We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palmyra Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$68
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elea Hotel(Argassi)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoulos inn(Argassi)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windmill Studios(Argassi)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$72
$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Contessa Hotel(Argassi)(Great Value!)
$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$170
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mirabelle Hotel(Argassi)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
77
94
25
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
94
25
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsincluded in the room ratelovely cleaning staffbaked beansbreakfast staffvery clean hotelexcellent breakfastcooked breakfastlovely hotelfresh towelspay extra for air conshower curtainswimming pool areaair conditioningreception arearooftop restaurantlocation is greatwe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 211 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Me and my partner had a nice 2 week stay at the palmyra!!!!

We thought that the hotel was a nice,clean hotel.We were a bit worried before going because of some of the negative reviews but we found it to be a nice relaxing stay. we also had a sea view which was a nice surprise!

On one of the reviews it said that there were alot of children around in the pool so we were expecting lots of screaming children.To our surprise we always found it really quiet by the pool and didnt experience any of what was mentioned,although the pool is open to everyone so occasionally,particulary around 4ish we did get locals using the pool.

The hotel always seemed half empty and there were always sunbeds available,whatever time we decided to use them,which was good.

Unfortunantly we did'nt think the breakfast was up to much,it was a bit repetitive.Always tinned peaches and fatty oily bacon etc. We often went to rossi's place 4 a proper nice english breakfast!It was 5 euros each which we thought was reasonable.

While on the subject of food a shout out to 24/7 snack bar try the pancakes or crepes especially with chocolate sauce they are to die for!!! If your looking for the best meal in the area go to ZORBAS we went there 5/6 times was sure the best place.
The beach front resturants are also nice places to eat they do lovely jacket potatoes and huge portions!

BEWARE of the snack academy worst food ever lots of gristle in the meat and corser the chinese resturant not worth the money!Also just to warn you,the alcoholic drinks can be quite expensive.It cost my partner 5 euros just for a JD and coke.

Henna tattoos are not harmful but mine only lasted 3 days!!!

We did 3 excursions,turtle island,smugglers cove and kefilonia!The scenery is beautiful on all 3 trips,and they are well worth doing.We saw a few turtles on our turtle island trip and smugglers cove is worth the visit,although the ground is very stoney and hurts your feet.

This has been my first visit to greece and we have both really enjoyed our stay.Zante is beautiful and all the people are very friendly and welcoming.Argassi is lovely.The only place i would say to steer clear of if you do not want to share your holiday with groups of young singles is laganas,other people i have spoke to have not enjoyed it as much there.I am glad of our choice of argassi which is quieter.I would definately come back to zante in the future,and now i have a taste of greece i would like to experience some of the other islands too!we have had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank emyjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

I don't think this hotel merits its 3 star status. The brochure and website advertise air conditioning and hair dryers in the rooms. The air conditioning is only available during July and August and no hair dryer was provided. The maid service wasn't very good. Some days our room wan't touched at all meaning we ended up with two days' rubbish and no fresh towels. Fresh towels were pretty much like gold dust and the reception staff took the huff if you asked for clean ones! The breakfast was extremely poor and the dining room itself was dingy and depressing. We ended up going out to a nearby cafe for breakfast every day. The pool area was nice, although the plastic sunbeds were a bit uncomfortable (especially if you've got old bones, like me!). Also, the pool is 'open to all' which meant that the area was frequently taken over by young, unsupervised children. The resort itself was quite nice, although it's a bit small. Personally, I wouldn't go back to the Hotel Palmyra.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jesspops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Stayed at Palmyra in July- for the price you pay (we paid 400 for 2 weeks including flights and everything) it was LOVELY. 5* facilities; the reception is gorgeous as is the restaurant the food was fab! Breakfast is OK, the pool was so quiet, you don't have to reserve sunbeds - it could do with a bit of a clean but overall it was fab. The room was lovely, it doesn't get cleaned every day and once the maid left out room open! Get a safety deposit box! We arrived 3oth June so as is technically wasnt summer period until the day after our air con was free!! If we had gone a day later we would have had to pay. The lady on reception (I think she is german) is lovely and helpful and speaks perfect english.

The area is lively, there is plenty of nightlife and restaurants but some STAY AWAY FROM! Talk to people in your hotel on the 1st day and ask where's nice. Poseidon and the restaurant opposite were awful microwaved food. ETHNIC was quite possibly the most amazing food ever, it was all spit roasted inffront of you. Some places are full of teenagers (noone gets asked for ID) like Factory and Magic Mushroom so we stayed away from them. I am only 19 myself but there were some 13yr olds and stuff! Strongly recommend the water park but be careful what trips you book on - we paid 25 euros to go see a 'shipwreck' which was actually an oil tanker that we didnt even go to because of 'dangerous winds' on the day. Note: it was not that windy! Still a nice trip on the boat but the fact we never reached our destination is annoying. Keffalonia island trip had really high reviews - people said it was great day out, wish we'd done that!

Argassi is a lovely place, quite touristic, only a quick journy from Zante and Kalamaki (gorgeous turtle beach - go there!) and filled with so many places to eat. Look at menus before you go in places, the chances are if they do EVERYTHING and they're very quiet iy's because they microwave it all. If you have to wait for your food and it's busy - they're good! There is a place with a stone oven they make fresh pizza - places like that, that have a speciality are good. The chinese next to the Palmyra is AMAZING - they make it all fresh too, no artificial colours of flavours and so cheap, and you can take out too. Bars that were a hit with us were KISS, JUNGLE and the medieval one (can't remember its name!) Not so much were angel's bar and the Palmyra bar. The Palmyra bar is owned separately by an English guy who isnt very friendly and they may give u the odd free shot but there's a reason why it's always quiet!
Overall Palmyra hotel is awesome, as is the restaurant, the bars are not cheap so take a lot of money, and the booze in supermarkets is cheap so keep lots of room in your suitcase!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Beccy.R.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here the first 2 weeks in August, was a very nice, spotlesly clean hotel. The only down side was that I found that it did lack a bit of atmosphere but if you are in a group that should not matter. Location wise it is ideal. The breakfast was nice but of course it was a bit repetitive after 14 days. If you want a sun holiday that's hot hot, then this is definately for you. The restaurants are superb and very cheap in comparison to Ireland, half the price. I dont think you will be disappointed and its great value for money... : -)

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizcollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

Stayed here for a week at the end of May. Only paid £240 inc flights (try on the beach website - v gd for deals) v good value holiday. Fairly small hotel but lovely pool and gardens with all restaurants and shops just outside hotel yet it wasn't too noisy. Nice view overlooking mountains behind hotel from balcony.
All Zakynthians very friendly and welcoming - all knew us by name - it felt like home! Rooms very clean - would definitely return......
Only downside to Argassi is there isn't really a beach but only takes a few mins drive. This gives the excuse to get out and see the island - do it - it is beautiful. You must have dinner on top if the mountain at Kampi overlooking the ocean - AMAZING!!! Also visit Kefalonia if you have time. Even more beautiful than Zante.

4  Thank CEDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews