We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Buffet”
Review of Kabul Star Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kabul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kabul Star Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kabul
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I had a business lunch there it was buffet style. The food was good nice and fresh with salads and hot food soft drinks were included in the price plus deserts. They serve fresh baked bread as well which was nice .The staff were attentive without being in your face all the time. We sat on the raised area at the back of the restaurant. The hotel security was good with double doors when you come in. I will go there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hydrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Kabul Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Have been to this hotel before and it was better. Now seems to be in a decline. Security good when coming in. In seminar rooms check that the internet is working- and even so it goes on and off. As it does in the rooms also. Reception´staff don´t speak much English so requires patience. But they try to be helpful.
Lots of seminars and construction work so doesn´t feel that safe once inside the hotel. Very many more locals also so sometimes I was the lone woman at lunch in a sea of local men. Food ok though overpriced- and mostly the same. But fairly tasty. Before service was better at breakfast.
The pool is festering. I used the gym but never saw anyone else there.

Room Tip: garden views are pretty but it feels like they can see into your room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PauliinaS159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Kabul Star is a new hotel so the rooms are in good condition. I stayed in a room overlooking the city on the 5th floor. The down side is that the widows and door to the balcony are glued shut. So, no fresh air. The toilet is well designed and all the amenities work. There is no central heating but I got a room heater. The room as an ironing board and iron. This is good in my view. The internet connection is very good. The 8th floor has a gym, spa, pool and a great view of the city. In summer this would be a plus.

The complimentary breakfast is a little weak with a one fruit choice and dried cereal, cooked porridge and eggs, toast and naan. There are lunch and dinner buffets, Afghan style, good quality but lack variety. The a la carte menu is limited.

The staff are courteous and helpful, but the room cleaning and service crew often cut corners. Overall, my stay was very pleasant and I would recommend it to visitors to Kabul if they choose to stay in a hotel. Otherwise there are many good guesthouses, not as luxurious, at half the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phooldevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had lunch here between meetings. At the time, it seemed easier than going back to the office. While there was plenty of food and the price covered drinks and desert, it still seemed overpriced compared to what I could have received just up the road. There were several training events going on, so the dinning room was crowded. Security was good. Would I go again? Probably not unless I was meeting someone who wanted to eat there.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank DejaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Yhe hotel would be ok if the cleaning staff did actually clean the rooms!! restaurant runs the same buffet night after night with little variation.

Security was well staffed and efficient.

The noise from the main road is bad so get a room as high up as you can at the back of the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkinCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A range of dishes, mostly Afghan, are served as a buffet which is nice and gives you plenty of choices to pick from. The place is located in the center of city and presumable safer than the other parts of the town, but you can’t be sure of that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My stay was positive experience, with good security. It was very close to where my business meetings were being conducted on Camp Eggers. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the buffet was of a very good standard.

Overall I would stay there again and look forward to my return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kabul Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabul Star Hotel

Address: Zanbaq Square Anqara Cadysa, Opposite Turkish Embassy, Kabul 26000, Afghanistan
Location: Afghanistan > Kabul Province > Kabul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kabul
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kabul star hotel is proud to provide 5 star services to its guests in Kabul Afghanistan. We are fast expanding our chain of hotels hopefully all over Afghanistan. We make sure we cover all market segments. Kabul Star Hotel was founded on 21-April-2007 (01-Sawar-1386). Construction of the building has spanned more than four years in which most of the material had been imported from abroad, and instinctive care has been taken in order to meet the international hotels standard. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing