We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best in Kabul City”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kabul Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kabul Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kabul
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“one of the best in Kabul City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

If your company has a "non wlaking policy", this hotel offers quite a lot of things to do during your stay. Wellness, Pool, Spa, Sauna and a vey good restaurant.
Still, having to stay in the hotel sucks, but here you can make the best out of it.
It is very safe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adieball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamidullah H, Manager at Kabul Serena Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2015
Dear Honorable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes

Hamidullah HYDERI
Sales & Marketing Manager
Kabul Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    47
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
4
16
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

They are really trying, good food, nice people, nice spa. But there was heavy construction noise going on during the day without any prior warning. And they did not show any goodwill, but basically thought I had rented the room only during the night. The hotel is not safe at all. If you see how embassies are secured, the Serena is a far far cry from that. And the security personell is apparently not well paid, the dog supposed to sniff explosives is heavily abused by the personell. It was only a question of time the next attack happened. The lack of safety leads to the bad grading.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank tilman h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamidullah H, Manager at Kabul Serena Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2015
Dear Honorable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. It is always our aim to deliver the highest of service and hospitality standards to our guests and it saddens us when we fall short of this aim.

To this end, please e-mail us at info@serena.com.af; with your name and room number so we may investigate the matter further. Apologies again.

Best Wishes,

Hamidullah HYDERI
Sales & Marketing Manager
Kabul Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

My first thought when I was supposed to go to Kabul was two-fold. I was a little worried but I was also very excited. I always wanted to make sure that the hotel I stay at represents the charm and the character of the city/country. The Serena did not disappoint. First and foremost, in a city like Kabul, the Serena realised that ensuring safety without suffocating the guests is paramount. They made me feel safe and once I felt comfortable I really was able to enjoy true Afghan hospitality, food and culture.

The rooms are extremely well appointed, the housekeeping, room service and front desk staff were attentive and detailed.

I will definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the inner courtyard. The views of this magnificent garden area are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arajaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamidullah H, Manager at Kabul Serena Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2015
Dear honorable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes

Hamidullah HYDERI
Sales & Marketing Manager
Kabul Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed for 2 weeks (business) and the Hotel is great and heated the pool is fabulous. Now, being vegetarian, my food options were less than minimal - had to eat same menu for breakfast and dinner almost all of two weeks.

Do allocate 5-10 minutes extra while getting in and out of the Hotel, owing to the five different security checkpoints (no, complaints though!). Of course, no bar in the Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamidullah H, Manager at Kabul Serena Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2015
Dear honorable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are delighted to hear your suggestions and will diffidently work to improve the areas you mentioned. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes

Hamidullah HYDERI
Sales & Marketing Manager
Kabul Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed many times in Kabul Serena, starting from when it was first built and credit card payment wasn't possible. It has always been a delightfully refreshing place to stay, in a city that asks a lot of your patience and sense of awareness. Kabul Serena offers you a chance to catch up with yourself, in lovely surroundings and good restaurants.

Personally, I would never stay on the outside rooms (even though you look out on to the busy Kabul streets). Just a precautionary measure from a seasoned traveller.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Sieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamidullah H, Manager at Kabul Serena Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2015
Dear honorable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

For your kind information, now we accept Visa/Master cards.

Best Wishes

Hamidullah HYDERI
Sales & Marketing Manager
Kabul Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Serena is a wonderful hotel with all facilities, very spacious and exquisitely furnished rooms, good service and excellent restaurants offering variety of foods. Wifi access wasn't the best of all I have experienced and had persistent problems that needed attention of their IT support technicians very often.

Overall it was a good experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Muhammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamidullah H, Manager at Kabul Serena Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2015
Dear Mr. Muhammad,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. It is always our aim to deliver the highest of service and hospitality standards to our guests and it saddens us when we fall short of this aim.

To this end, please e-mail us at info@serena.com.af; with your name and room number so we may investigate the matter further. Apologies again.

Best Wishes

Hamidullah HYDERI
Sales & Marketing Manager
Kabul Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in..... it's the hotel for being relaxed and experience the high quality services... it's great if you are staying in this hotel while your duty or business in Kabul. I have stayed there for two weeks and everything was just COOL what's more, I had lots of fun and pleasure while staying there. On the other hand, the tight security really sucks sometimes I confess this sort of security is really needed for this city but it shouldn't be such tight even for the guests who are staying there for weeks..... All in all, It's still the best for stay in even solo LOL
Helena helen ♥♥

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank helena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamidullah H, Manager at Kabul Serena Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Dear Ms. Helena Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,

Hamidullah HYDERI
Sales & Marketing Manager
Kabul Serena Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kabul Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabul Serena Hotel

Property: Kabul Serena Hotel
Address: Froshgah Street, Kabul, Afghanistan
Phone Number:
Location: Afghanistan > Kabul Province > Kabul
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kabul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kabul Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kabul Serena Hotel, conveniently located in the centre of Kabul city overlooking the famous Zarnegar Park, is situated close to all the embassies and ministries, and is just 20 minutes from the airport. Built in 1945, amid landscaped gardens, the hotel has undergone a complete refurbishment, through the rehabilitation of the existing building and the addition of a completely new section. The hotel dominates a busy junction and is situated in the city’s commercial centre. The hotel has undergone a phased up-grading to incorporate 177 luxurious rooms offering various categories of rooms and suites. The hotel has two restaurants, modern banqueting and meeting facilities, wellness facilities, an up-market shopping area, a pastry shop and a laundry shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Kabul Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing