We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windmill Bay Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Fantastic place with clean big rooms and huge balconys with amazing seaview. Easy sea access with steps just from the pool side (with a LOT of sunbeds). The staff with Marie in the bar, and Effie, is just so friendly and helpful. It is a peaceful place, but very close to the village. This hotel does really stand up to the reviews. I usually don’t go back to places where I have been before, but I won’t hesitate to stay at Windwill Bay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bea_Bumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 372 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here August 2012 for 2 weeks with a party of 2 families in 2 apartments
We read all the reviews before booking and we were please to find that the hotel and staff exceeded our expectations.
It is a family run hotel (Jenny, Denis & their children) and you can tell this. It has a nice family feel to it and you see them around everyday (between the Windmill Bay and the Windmill Studios 2 mins up the road).
We arrived quite early (9am) to find one of the apartments already ready waiting for us and the other was ready within an hour. (great as we had small children and a baby with us)
We couldnt wait to get unpacked, settled and downstairs to enjoy the great pool.
The rooms are very spacious and great for a family with 2 children as there is plenty of space. The children had their own bedroom equiped with air conditioning, a flat screen TV and their own access onto a large balcony (with fantastic views of the pool and sea).
We then had our own bedroom, also with air con, TV and patio onto balcony.
Plenty of storage space for clothes etc and lots of power points. (handy for the amount of chargers we have nowadays for ipods, phones, DS's etc)
Separate kitchenette area and a great bathroom (powerful showers too).
The rooms were cleaned (with clean bed linen and towels) everyday to a high standard.
The cleaning staff were excellent and the hotel was spotless. I watched them clean the outside pool area thoroughly every morning.
The pool itself was lovely. Opened at about 8am which meant you could get in and do some swimming before it got busy. It was never overcrowded and there was always sunbeds free at a reasonable time without having to reserve them too early in the morning.
Just a few steps form the pool and you were in the sea. Briliant for a quick dip or play. Great for the kids (even the big kids !!) It was quite calm most days except for one when there was a wind and waves (but this went down well with them jumping the waves for a while)
The poolside bar was handy. We had breakfast included and were suprised to find good choice which suited all our tastes. All the food is cooked on order so is fresh (and you dont mind waiting a while for this). The lunchtime snacks were good too, again cooked fresh and all reasonably priced. We didnt eat here in the evening as always went out but I did see other families eating here early evening. The bar was great for during the day (to keep us cool of course !!!) and for a meeting point when going out to eat each evening. We also went there some nights when we got back to have a drink in the relaxed atmosphere knowing that you were on your doorstep if the children got tired.
A small computer/ pool room was handy when the children needed to escape the sun for a while. Right next to the bar area/ poolside so you could still keep your eye on them.
The hotel location was great, about 5 mins walk to the many restaurants, and only a short ride to Zante Town. Every restaurant we ate in were good and we did not have a bad meal but our favourites were Peppermint, Granada, Zorbas, Castaway (i think it was called, with a nice roof terrace) Ethnic, Papillon & Dionysos. The Orange Tree is a beautiful place to stop and have a drink (we found it a bit expensive but lovely surroundings) - Thanks to Effie for recommending it.
The Greek night was brilliant. It held every Monday night at the Windmill Studios a short walk away, and is very reasonably priced for a great night of entertainment - would def recommend it. I think nearly everyone staying in the hotel went the night we did. Ther were over 130 people there.

The staff at Windmill Bay were excellent. All very efficient and pleasant. Anything you needed or wanted to know, just ask.
Effie was great, she was the first person we met upon arrival. Always very happy, willing to do anything for you and she loved the children.

We have already said we would love to return and would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Doodlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just got back from a 2 week stay at this lovely hotel. Great rooms nice and spacious and cleaned every day of our stay. All the staff are great and very helpful will do anything to make your stay a good one. Lovely pool area and then steps straight into the sea, just so relaxing. A little walk into town but not too far. Enough restaurants close by to choose from. Pool bar at hotel is very good too serving excellent snacks and very reasonably priced. Feel sure we will retun to this lovely place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise0871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

one of the best hotels i have ever visited, excelant location on the beach great staff on the lobby and in the breakfast. big double rooms with sea view and balcony, cleaned every day . a well equiped kitchenett and clean bathrooms.
close to the town of Zante and the other villages making you enjoying every minute in the hotel,pool,the food and the nearby beach.looking forward to go again next year.

Room Tip: lower rooms have direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adel5594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just back from another 2 weeks in windmill bay our 3rd time. The weather was fantastic for the 2 weeks and what can I say about the apartments they are just a home from home they are cleaned everyday to a very high standard all the staff are just amazing especially Christine, the owners Jenny and Denis and their children work very hard to make sure you have a great holiday. Can't wait till next year, have to book early as this wonderful hotel goes very quick. I went with my husband and 12 year old son and 17 year old daughter they always make friends and this year met up with friends they made the first time we visited they had a great time. Would recommend this hotel to families of all ages and grandparents there is no need to leave the hotel some nights as the food served is very good and very resonable prices and the atmosphere at the pool bar in the evenings is very inviting to everyone, there is no noise in the night even though you can stay at the pool bar till the "wee hours". It is just a wonderful hotel on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: there are 1 and 2 bedrooms all rooms have wonderful views especially corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rachel012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband, me, 12 year old son and 10 year old daughter were here for 2 weeks in July 2012. We chose this hotel on the strength of all of the positive reviews and we were definitely not disappointed. The hotel is very well run. Spotless, nice apts, good food etc. The view is breathtaking and the access to the sea a major plus. All of the facilities of Argassi are a five minute walk and there is a busstop right outside. But aside from all of that I have never felt so at home on holidays. From the time you arrive Effie in reception makes you feel like a regular guest. Marie and Christine at the bar could not be nicer and all of the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. We will definiely be returning and would recommend the Windmill to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeniseOCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

absolutely loved our stay at windmill bay lovely and clean big rooms tons of sunbeds just feet from the sea amazing friendly staff cracking pool good atmosphere only a short stroll to resort centre relaxed pace loved it will be back

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeandjan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.7 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ionian Hill Hotel
Ionian Hill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Xirokastello
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 26 in Argassi
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#7 of 26 in Argassi
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Bay Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Bay Aparthotel

Address: Argassi, Argassi, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Argassi
Price Range: $64 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windmill Bay Aparthotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windmill Bay Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Bay Aparthotel Hotel Argassi
Windmill Bay Aparthotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing