We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Riad in Sale/Rabat”
Review of The Repose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Repose
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Value Riad in Sale/Rabat”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights and would have stayed for a month. The service is among the best I have ever experienced. Jan Godfrey, the owner/manager is the perfect host, exceptionally helpful, welcoming, informative and honest. The Riad is located inside the Sale medina, which may not be the most ideal location for some but shops, markets and attractions are not too far a walk away. Inside the riad is like coming into an oasis. Rooms are clean, staff are very polite and friendly and service is excellent. We stayed in the Arabian room, which was beautiful but all the rooms look fantastic.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Arabian room which had only one small external window. Although the room has a fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halimrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    64
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
71
188
35
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our recent stay at The Repose led us to discover truly personal, caring service that was well beyond extraordinary. Jan and Rachid (and their talkative daughter...) welcomed us for our final night in Morocco. We were treated as if it were a family reunion. Our memories of Morocco were truly punctuated with an exclamation point with our memorable stay here. Thanks again Jan and Rachid!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Everything was great from our arrival with a great welcome tea(Jan pastries are so good!!) to the time of leaving. We enjoyed the beauty of this riad as well as the very good food for dining or breakfast served by a kind staff.
Jan gave us very useful advises to visit and a special thank for her kindness having spent her time with me to the souk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annevince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here with my family. Had a great time, the riad was very cosy and exquisite with great attention to detail. Was very different to anywhere else I have stayed at (in a good way). Staff were very helpful and sincere. If your looking for something which is not 'touristy' then this place is ideal, a real taste of Morocco...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakib A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Little riad with beautiful clean rooms. Owners and staff are making you feel at home and they make sure you really do. Fantastic roofterrace. Possiblity to have a very tasteful diner inside or on the roofterrace. Laidback and relaxed atmosphere. Jan, one of the owners, will make sure you will not walk around like a headless chicken by giving you good advice about things to do in the surrouding area, being helpful arranging taxi's and informing you about reasonable prices for souvenirs. They are even offering you to take one of their phones with credit so you will always be able to call them when you are lost! Another example of their hospitality and effort to make your stay unforgetable is the trip to the local hammam they can arrange for you. You'll go with a local man/woman to the hammam and he/she will let you experience the real hammam as it is supposed to be. They told us before, and it is absolutely true.. we never felt this clean before! The friendliness of owners and staff seems to be neverending. Absolutly worth going to The Repose!

Location: Salé is nice to stay, laidback atmosphere. Rabat is close by. Fun fact: you can go there by rowing boat. Only 15 minutes from The Repose to Rabat, rowing boat included. Would definately choose to stay in Salé again over Rabat.

Sleeping can be a bit difficult due to the singing of the mosque, but you'll get used to it.

Room Tip: Just look at the pictures! They are all beautiful, just a matter of taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had booked this Riad for one night and just before we arrived our booking was cancelled.

This might not have been the Riad fault as booking agents like Expedia do not release our details until the hotel has paid there commission.

The owner of the Repose did find us a another hotel for the same price, which as not as nice, but there were very helpful and if i was to go back to Sale, i would book The Repose well in advance.

However, Sale sounds a lot better than it really is and there is not very main westerners in the town and the beaches are not very nice. Personally, i wouldn't go back to Sale, well maybe for a coffee, but not to stay the night.

Room Tip: Book in advance be be aware that if you are only staying for one night then your booking might be ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andygrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therepose, Owner at The Repose, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Sir and Madam

We hope you are both well.

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.

We were rather confused by your review so wanted to clarify a few points:

As soon as we realized there was a problem with your agency booking, we emailed you exactly 10 days before your arrival date to inform you of the problem with your reservation. We explained the problem, sincerely apologized for any inconvenience and offered you a much more expensive room in a neighboring hotel for the same price or the choice to cancel your booking and book somewhere else of your choice. You gladly accepted the offer of the other riad which we booked for you and paid the difference of 175dh (14 GBP).

We are located in the middle of Salé's old medina (walled city) which is just across the River Bouregreg from Morocco's capital, Rabat, on the Atlantic coast. The medina is calm, traditional and hassle-free, unlike Marakech or Fes. We are close to the big mosque, ancient medersa (Islamic school), traditional souks, local markets and the famous gold street. Just outside the medina, the beach and stylish new marina offer an array of cafés and eateries perfect for people-watching, while you enjoy a drink, snack or meal. In addition, Oulja craft centre/pottery is within easy reach and Rabat and all its sights are 10 minutes away on foot, by rowing boat, tram or taxi.

We apologise again for the problem with your reservation and look forward to welcoming you again in the future and showing you what a nice place this is.

Thank you again. Kindest regards,

Jan and Rachid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you do your reservation via web you know how difficult it is to find the right place.
Actually you know if your choice was right after being there.
We are lucky to say we choose the right place and had an unforgettable time at this riad!
All the rooms are charming and full of lovely details, and Jan, the host, is a wonderful person always conserend to make you feel at home. And her bakery and meals are delicious!
If you are looking for a place to stay in Sale-Rabat, this is the right one, (don`t think twice).

Room Tip: Take a look at the pictures, you`ll find the right one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maroccofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#4 of 43 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#6 of 43 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Marlinea
Riad Marlinea
#2 of 3 in Sale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
1.4 mi away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#16 of 43 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Repose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Repose

Property: The Repose
Address: 17 Zankat Talaa | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Sale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Repose 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Repose, is an oasis of calm in the heart of Sale's traditional medina, Rabat. Lovingly restored by the owners, Rachid and Jan, this luxury riad has been renovated and decorated using traditional materials and craftsmanship to give a haven of peace and tranquility. The whole riad oozes Moroccan charm and each of the 4 suites has its own unique identity. The salon is ideal for dining in the cooler months, reading a book or playing games. The courtyard is great for sipping tea, listening to the splashes of the fountain, while the terrace is fabulous for breakfast, sunbathing or siestas in the shade. With Rachid and Jan on-site, the hospitality and customer service are second-to-none and the combination of their local knowledge and awareness of international expectations ensures a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Repose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Repose Hotel Sale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing