We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Contessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Contessa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is ok for a 3***. Quiet, clean, the staff is friendly and the place is well located. We had some problems with the door key but it was solved fast.
The only thing which is annoying is that you have to pay extra for the room fridge and for the WiFi.

Ah... and there are mosquitoes :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C0stin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Brasov,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to add your review on Contessa hotel and for choosing to share your experience with the rest of the tripadvisor travellers,

On behalf of all the staff we would like thank you for your kind comments regarding their friendliness and their hospitality. It is our main concern to make our guests feel like home and to make sure that we provide them a clean and quiet area so they can relax and enjoy their stay with us.

As per the extra charge of the fridge we would like to inform you that Contessa hotel tries to give the opportunity to all the travelers to visit our hotel in Zante at the best possible prices. Thus we give the flexibility to our guest to add if they wish anything extra at their room,

Finally as per the mosquitos I am really sorry to read that they have made your trip rather "unpleasant" as we provide special mosquito devices free of charge under request!! There is an information sheet inside the room that give you some extra tips about how to make your trip more enjoyable where you can find this information:-( ...

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on us. It is highly appreciated.

Best Regards,
Kladi A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for Contessa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 755 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with friendly staff that looked after any queries we had other than that didn't bother us. My friend and I booked 2 weeks half board but only managed to breakfast once,(our own fault) and it was enough.
We had 2 single beds in a small room and for some reason 2 buck beds, had hoped that these would have been taken out but we learnt to move around them as time, without too many bruises, went on.
Bathroom filled me with dread a shower was so small i later found out that Greece does wet rooms only which explains how wet the floor was after showers.
Our room was cleaned daily with towels changed every 3 days. Would be nice to get fresh towels everyday given beach side/ poolside daily.
Food by the pool was amazing.
The night porter couldn't have been friendlier. Think his name was John. Definitely deserves a raise.
Recommend this hotel. Perfect for 2 weeks stay .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merjabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Merjabelle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa Hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

On behalf of all the staff and the family here at Contessa we would like to express our appreciation for your kind comments on our staff and especially to George (the night porter). Your special credit is really important for their work and efforts.

Regarding the room I would like to inform you that we have selected this particular room because you wished to have 2 single beds and all our other single bed rooms were taken. However, it is really a shame that we were not told regarding the inconvenience you have experience with the bunk beds. We would have removed them immediately. The truth is that some people prefer it like that so that they have more space to put their belongings. If only we were informed we would have acted immediately ......

As you have also notice all the contessa stuff are trying to do their best in order to make you feel nice and comfortable like home. We can fix any problem you have but we first need to be aware of the situation. The reception is open 24/7 in order to be able to assist you at any time, so we would have been able to help you both with the beds as well as with the shower.

Thank you again for finding some time to give us here your feedback and for recommending our hotel.

It would make us very happy if we had the chance to see you back again in our home for a second round.

Warmest Regards,
Alicia K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just got back from a very nice holiday at Contessa Hotel. The staff is amazing, very friendly, and very helpful, no request was too much trouble for them. The rooms are very clean, they change the linen and the towels every day(very nice), food is great, you have a lot of choices. We really felt at home thanks to the amazing staff. Marios, the bartender at the pool area is always there for you, very involved and efficient. We really enjoyed our stay at Contessa Hotel, and we would definitely go back anytime. What impressed me on the last day was the sincere hugs&kisses we got from Tzina Petta:) Great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Anca,

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

It was a big pleasure for us to have you here at our Contessa and to get to know you better. We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful time here in our home and that our people made you feel so welcome and comfortable.

On behalf of all the staff and family I would like to pass a very big thank you for your positive feedback and for giving a special praise to our lovely staff for the way they made you feel.

We will be very happy if we had the chance to see you back again.

Until we meet each other again, take care,

Warmest Regards,
Alicia K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Travelling alone is not always the greatest, but here I never felt alone, I never missed my friends or family for one simple reason: the staff of this hotel is the best you can find in the world.
I felt home from day 1 and on my last day I felt I had to leave home for a longer period, because this simply is home. So only one bad experience and that's the day I left. Never had tears, but I cried my eyes out this time. And I'm counting the days to go back and hopefully one day I can stay forever.
I really can't understand the comments of some people, even a 5 star deluxe hotel in Paris where I was only one week before going to Greece can't come close to Contessa.
My room was bigger, cleaner and the staff more helpfull. When I asked for something I immediately got it. And the fact that a lot of people go twice a year to the hotel for many years in a row, well that says it all.
And who complains about breakfast??? I wonder where you can get more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hello Nancy....

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

On behalf of everyone here in the hotel I would like to pass our appreciation for you kind words and to say that we are so happy to know that you had such a great holiday in our beautiful island.

We are thrilled to hear that we were able to meet your standards and expectations in every level and we are thanking you for giving us your positive feedback.

Most of all, we would like to thank you for the praise you are giving to our staff . They are all fantastic people and work so hard to make everyone happy.

We are looking forward to see you back again. In the meantime, take care Love from all..xxx

Kladi A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hi , spent a relaxing week here with my teenage daughter during the first week of August. The hotel was exactly what we required. The rooms were quite small but who spends time in their rooms on a sun holiday right? the important thing was that the rooms were very clean and modern and the daily maid service ensured that linen and towels were always fresh.
Also the rooms had good air conditioning which is free during the months of July & August ( most important for us northern Europeans).
The public areas of the hotel were also well maintained and the food was great too, especially the buffet breakfast where you could eat as little or as much as you liked.
The staff at the hotel were very efficient and no request was too much trouble however the thing I really liked was how much they blended into the background and weren't there until you needed them !
The pool area of the hotel was great and served food and drink until as late as you liked, as least midnight in any event. The barman/chef/superman manning this area during our stay was called Marco and although he actually lived at the top of the island 22km away he always seemed to be there working away, simply fantastic!
All in all I we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Contessa and if we are ever back on Zante we would be delighted to stay there again.
Paul & Sally - Ireland

Room Tip: This is a dog friendly hotel and our room faced the back of the hotel where some dogs were tied up a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 33Pac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Paul and Sally,

Thank you very much for taking some time to add your review on Contessa Hotel and for sharing your memories with the rest of us here.

It was our pleasure to have you here at our hotel and we are very glad to know that you enjoyed yourselves so much.

On behalf of all the staff and family we would like to express our appreciation for your kind words about our staff. And I would also like to reassure that I will pass your kind comments to all the personel of the hotel especially to Mario from Volimes( the village far away).

We hope that will have the chance to see you back again in our home for another round of sunny, relaxing and worry free holiday. Our staff will be always here to welcome you back with a big smile and with their hospitality.

Until then, we wish you have a great time back home and dont forget us

We are all sending you our love

Take care,
Kladi A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just got back from a lovely family holiday at the Contessa, the staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay, they were particularly helpful with anything we needed for our grandsons of 2 1/2 and 7months. The hotel and rooms were kept very clean and linen was changed every couple of days. Breakfast was fine for a 3 star hotel and the rooftop restaurant and had an amazing view of the bay. Nice pool and baby pool, only one problem for us, the splinters we got from the surrounding wooden decking, not ideal, but it wouldn't stop us returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Val,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on us at tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that we have managed to make your vacation relaxing and comfortable. On behalf of the contessa stuff and familly I would also like to thank you for your sweat comments regarding our friendliness and our hospitality. We enjoyed having you and your wonderful familly around. I do apologise for the deck and the splinters. I would like to promise you that like every year we will paint and maintain it, now more carefully, so you wont encounter any more problems in the future if we have the honor to see you again in our place,

Thank you again for all your nice words, You have a lovely familly and we wish to welcome all of you again really soon!!!

Best Regards,
Kladi A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights with my wife. We were very impressed with the cleanliness everywhere and particularly at our room, and the friendliness of the staff! Very good value for money at the breakfast with all the standard items you would expect. Nice pool and very good service from Spyros and the rest of the guys at the bar. We will definitely return to the Contessa Hotel.

Room Tip: Must visit the "la Dolce Vita" & "Yamas" restaurants just 200 hundred meters...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georana1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Georana,

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa Hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

We are very happy to know that you had a fantastic time here at Contessa hotel and that our facilities and services succeeded on meeting your needs and expectations. Most of all we are happy to know that our staff made you feel so welcome and comfortable.

We would like to say a very big thank you for giving our people such a credit for their work.

We hope to see you again soon until then take care and dont forget us!!!

Best Regards,
Kladi A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 26 in Argassi
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 26 in Argassi
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#7 of 26 in Argassi
191 reviews
5.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Hotel

Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Argassi
#1 Family Hotel in Argassi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range: $37 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Contessa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Contessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel Argassi
Contessa Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing