave very early. Definitely a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristtov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I'm so glad my guide booked this riad for us to stay. It was probably one of the nicest and most beautiful riad that we stayed during our 12 day Morocco trip. We were welcomed with lovely incense as soon as we entered and I was amazed just how beautiful the riad was with all of its beautiful lamps, furniture, candles, and overall interior decoration. The food was also delicious and the soup and tagine we had for dinner was some of the best that we had in our trip.
The rooms were also beautiful and it was a shame that we only got to stay 1 night. This riad stood out as the top during our stay and I'm so happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Jan and her girls are a delight to stay with. The riad is like a thousand and one night fairy tale. with a lovely roof top terrace, which is a pleasure to stay at after the lovely breakfast they serve and have a relaxed morning in between al the beautiful flowers. Jan's pleasure is to encourage you to get on top of the Madrasa and find the rooftop terrace in the sea of the houses below. Although it was not easy to accomplish, we succeeded, which made Jan just as happy as we where. We enjoyed our stay and recommend this riad to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pien77Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hidden in the Sale Medina you´ll find this cool riad. Owned by Jan, a nice English woman living in Morocco, this place has an excelent staff, Jan and her team are very helpful and gentle.
It is perfect for couples, they have few, but comfortable rooms. Having breakfast in the terrace is something you can´t miss, its very relaxing.
Its not a big deal to find the riad once you´ve talked to Jan, she asked a taxi driver to pick us in the train station and when we arrived she gave us all the instructions we needed to walk around without getting lost.
Very recommended!

Room Tip: Pick a room in the first floor to have more privacy. The African room is cute, but you probably woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thacwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
0.1 mi away
Riad Marlinea
Riad Marlinea
#2 of 3 in Sale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
1.0 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#4 of 41 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lutece
Hotel Lutece
#15 of 41 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 41 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Repose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Repose

Property: The Repose
Address: 17 Zankat Talaa | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Sale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Repose 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Repose, is an oasis of calm in the heart of Sale's traditional medina, Rabat. Lovingly restored by the owners, Rachid and Jan, this luxury riad has been renovated and decorated using traditional materials and craftsmanship to give a haven of peace and tranquility. The whole riad oozes Moroccan charm and each of the 4 suites has its own unique identity. The salon is ideal for dining in the cooler months, reading a book or playing games. The courtyard is great for sipping tea, listening to the splashes of the fountain, while the terrace is fabulous for breakfast, sunbathing or siestas in the shade. With Rachid and Jan on-site, the hospitality and customer service are second-to-none and the combination of their local knowledge and awareness of international expectations ensures a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Repose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Repose Hotel Sale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing