We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven in Zante”
Review of Contessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Contessa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Haven in Zante”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our third stay at the Hotel Contessa and, as always, we found it to be a haven of perfect peace.
This family run hotel is set in pretty surroundings. The family and staff together make the hotel 5 star.
Everywhere you look the hotel is cleaned to perfection; the rooms are well equipped and spotless. The towels are soft and fluffy and bedding frequently changed by a conscientious and friendly staff.
The food is excellent, varied and plentiful. Dining in the rooftop restaurant is always a pleasure as it overlooks Argassi and Zante Harbour and together with the hills behind creates a magical view.
The pool area is situated amongst palm and fir trees and makes for a restful setting. There is a pool bar providing good food and excellent service for your needs, be they at the poolside tables or at your sun loungers.
Great fun is to be had on barbecue night, when the family and staff get together and serve you at candle lit tables surrounding the pool, the ambiance is lovely.
This exceptional hotel is well worth a visit; we are always sad to leave these idyllic surroundings and can’t wait to return.
Peter, Brenda and John.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peterfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Peter, Brenda and John.

Thank you for the time taken to write your nice comments on TripAdvisor. It is really a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback and to realize that we managed to meet your expectations overal.

I hope to welcome all of you back soon for another memorable "mini break" in Zante

With kind regards,
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    148
    54
    19
    7
See reviews for
156
406
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solothurn, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

very nice, familiar managed hotel. In a quiet location near the sea. Beautiful balcony for eating with great view. Everything is clean and staff helpful and friendly. Nice pool, great bar with music, good price, at evening happyhour. Always enough deckchair there. Once a week barbecue at pool, exellence! We really had a great week at the hotel Contessa, everything was perfect! Will definetly go there again...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Dannson,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear our location worked out perfectly for your trip and you enjoyed the service and our room's view. I must admit that we are really proud of our barbecue theme nights since it is a small party every time.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit,

Warm regards
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Me and my boyfriend were in Zakinthos and we had a beautifull and relaxing week ,and the hotel Contessa is very beautifull,the staff is very friendly,we love them.
Tzina is a verry nice person,also her dothers,everybody takes good care of you, the food was great,every day was special,they have a good wine,and we recommend you this hotel, argasi and Zakinthos...the water , the view is wow...We thank you Contessa!
Manny kisses and hugs to all of you and for your dogs and for what you are doing for them!

Beatrice&Octavian

Room Tip: Rooms are fine in every way you go on Contessa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ichim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Beatrice and Octavian,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for your really positive feedback.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your room and the service received during your stay with us.
I would like to reassure you that i will transfer your kind comments to Tzina and the rest of the staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Contessa Hotel! Take care

Kind regards,
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ry, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I were very pleased by Contessa hotel because of the relaxed and warm atmosphere of the place. Especially we enjoyed the pool - and bar area, and we bought colourful drinks from the bar every night during happy hour. Concerning service and cleanliness there are no bad things to say. The only thing that could be better was breakfast, but that is a minor detail.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Venja,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel. We are really happy that we managed to please you during your stay and we gave you smiles with our colorful cocktails....Athina and Marios at the pool bar have a real passion for their work and that is depicted with everything they made.

In regards with the breakfast i would like to inform you that we try to improve it constantly. Just please bear in mind that we are a 3 star hotel and instead of just a continental breakfast that we ought to provide, we try to please our guests by providing a big variety. Just to remind you, we offer a selection of warm food like scrabble eggs, omeletes, french toast, croissants, sausages, also many dips for your toast like praline chocolate apart from all the different marmelades, fruits, different kind of cheese, ham or bacon sometimes etc.

It is highly appreciated that you spent your time to add your feedback and i can guarantee you that we take your comments very seriously and thus we will try to further improve our breakfast.

Hope to see you next year so we can dazzle you with our breakfast choices this time.
Take care

kind regards
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Every year we come here it gets better and better,the hotel staff would do nanything for you,as well as take on board any comments or queries to improve the hotel as well as your stay(first class)would recommend this hotel by far the best in argassi if not in zante...clean,great pool and snack bar,excellent restaurant,breakfast good and staff exceptional....love you all at contessa see you next year steveeeeeee and jan xx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobsyouruncle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Steve and Jan,

I thank you very much for your time taken to write your marvelous review.

It is a great pleasure for all Hotel Contessa Team to realize how successful was your stay with us!

We are looking forward to seeing you again

Warm regards
Kladi A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

A big thank you to Yannis and his family for a very enjoyable stay at Hotel Contessa. This might be rated as a 3 star but it has the heart of a 5 star. Just spent a lovely week in Argassi with my good friend Marie at the Contessa. Cleanliness is spotless, pool is spotless and the food in the restaurant is very good. Great pool bar with all day service of drinks and snacks

We stayed as B and B but for a very reasonable 9 euro you could eat a 3 course meal of local greek food ,as much as you wanted , in the roof top restaurant which has lovely views over the bay. Ive eaten many a moussaka and the chef at the Contessa is up there with the best. Breakfast is as varied as you would need , catering for both uk and continental tastes. I'm not one for the big english fry up so the selection more than suited me. Lots of lovely Greek yogurt and honey and local bread. Barbeque round the pool on wednesday evening was excellent value.

The only downside to Argassi is the lack of a beach but hey you can take the free buses to St Nicholas and banana beaches and pay for sun beds on the beach to get free ride back to your resort. GMT (Greek Maybe Time) comes into play sometimes but as long as you have patience the bus always turns up.

Can only say good things about Hotel Contessa and the lovely family who own and run the hotel.
the rooms are comfortable and spotless with all you need. Air conditioning and a fridge are extra but then it's the same for all hotels I looked at prior to booking holiday. The hotel is a short walk from the main strip which has some excellent restaurants. Can recommend The Premier , where we had excellent service with great food as well as Zorbas, which was always busy with queues!


So sorry I couldn't help out with the rescue dogs on this occasion but who knows next time!

Room Tip: All rooms are good at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Julie,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It means a lot to all of us to receive such a positive feedback and we are delighted to know that we have managed to make your holidays as pleasant as possible.

As you have noted we are a family owned hotel but we have a lot of passion for our work and it is our prime interest to make our guests feel like home. Both our breakfast and dinner is meant to suit all different tastes and of course in a very reasonable price that can be affordable for all.

We hope to see you very soon with either your great friend Marie or with your husband, as i am sure you have left many places unexplored!!!!!!!!!

Kind regards,
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Only the best word for the hotel,top cleanliness, we spent a fantastic week, great staff,friendly, especially at the pool-Marios and Athina.Greetings from Croatia.We hope to return to Argassi, thank you.................

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Rijeca,

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice opinion on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to receive your good word and hope to welcome you back very soon when you are next in our beautiful island!

Kind regards,
Kladi A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 27 in Argassi
1,423 reviews
2.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
662 reviews
5.3 mi away
Zante Pantheon Hotel
Zante Pantheon Hotel
#9 of 51 in Tsilivi
243 reviews
5.0 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Hotel

Property: Contessa Hotel
Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Argassi
#1 Family Hotel in Argassi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Contessa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Contessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel Argassi
Contessa Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing