We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Certificate of Excellence
Cookham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a fantastic holiday here. Our apartment was clean and comfortable. The kids enjoyed kids club and the variety of activities they organised. They didn't go everyday but chose what they wanted to do. We found food to suit all three family generations, with plenty of fresh produce everyday. The kids even had their own buffet area so they could serve themselves. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to any families but probably not couples. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. It is great you found your apartment clean and confortable and your kids enjoyed the Kikoland activities. We are also very happy to know that your whole family likes our food. Thank you so much! :-)

We are very thankful for valuing our staff so good. They will be very happy to know about your review.


We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    293
    55
    8
    3
See reviews for
993
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Royal Son Bou has been designed to host families with kids, and perfectly fits into the target. Location is excellent in terms of comfort and beach accessibility. Son Bou Beach is one of the nicest seen on the island.
For the price paid, service is good. Staff always nice, clean and very nice rooms. However, two major remarks, a substantial and a formal one:
1) Food is poor. We ended up eating almost every day the same things, the only way to escape was the grilled meat/fish that sometimes gave a tasty and quality choice. Otherwise, poor quality and poor variety. Clearly don't recommend anyone the full board. You will get bored of the food in a couple of days.
2) Solicitation of a Tripadvisor review via email is not nice to be received. I wonder how many of the people tracking a judgement on Royal Son Bou have had only that review done in their entire life. This is not professional. Nor is reminding people to leave a rating after you have already sent an email.

Overall, good experience. For the price paid, a couple of steps to be made on food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diego_cla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you so much for the compliments about our installations, service and personal.

We would like to apologize if you and your family didn't taste our food. We always try to do our best. However, we take note of your comments. In this way, you help us to improve.

According your suggestion about the solicitation of a Tripadvisor review, we would like to inform you that Tripadvisor has an own marketing tool to do it. Furthermore, most of the quality programmes advice also to send a reminder.


We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Royal Son Bou staying half board for 10 days at the end of August 2013. Apart from the other positive Tripadvisor reviews and a desire for a change of scenery from Majorca one of the key factors in us deciding on the hotel was Kikoland and compared to our experience of 4 or 5 other hotels this is where the hotel excels. More of that later but just to set the scene we are actively planning our return to the hotel so you may guess we enjoyed our holiday there!

We booked the cheapest available room on a third party website so didn’t pay for a sea view but this meant a very short trip from the room to the pool which we found very convenient. The rooms are very well set up for children/families with a low level sink in the bathroom for children, separate bedroom for the parents and a slide out sofa bed in the main room which stores easily during the day. When we had one day of bad weather we liked the fact that we had the separate living room as it didn’t feel like you were stuck in a bedroom reading/playing games. Although we didn’t use them (other than the microwave for heating night time milk and the fridge for storing drinks) there was a very good small kitchenette including a kettle, couple of rings and the necessary pans, crockery and utensils to so some basic cooking if needed as well as a table and chairs in the lounge as well as on the balcony to eat at. Everywhere is spotless and the hotel has made every effort to set it itself up for children and families.

Incidentally if you or your kids like regular access to the internet, there is free Wifi throughout the hotel with a decent signal in all the public areas including around the pool, in Kikoland and the restaurants. The signal was still receivable in the lounge of our room but not in the bedroom but that didn’t cause us any problem. There are also lots of sockets throughout the rooms for charging your gadgets and a large safe to store them in (no daily fee just a €10 refundable deposit).

We mainly chose to eat breakfast and dinner at the restaurant next to the children’s pool (La Basilica) because it was open air and slightly less busy than the main restaurant but both are very good and offer very slightly different food options – fresh pasta cooking at La Basilica and meat/fish cooked in front of you at the main restaurant . At the end of the day, this is buffet style food (which works for what we like and I suspect for most families) but it is done very well. Sometimes buffet style food can be a bit tired and we’ve often found that the freshly cooked meat and fish can be a little bland but at the Son Bou it was always fresh and tasty. Many hotels put on local special dishes and the Son Bou is no different but these local dishes were really tasty and I would definitely recommend you try them even if they sound unusual. We aren’t big drinkers but we found that extras like drinks (and snacks) in the hotel were reasonably priced given this a 4 star hotel – yes you could get things cheaper in the local bars or the supermarket but it didn’t feel like the prices were extortionate if you chose to stay in the hotel.

We tended to spend a couple of hours a day with our daughter in Kikoland – she isn’t the most gregarious but loved playing on the bouncy castle and their tower/climbing frame as well as the organised art/craft type activities like painting T shirts, making/decorating a chef’s hat/apron, making biscuits, getting her face painted, making a tropical island with playdoh, colouring etc etc. There are lots of more active organised things to do if your child like those and there are plenty of staff from the animation team around to ensure that there is always something going on for most kids’ tastes. They have a well organised system for booking your child in if you wanted them to stay unaccompanied in Kikoland and we didn’t have any concerns about safety or their care standards. Our daughter took to one of the animation team in particular (Sophie) and Sophie really went out of her way to play with her and look after her the couple of times we booked her in to stay on her own so we could take part in the adult activities (which are also very good). Thank you Sophie! There are a few of the kids’ activities that take place outside of Kikoland – going round a circuit next to the hotel on ponies, a trip to the hotel’s own mini farm (goats, very large rabbits!! and chickens) and others as well as some pool based activities and a film afternoon once a week in the hotel’s own mini cinema. Another bonus was that all the activities are included (no matter what board basis you are on) and there is no making money out of having your picture taken with the mascots, getting your personalised identity card from Kikoland so you can access the website when you get home, going pony riding etc etc

The pirate ship pool for the children was very good and our daughter loved it there – the water was warm and the facilities were kept clean and whenever we went you could always find somewhere to sit. There were also no problems with places to sit around the main pool which was kept very clean and is a nice setting surrounded by the low rise three storey blocks of the rooms. Probably the only issue of any description we had with the hotel was that the main pool was quite cool – could have been the weather or maybe we just need to toughen up!

Our experience of evening kids’ entertainment at hotels in the past is that it has tended to be quite repetitive and amateur (not meant to be derogatory just a fact) but we were consistently surprised and delighted with the variety of the Son Bou’s entertainment for the kids and how professional the animation team were – great dancing particularly in the princess show. There is the usual singing and dancing of mini disco with the large mascots but it was always mixed up with other things including a fashion/talent show for the kids (not as tacky as it sounds by any means), a parade through the streets around the hotel with local bands, a professional magician/entertainer etc. All very well done. We only watched/took part in a small selection of the adult entertainment so can’t really comment on that but there was a dressage demonstration in the hotel car park one evening as well as organised activities throughout the day.

The hotel has a good position about a 5-10 minute walk (at a 5 year old’s pace) to the beach through the hotel’s own tunnel. We only went to the beach a couple of times as our daughter prefers the pool but the beach was very clean and the water shallow with just a rock shelf at one point that you need to cross if you want to do any proper swimming.

It’s a few minutes walk from the hotel to the other shops/bars in Son Bou. I would describe Son Bou as a quiet resort which suited us just fine. As well as having freshly cooked pizza in the hotel a couple of days for lunch, we also had lunch at Arthur’s Bar and Buddha Lounge – both very good and recommended. The resort is less than 30 minutes from the airport by transfer coach and Mahon airport is a pleasure to travel through compared to say Palma – small but with good facilities including a small children’s play area in departures (probably OK for kids up to 6 ish) and a range of food outlets. If you haven’t paid for food on the plane and your kids like pasta then we’d recommend getting some take away pasta from Pastafiore. It’s tucked away at the back of the departure lounge next to Burger King!

Given our daughter’s age we didn’t use the baby facilities but the supervised 0-3years facilities in Kikoland seemed to be very clean and well maintained with the added benefit to parents wanting a break from very young children of a meal time crèche for those ages at the main restaurant at dinner.

A final comment on the staff – I know a hotel is a customer service focused business and staff are expected to be polite and friendly but all the staff (cleaners, maintenance people as well as “front of house” staff) really seemed to be happy, friendly and helpful – a real asset to the hotel.

All in all if you are looking for a family hotel then I would have no hesitation in recommending the Royal Son Bou – it deserves its Tripadvisor awards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
11 Thank Julian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Sincerely, we are very surprised about your completed description of us. It is great you found confortable the apartment distribution and facilites. We are also very happy to know you tasted our food.

We are very pleased for your descriptive mention of Kikoland. It seems you and your family enjoyed our Kikoland activities... That's great! :-) Furthermore, you got very good the information about our Club Kikoland website. That's really, really nice! We hope your daughter will enjoy the website and participate in some of our competitions!

It is a pleasure to know your daughter like so much our new pirate boat. However, we take note of your comment about the cold water at main pool. In this way, you help us to improve. We are very sorry for the inconvenience this may caused you during your holidays.

We are very thankful for valuing our staff so good. They will be very happy to know about your review. Specially, Sophie! ;-)

We would like to thank you also for your recomendation and the mention of the Tripadvisor award.

Thank you so much for your support!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent our summer holidays in the royal son bou and I have to say that is simply NOT a 4 star hotel. The service, the food, the rooms- although rennovated -, the hygene -the sunchairs and the gym were never cleaned!!! - everything average.
The childcare was more of a playground, and our three kids - aged between 2 and 5 - didnt feel comfartable staying there alone. Most of the other children felt the same way...!
The pools were very, very crowded in high season and often we didnt get a single sunchair in the afternoon - we didnt reserve in the morning...;))) and there was no other place you could basically go - except your room or the beach... Be aware it is very densly built!!
However, the beach was wonderful - great for small kids and not too much going on!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We would like to apologize if you and your family didn't feel confrotable during your stay at our hotel. But we always try to do our best. We take note fo your comments. In this way, you help us to improve.


We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went to the Royal Son Bou Family Club hotel in Aug 2013 with my 3 kids, 8 years, 6 years & 2 years. My 2 girls (8 years & 6 years) loved it. They went to Kikoland everyday, loved watching the shows every night and really did enjoy themselves

The staff at Kikoland where fantastic and all very friendly and made all the kids comfortable from the start.

The apartment didn't have any locks which my toddler really enjoyed...opening the front door and going into all the rooms whenever he wanted, which wasn't very amusing for us...especially when we were using the bathroom.

The only thing that I would say that wasn't up to standard on this trip was that there wasn't any english tv channels for kids...i.e. cbeebies...My kids had to watch disney channel in spanish or BBC2 or sky news which wasn't appropriate for kids.
I am aware they only have a licence for 4 english channels, but they definitely need to change 1 of them to a kids channel.

The rooms were cleaned well and the pool was lovely. The beach was very close too which was handy.

Apart from that, we did enjoy ourselves...my girls would love to go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cowie2688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. It is a pleasure you to value so good our Kikoland services and team and the apartment and it cleanliness.

According to your comment on this survey about the English channels, we inform you that we do not have more English channels, because we cannot. It is not a limit of us, it is a limit of the satellite signal from UK. This satellite signal, which provides the English channels to the rest of the world, has some limits to reach all the European countries. Unfortunately, we are between these countries. That is the reason why we cannot offer you more English channels.

Sorry about the inconvenience this may caused you during your holidays. We kindly ask for your understanding.

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for one week in August. Can't fault the hotel for cleanliness as rooms were spotless,best we have stayed in. Food was good. Pool lovely, with plenty of sunbeds and easy access to lovely sandy beach. Good location and not too 'touristy'. Only negative would be not catering for older kids much, mine are 10 and 12 and were a little bored but great if you have younger kids. Overall a great family hotel although a little quiet for those looking for an action packed noisy holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon1g1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for valuing so good our cleanliness, food, pool and location.

We do take note of your comment about the activities for 10-12 years old children. With your suggestion help us to improve our services. Thank you so much! :-)

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great 16 night stay at royal son bou with 2 children 8 & 10. No where ever felt busy or crowded here and you cld get a sun bed anytime of day which made for a relaxing time. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Activities for adults and children were available all day if you wanted to join in. We stayed half board and found prices locally very reasonable and 2 supermarkets across the road were very handy. Food was good but after a couple of weeks becomes a bit repetitive but wld expect this at most places. The staff are a credit to this hotel from restaurant staff, bar staff and kikoland team all made us feel very welcome and were always professional and polite. Our children had the best holiday and described kikoland as the best kids club they had ever experienced, the came and go as they pleased and took part in so many different activities, they really didn't want to come home. This resort caters for many nationalities and does a great job in including all. Thank you RSB for a great holiday, please pass our thanks to Christina, Ricardo and all in kikoland, we wld love to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.


We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for valuing us so good!

We would like also to thank you for your compliment about our staff! They will be very happy to know about your review. We personally pass your thanks to Christina and Ricardo. That is so nice...! Thank you! :-)

PS: We really apologize for the delay. We don't know why, but we hadn't seen your review. We kindly ask for your understanding! :-)

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
6.8 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
1.0 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,191 reviews
13.2 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
13.5 mi away
Zafiro Menorca
Zafiro Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Son Bou Family Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Son Bou Family Club

Property: Royal Son Bou Family Club
Address: Playa Son Bou s/n, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Son Bou Family Club 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Royal Son Bou Family Club is a family hotel which is aware of the environment and children's protection. The hotel is situated just 100 m away from the fantastic Son Bou beach (Minorca, Spain). Mascots play with the kids at Club Kikoland (from 0 years), while the parents relax and enjoy an unforgettable family holiday. The Club Kikoland is undoubtedly the heart of the hotel, a paradise full of joy for the little guests: the children. Babyclub (0 - 2 years), Miniclub (3-4 years), Maxiclub (5-6 years), Kidsclub (7 - 9 years), Juniorclub (10 - 12 years) and Teenyclub (13 - 17 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Son Bou Family Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Son Bou Family Club Hotel Son Bou
Royal Son Bou Alaior
Royal Son Bou Family Club Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing