We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for Money”
Review of Contessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Contessa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I've been travelling to greece for the last 6 years and this was the best Hotel i've been. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were very clean. The pool provides a very relaxing atmosphere with a pool-bar that provides food and drinks. The hotel is centrally located, very close to the Zakynthos town and the airport and Argassi is a vibrant tourist resort with lots of restaurants, bars and activities and a beautiful sandy beach!

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank takisgtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 776 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2010

I had great fun in Zante, I like travelling to the Greek Islands the weather is great and everyone is really friendly.

Went with a bunch of friends, weren't disappointed with the weather or the hospitality. The hotel was clean and the staff were great. Everything was within easy walking distance which was nice (none of us could drive), although some of the nicer beaches were a bus ride away.

I'll definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novabyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We spent some time last September with colleagues of mine from the university.

The rooms were spacious enough and cleaned in every day bases.

We had some great time at the pool and some classy drunk nights at the mini golf!

Service was helpful and kind at any time of the day, bar has just what you need with a big variety of cocktails and the beach was really close to the hotel.

Would recommend it for any kind of vacations, group vacations, family or couple.


Yiannis

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kef_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

contessa hotel is thew most friedlest hotels ive been too its like staying at a 5 star hotel! everything is to standerds and its so so freindly! i will be going back there every yeaaar for as long as i can! <3<3

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanstaysxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I have to say this hotel is a hidden treasure!!! I traveled to Zakynthos with my husband and three year old son and we could not have selected a better hotel. We had a beautiful view from our hotel room and spent many nights outside on our balcony. The room was spacious and extremely clean. The staff was also very warm (from the women cleaning the room, to the receptionists, to the woman at the pool bar). We also had the pleasure of meeting the family who owns Contessa. Every morning Yianni would greet us with a huge smile and handshake! Angela, another family member worked at the bar. She was just wonderful. Besides making a refreshing iced coffee, she also went out of her way to play with our three year old son. She challenged him to ping pong and gave him several board games to keep him smiling. Contessa was also a very accommodating hotel for our son. They have a playground with swing sets, see-saw, monkey bars, and much more. Every morning our son was just so excited to go to the playground...a definite added plus! We ate breakfast and dinner upstairs. The view was just breathtaking and the food was delicious! The food served at the pool bar was also very good, especially after spending the morning sun bathing at Contessa's pool. Overall, I have to say I was very impressed with this hotel. We will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamiereveliotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

My husband and I were among the 8 remaining guests in this hotel leading up to its closure on 15th October - see review below. We had chosen to go half board: on arrival, receptionist (who doubled as breakfast provider, room cleaner, etc - didnt see other staff much really.) told us their restaurant had closed for the winter, so we had to go to the Premier restaurant down the road, where it had been arranged we could eat for free. We didnt have the full menu - merely a laminated A4 sheet each dinnertime with the choices being at the cheap end of the scale (main meals under 6 euros, pasta dishes, etc) - not great, and it was also closing at end of the week, so we were often the sole customers, with the family owners sitting near us with friends/smoking, etc. On 3rd night, we were presented with pink chicken - thereafter we ate at other restaurants at our own expense !! Husband ill - sickness/diarhoea - was it the restaurant food or the disgusting breakfast food at the Contessa ?? The last review was completely accurate - stale bread, soft Melba toasts, mouldy jelly, then replaced with a bowl of tinned peach slices in syrup (is this the closest they could get to fresh fruit?) - all shared by the birds, who naturally deposited their droppings on the tablecloths (not changed from day to day !! )
Yes, we felt most unwelcome - it became almost a game to spot what was missing from the day before !! Fewer sunbeds, no parasols, poolside snack bar never on offer (had been stripped dwon for cleaning), no weekly BBQ, no pool or table tennis tables (which would have kept us occupied during the many rainy spells that week !! ) - in fact, none of the facilities we had paid for !! (Brochure at reception, and tour operator's details do not say these are only on offer at high season !!) Sun terrace adjacent to dining area completely cleared of tables, chairs and parasols, and to add final insult, all the heavy potted plants were dragged through the dining area onto a landing for storage, whilst we were all eating our breakfast on the penultimate day !!
Removal of fire extinguishers was a total violation of Fire Safety regulations, surely ??
Guests were greeted by 2 barking dogs who seemed to have the run of the pool area (no cleaning witnessed ! ) and the hotel reception and lounge/bar area, which seemed to be the family's 'front room' every evening - owner's daughter I was told, who had friends there & dogs on sofas, watching the TV.
Rooms were cleaned daily - is that the only plus I can think of ??
I cannot believe this is the same hotel detailed in the earlier reviews for 2010 - were they so desperate to close that they had to treat guests this way ??
Needless to say, we will not be returning to the Contessa !!

Travellers, take note Argassi (and Zante in general) seemed to be closing down around our ears - don't leave your visit until October.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cornishboy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

A friend and I went to this hotel on 1st October for a two week holiday. The hotel was closing for the season on the 15th October, the day that we were leaving. From the day that we arrived facilities were disappearing from the hotel. We were given a room on the back of the hotel just about 20 yards or so from the next hotel which had a disco every night until 2am. We asked to be moved to a room at the front as there were only 6 or 7 rooms occupied in the whole of this 100 room hotel but our request was refuse as 'the rooms were closed down for the season'. Breakfast was a disgrace but the birds that we shared it with obviously thought it good because they kept coming back for more. We were given JELLY for breakfast but after a few days this was growing a lovely green mould, and in the end I just went elsewhere for breakfast and paid for something that i had already paid for in the cost of my holiday. 2 days before the end of my holiday, when there were still 8 guests left in the hotel, all of the Fire Extinguishers were removed from the hotel to go into storage for the winter. Just a couple of days before this, large metal gates were erected across the entrance to the hotel complex, for what reason i do not know, but it certainly made the few of us left feel very unwelcome. There were 'no smoking' signs up on the entrance doors to the hotel but this was only for the guests because the staff/family/friends were sitting around smoking and drinking coffee every morning at the dining room and each evening in the bar. The only public television in the place seemed to be for the sole use of the family/friends and of course the owners dogs who were under your feet whenever you entered or left the hotel. One of the other guests there in that last week asked to use the pool table in the bar but were refuse because that too was put away for the winter, even though it was still in place and in view. For our last two days we could not sit round the pool because all of the sunshades had been removed and there was nowhere to to sit out of the sun. 2 couples there in that last week had been to this hotel before in the height of the season and said that it was great but after this experience they would never go again. All in all our stay in this place was a dreadful experience and 1 never to be repeated.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madelaine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 26 in Argassi
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#7 of 26 in Argassi
208 reviews
5.0 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Hotel

Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Argassi
#1 Family Hotel in Argassi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range: $37 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Contessa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Contessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel Argassi
Contessa Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing