We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late season value”
Review of Gardens Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Son Bou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardens Apartments
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our 3rd year on the trot going to son bou, lucky with weather again, only gripe, if you go the last week of the season like us you need to hire a car if you are self catering as the shops shut at the start of the week, we used poppy cars who we would use again, next time though I am going to book a villa, the apartments are basic, but the beds are bloody hard, unless you take an air bed you get much sleep

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank stately
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 39 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in Son Bou Garden Apartments from 10th Sept - 16th Sept.
We were told it we had a studio garden view room but ended up with a family apartment (2 bedrooms for 2 adults & 2 Children or 4 adults) given the fact that there was only myself and my partner it was a nice surprise! It had a dining area, kitchen area and lounge. then two separate bedrooms, PLUS a sea view! Very clean, tidy apartments, we were in zone 3, apartment 128 (closest to the beach - about 5 - 10 min walk, which didn't make much of a difference as we ventured the island). The apartment was well equipped, microwave, sparkly clean cutlery, dishes, bowls, pans, utensils, fridge/freezer combi, 2 Balcony's - 1 rear view and 1 front facing the beach.

Towels: Advisable to either take your own or request extra as you get 1 hand towel each and 1 bath towel each, they get changed on day 3 of your stay and if you have a lot of hair like me, you will need them!

It has on site, a newspaper shop with souvenirs, a fresh bakery selling lovely cakes and pastries, a car hire place - be warned - When you check in Son Bou they will ask you if you want to rent a car - Don't - There is another shop on site which is far cheaper. We paid 113 euro's including everything for a new Yaris for 3 days, Scuba Diving, swimming pool, 2 restaurants (the one with the swimming pool forgot we'd ordered our food, but when it came it was nice).

There is plenty for the kids to do as there are little parks darted about.
In Son Bou resort - 5 mins walk away - there are bouncy castles, rides, restaurants, disco (never went in so not sure if any good). Bowling and much more to do!

Out and About - Beaches:-
Cala Mitjana - the finest beach (we think) in Menorca, Take a left turn just before you get to Cala Galdana. there are toilets there, no cafe etc. but the beach is stunning.

Cala Galdana - Another lovely beach and lots of facilities as it's in the town, a lovely place to spend the day if you are not in this resort. There is a lovely restaurant overlooking the see at the right of the beach which do lovely food.

Son Bou Beach - A huge stretch and lovely walk all the way along it (the further you go the more nudists there are but to be honest it was the best place because the beach was more gorgeous the further down you went!

Cala 'n' Bosch (at the bottom left of the island is a big port and there is lots to do there, also lovely.

Walking/Hiking - There are paths all round the island, each go up the cliffs and you get outstanding views of the beaches. Take some trainers or sturdy walking sandals - it is coarse underfoot but both pleasant and well worth the walk!

Menorca is a beautiful Island and I would recommend to anyone! 9/10

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are better as are resorts as the coastline is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HighFlyingBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

i went on a teenage girls holiday to menorca and therefore did not expect much for the amount i paid. however, our apartment was well below average, no air conditioning, just a ceiling fan which really didn't make a lot of difference, several cracks in the ceiling in each room, the lock on our gate had been rusted off which led to us having an item stolen off our balcony! ant nests throughout the apartment and balcony! we experienced one night of rain during our stay, and during this night we had to walk to reception to complain that our roof was leaking and water was coming from under the door, they did nothing for us. however, the pools are wonderful, as is the location of the apartments, very close to the bars, resteraunt and beach! to anybody looking to stay in menorca, i would highly suggest the area of son bou. it has a small but lively night life, the locals are really friendly, we actually became good friends with all the bar and resteraunt owners throughout our stay. i would definately return to son bou but probably with a different hotel.

Room Tip: all i can say is, all apartments were fairly worn down, but after speaking to a lot of the other peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank carlsxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

booked this at the last minute, rooms were very dated, but clean. No air conditioning. just a ceiling fan which didn't do anything. drinks and restaurants very expensive. this place is only for families with young children. not really any entertainment. wouldn't ever go back again.

Room Tip: apartments are only 2 high. but if you get the top one it would be difficult with buggies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracey812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

ill keep this short and sweet, but will answer any questions, stayed here in 04 and 07 apartments basic but clean they have all you need, great for familys my kids dont want to go anywhere else, all staff very helpfull, three good pools one of which is realy large, water slide, and the maze are good fun for everyone, its a short walk into the town (5 mins) not much more depending where in the complex you are, it also has one of the best beaches on the island, i will not go into the noise of kids at pools ect as some people do if you have kids and go to a family resort what do you expect some people nit pick, and are to fussy. some people complain of the cost of food and drink when on holiday, you save all year so spend it enjoy it and worry about it when you get home, would recommend son bou to any one its a great place

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank geoff252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Maurizio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank kiandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
0.1 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
1.1 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca
0.7 mi away
Son Bou Gardens Apartments
0.9 mi away
Villas Mar Blau
Villas Mar Blau
#4 of 8 in Son Bou
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Apartments

Address: Passeig de la Mar s/n, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Gardens Apartments Son Bou, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing