We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Child Friendly”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A microwave oven sits next to the soup tureens at the Sol Milanos Hotel. For a very good reason. The soup was served most nights I was there lukewarm. Indeed, that microwave also came in handy for heating up fish, various vegetables and on one occasion, after I had waited for the chef to dish up the freshly cooked portions of pizza, those same pieces, after I discovered my selected two were inexplicably stone cold. I'm still puzzling over that one. Also, avoid the lamb chops, you'll be struggling to find any actual meat on them.

Maybe it was because it was extremely early in the season and the hotel hadn't quite hit its stride, because to be fair in my second week there was a far greater selection of food, though the problem of less than adequate hot plates heating it remained.

This is a very family friendly hotel and the restaurant area had its own little corner obviously designed to appeal to the younger ones, if not to our National Health Service, which served chips, burgers, hot dogs and chips every night, occasionally augmented by fried onion rings and chicken nuggets. Full marks to those parents who led their children up to the extensive salad bar each night. Funnily enough, it was those youngsters who invariably appeared brighter, more alert and healthy.

Accommodation at the hotel was perfectly adequate, with comfortable beds and powerful showers, though extra payment was necessary for use of the safe in the room. The room was cleaned daily and a reported problem one morning with the flush in the toilet was corrected before I'd returned from breakfast, which I thought was very efficient. The hotel doesn't provide free wi-fi either and I thought its price rather expensive. Luckily, I was able to pick up MenorcaWiFi.com, coming from the centre of the resort and at 20 euros for the fortnight I found that good value. I received a reasonable signal on the second floor but this disappeared at ground level, so it couldn't be used in Reception on days when the sun wasn't shining. Oh, and it's a very noisy hotel, too, in the sense that everywhere, including the floors, are tiled and sounds echo round the building all the time.

There are two pools outside and I was pleased to see a lifeguard keeping a careful eye on these, even though, because of the weather, on many occasions he was staring forlornly at an empty expanse of water. Whilst well wrapped up in a wind proof jacket.

Did I mention Menorca was a windy island?

It was on these days that the Animation team had to redouble their efforts and find ways of entertaining the kids inside. For some obscure reason this hotel has a Flintstone theme, with life sized models of Fred and Elma(?) - never really watched these cartoons back in the seventies dotted around incongruously. On one occasion, as the wind howled outside, my reading in the Reception area was rudely interrupted when a team member dressed in a Fred Flintstone costume marched past, with thirty or so kids and toddlers trailing in his wake,all chanting at the tops of their voices "Barney! Barney!" I naturally assumed there was going to be a fight but it later transpired he was just looking for his best mate.

The beach was very popular on the days that the sun shone, with plenty of lifeguards in attendance. Ten minutes walking along the beach and the crowds thin out quickly and more and more people are wearing less and less, if anything at all. But it's heavy going along the soft sand and although there's a walkway at the back of the dunes, that also becomes sanded up. It's worth it though, because Son Bou is a beautiful beach and at its end is a clifftop path that leads into the next resort of San Tomas. Spectacular scenery on the left and beautiful countryside, uncannily familiar with its dry stone walls, on the right. Recommended! And if you're particularly energetic you are able to continue the cliff path at St. Tomas, where, if anything, the scenery becomes even more breathtaking. And I passed a number of family groups with young children along the way.

I'd also highly recommend two excursions which were in the Jet2 programme. One visited the historic former capital, Ciutadella and the island's own "mini- Stonehenge" Torralba, the other Mahon, today's capital, a trip that included a boat ride round the harbour, Binibeca, the designer fishing village and Cova d'en Xoroi, a spectacular cave half way up a cliff face which has been converted into a discotheque. The island has such a rich history and it was fascinating to visit the more important cities and sites.

In summing up I'd say that the holiday was relatively inexpensive but well worth the money. The staff are helpful and friendly. And If you have kids I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel to you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Redeye48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa_martorell, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Redeye48, first thank you swiped your summer vacation with us. We regret that meals were not to your liking and mention you on the temperature that is very difficult to find the ideal temperature for all customers with different tastes. We are happy to read your experience on the island in general and we hope to see you again in the future again with us. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    901
    512
    170
    97
See reviews for
1,227
532
100
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rochdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we are halfway through a 10 day hol at this hotel and i cannot find anything to complain about.location fab on beach /food excellent and plentyfull /rooms are with sea veiw/entertainment is brilliant/i know its for kids but hey im 67 and my partner is 60 today.enjoying every minute of it
having a lovely time

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea veiw we r on 7th floor 705
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lennie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa_martorell, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Lennie47, thanks for spending your time out with us and have deposited your confidence in our hotel. We are delighted that you have spent a nice holiday with us and hope to see you soon back again. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week's stay at milanos/ pinguinos hotel and have booked again for next year!
Having stayed at this hotel as a teenager for 5 consecutive years, we decided to book again for this year, 15 years later as our first family holiday with our two children age three and our 4 month old baby. We certainly weren't disappointed!
We would highly recommend anyone to stay here- it is incredibly family friendly, is ideally located on the beach and there is plenty to do.

Entertainment
The entertainment team could not do enough for their guests! They work tirelessly day and night and are enthusiastic, friendly and very helpful. Our little girl was a year too young to go to the kids club but on a few occasions she joined in and we accompanied her. One afternoon, she made a kite and although there was a charge for this, she loved it and the kite is great quality and provided lots of fun on the windy beach. The club also do a disney show once a week and they dress the children up and let them take part. The club house was fantastic.... You can hire beach towels for 10 euro deposit per towel and they also have pushchairs, beach mats, buckets, spades, books etc to borrow. The evening entertainment was good- 80s tribute band were fab and a nightly mini disco was our little girls favourite. Again, the entertainment team really involved all the children. A particular mention must go to Thalia and Martin who impressed us during our stay.

Food
There was a huge variety and we found meal times to be a highlight of our day! There was always fresh fish and the bread bar was amazing! Our daughter is quite a fussy eater but she always found plenty to eat that she liked. She is also dairy intolerant and the hotel were great and provided soya milk. The waiting on staff were really good and again, very friendly. The chefs took pride in presentation of their food. Sometimes maybe the food was only Luke warm but there are microwaves to reheat if desired. I tended to do this at breakfast mainly.

Hotel room
The room was clean and the maid was very efficient and again lovely! She really made a fuss of us and again worked very hard. Our room was always spotless and towels were changed every day. Having a young baby, we also needed our bedding changed a few times and this wasn't a problem. The hotel provided a travel cot which was fab! It was very comfy for our son and whilst we bought our own bedding, we really didn't need to as it was fine. The rooms are a little on the small size but to be honest it didn't really cause a problem for us as we only slept in the room. If our children were older, we may consider getting the family suite but the rooms were adequate really and had amazing views over the pool and sea. The hotel in general was spotlessly clean.

Resort
We didn't leave the resort whilst we were there. Wee have visited menorca before and travelled round but due to having a young baby, we decided it would be easier to stay in the resort and there was enough to keep us busy. There are several supermarkets and they sold everything we needed. We bought our toiletries and baby things before we left the uk but we could have bought everything there as there was a lot of English things for sale. The supermarket even stocked a wide range of uk baby food including Ella's kitchen. We bought pampers nappies but they are a few pounds more to buy than in uk (6.95 euros for the small pack). We had a daily visit down to feed the ducks which was a lovely walk and also ventured down to San Jamie. I think the season hadn't really properly started as the resort was very quiet. We had a great time in the cocktail bar across the road from the hotel and a lovely cocktail!

We appreciated the fact that our holiday was all inclusive, we spent very little during the week- perhaps only about 40 euros during the whole week on nappies and wifi!

The wifi is 4 euros for an hour and the hotel give you a code to put into your iPhone or iPad. There are also six computers for Internet access charged at 2 euros per fifteen minutes. We only used the it earnest once when the weather was bad!

The beach is gorgeous! Only downside was that Spain have had a huge influx of jellyfish which were absolutely everywhere so the red flag was up and no one could go into the sea. This was a shame but we still played in the sand and used the hotel pool.

The hotel pool is fab and there were plenty of sun beds. It was freezing cold in the pool in the morning but better in the afternoon. However, whilst we were there the weather was unusually bad so on a baking hot day, the pool would be a lot more inviting and a little warmer.

The hotel crèche was very good. We didn't leave our daughter in it but there was lots of toys to play with and the lady who ran it painted our little girl with glittery flowers and helped her make a crown. She was happy for us to stay with her for an hours play and she had a lovely manner with the children.

The flintstones theme was brilliant. Every day, the children get to meet a character and dance with them on stage. The hotel wasn't a flintstones hotel when we used to visit and we wondered if it might have made it a bit tacky but actually it worked really well. There is a flintstones shop in the hotel too which sold lots of themed goods.

The reception staff were again really helpful. Any issues we had were resolved promptly and their manner was kind at all times.

This is a great hotel and we would have no hesitation in recommending it. Particularly to families with your children- it really is a superb family holiday location. Our little girl can't wait to go again and had the time of her life. So did we!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Sariz1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa_martorell, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Sariz1981, first of all, express our gratitude for sharing your holiday with us and we are glad that greatly enjoyed. It is very nice to see after all this time still remembered your holiday as a child and decided to come back. Similarly, we are happy to know you have enjoyed the most of our entertainment team, as well as our large buffet, our pools and other areas. We hope to return to have your entire family for years to come and we will be waiting. Receive all warm greetings from the Sol Milanos Pingüinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our third visit and again an enjoyable week.
The hotel is very clean and staff very friendly and helpful.
The beach is a short walk and this is kept clean and maintained on a regular basis.
There are lots of lovely nature walks, which are well worth visiting, with interesting wildlife and flowers all within a few miles of the hotel.
The chef caters well for the variety of visitors they receive.
The pools are cleaned daily and well maintained with a full time life guard.

The hotel would benefit from a referbishment especially in areas of seating in the dining room, sun beds and the bedroom decor.

Night time entertainment catered well for the children but little for adults and the main language spoken by the team was Spanish.

The hotel is well worth a visit and we are sure we will be back








  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa_martorell, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Michelle B, thank you for placing your trust in us for the third year. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Menorca because it is our only goal. As for entertainment, as you know we try to cover all the needs of all clients are children or adults, although the smallest of the houses are our main guests. We hope to return to have your presence here in Menorca and our hotel. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have been to stay at this hotel twice now first time last August 2012 and may 2013.
The hotel is what you would expect from a 3 star hotel food is good but repetitive hotel it self is in good order but nothing to special but it is kept very clean with no hidden secrets. The pool is cleaned daily and very spacious for family's. It's 50/50 English and foreign guests. A nice clean long beach a stone throw away and nearly everything you need on site.
But the best thing about this hotel is its entertainment team. They will go out of there way for you and do everything in there power to ensure you ( mainly the kids ) have a great holiday. It's a family hotel. And If you want to go out and party this is not the hotel or the island. There is good evening entertainment for the parents and mini disco for the kids.
I will definitely be going back.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Familyman10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa_martorell, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Familyman 10000, we thank you again last holiday in Menorca and that you have decided to share with us. Likewise, thank you for the encouraging words about our animation team we are very proud. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and who decide to return in the coming years. Rest assured that we will welcome you with open arms. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Good location 20 mins from airport and adjacent to the gorgeous Son Bou beach. Hotel spotlessly clean, however rooms could do with updating. The entertainers at the mini club are fantastic our 6 year old daughter had the time of her life, I cannot commend them highly enough for the effort and enthusiasm they show to the children. In general all of the staff are polite and friendly and work hard to make your stay pleasant. There is however one major downside the food is terrible with the exception of breakfast. We stayed on all inc and were very disappointed with lunch and evening meal to the point of having to be careful with what we were consuming as on a couple of occasions meat appeared undercooked, aside from that the food lacked variety and was very tasteless. We never expect to much from all inclusive meals but this is the worst we have experienced, that being said I would return to this hotel primarily for the location and kids club.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa_martorell, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Saswa, thank you very much for writing your impressions and convey our gratitude for having enjoyed your holiday with us. We are very proud of the excellent animation as we always strive to give the best to make customers feel at ease. As for meals, we feel they have not been completely satisfied and mention, we try to improve every day to continue offering the highest quality service and taste. We look forward to your visit next year. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in mid-May whilst attending a conference on Menorca. The hotel was very quiet as the season only really starts at Whit weekend, partly because the weather is very changeable on Menorca at this time of the year. The hotel was clean and the facilities worked well. The staff were friendly and dealt well with numerous nationalities. The restaurant copied well with the changing number of diners and, for the money, provided a good variety. If you get bored with the food the Son Bou resort is just across the road with a full range of restaurants and bars to cater for all tastes. The big draw is the fantastic 3km long beach which is just a few steps out of the back of the hotel; it is probably one of the best beaches in Europe and attracts families, walkers and naturists - the further you walk down the beach the fewer people you will see and the less clothing they wear. Overall, the hotel provides very good value for money.

Room Tip: Try and book the highest standard room and ask for an upper floor with a sea view, there are a few r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlistairDazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresa_martorell, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear AlistairDazzle, we are pleased to read your comments about the hotel and your experience with us. We always try to do our best not only to families, but to all the customers who come to our hotel. From Menorca, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
12.6 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,088 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,450 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,577 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,979 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Milanos Pinguinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Milanos Pinguinos

Property: Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Address: Playa de Son Bou, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Milanos Pinguinos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents SOL MILANOS PINGUINOS, resort located on one of the most famous and longest beaches in Minorca Son Bou Beach. Rooms with stunning views of Son Bou Beach. Ideal for vacations with your family full activity programme, parties, shows, musicals and live music. For Children: Katmandu Adventures Clubs. One lagoon-style pool and the other a sports pool. Enjoy our magnificent international theme buffet and local specialties. Enjoy Holidays with your Family!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Milanos Pinguinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel Son Bou
Sol Melia Son Bou
Son Bou Sol Melia
Sol Milanos Pinguinos Son Bou, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing