We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dora's Apartments and Studios
Ranked #4 of 8 Argassi B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great place to stay.”
Reviewed October 16, 2008

What a great place. we stayed for a week at the end of september, and wished it was a month.
The Dora Studios are in an almost perfect location just off the main street, so it's a one minute walk to the shops and bars but very very quite after dark. The Dora bar is run by Thomas and Ellenor who are the most friendly couple it has been our pleasure to meet.
Our room was the usual, small but very clean with a full size fridge electric kettle and a two ring electric hob.
If you get the chance, go and stay you will love it.

Graham and Christine.

  • Liked — The location and bar staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetlagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We have been to Doras in Argassi, Greece, twice, in 05 and 06 went to Menorca in 07 and spent the hol wishing we were back at Doras, but we are booked for next year 09.
Doras is situated in the perfect spot, set back from all the nightlife in Argassi town, it's quieter at Doras than being in one of the hotels on the main street. Please note if you want a good beech then Argassi is not for you. Doras is very clean and find it hard to believe when people post the rooms weren't clean. The pool is spotless and well taken care off.
Doras is a family run business so they know the importance of you enjoying their home with your children and want you to have a really good holiday and they are always there to give you advice on what is what around the island. However don't think that it's just for familys as it's not, loads of couples go here. Next year it will be just me and my partner much to my daughters dismay (sorry carmel, but you will be 19 xx) Panos and Dora are lovely any problems they will do their best to get it resolved for you. The apartments and studios are basic but you don't need anymore than what they consist of. Maids go in everyday to clean and give you fresh bedding and towels every other day. GO ON give it a try, don't contemplate going just go. The pool is great to be around sunbathing and sipping cooled mythos yum yum ( a touch of black in mine) Can't wait to return again and again.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank samlovesdoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Visited the lovely place of Argassi July 2008 with my boyfriend and overall it was a great holiday but wouldn't return to Dora Apartments.

The room was very basic, which was expected with it being a "3star" but the only good point was the air con, which was fantastic. The bathroom was tiny and constantly had a strange odour coming from it, like a damp smell only worse and everytime you showered the whole bathroom flooded, not good.

In the room it was two single beds which we pushed together, the beds were uncomfortable. Our towels were only changed once our whole weeks stay, and that was only because we had to go down and ask for clean towels. How can they expect people to use the same towels twice a day everyday. On our 4th day we asked a member of the staff for clean towels, they were rude and cheeky and said something along the lines of 'Well we can't be expected to give everyone clean towels everyday'!!! What kind of statement is that, we didn't pay £900 between us to use the same towels for a full week! I was livid. Very reluctantly the member of staff brought us up fresh towels after much mumping and moaning about it. JOKE!

On the upside the weather was fab and although there wasn't much of a beach, it was still nice. The restuarants were great, the food was brilliant in them. We especially liked Zorbas.

We did one day trip on a boat, to see the turtles, bit of disappointment as we didn't see any turtles but it couldn't be helped as the sea was too choppy to go to the actual island where the turtles were. We did however stop at 'Shipwreck Island' which was gorgeous!

Argassi doesn't have much in the way of nightlife, there were bars and a couple of clubs i think too, but they were very quiet. We were after a nice relaxing holiday so this suited us. We did however venture to the much more lively resort of Lagana one night, which was fun, but the place is wild!

Overall, I had a really good time and the poor accomodation didn't spoil my holiday however I wouldn't recommend these apartments to anyone. If I was to visit Zante again I would definetely read the reviews on tripadviser before booking.

Hope this review helps!

  • Liked — Air Con
  • Disliked — Constant strange odour in bathroom, towels only changed once, rude staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgow1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Cannot fault my stay at the Dora!
For a young couple who wanted a relaxing but still quite lively break, Argassi and the Dora studios were just the ticket!
Our studio was perfectly fine for our needs, if a little small (although there are a number of apartments available aswell), but it had all the basics and was more than adequate.
The service at the pool bar was excellent - Tossas and Elena cannot do enough for you, and are genuinely lovely people - but watch out for those shots! Pool area and accomodation was extremely clean and tidy, and the pool bar served lovely food as well as a wide array of cocktails (that kept me quiet!)
Argassi itself is a nice little resort, although there is not much of a beach or many things to do there, there is plenty of scope to explore the island (I recommend getting the free bus to St. Nicholas Beach!) and enough to do to keep you going for however long you are there.
There are some pretty decent restaurants too - I recommend Papillon and Ethnic, but stay away from the 3 Brothers! - and there are some OK bars there too.
Any quibbles I had would be with the holiday company and some ridiculous booking decisions they made (such as putting 12 Laganas bound louts in the apartments) - but I cannot fault Dora - both me and my partner are looking forward to returning to Zante and the Dora studios hopefully in the near future!!

  • Liked — Fab Staff!
  • Disliked — Small Room - but this is just being picky!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymraes120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Just returned from a fantastic week with my Mum,daughter and friend. We had fantastic weather, the apartments are spotless and pool water is like silk!

I have been to Zante three times and these apartments are the best yet. :) Thomas and Elena cant do enough for you they are really friendly and did their upmost to give you a superb holiday.

Good restaurants are a stone throw away Castaways, on the roof top, was one of our favourites. Watch out for for the "Greek God" who stands on the corner of Palmyra hotel who gets very rude if you don't want to eat in his restaurant.

Brilliant week can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Quietness and cleanliness
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieflump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

On arrival at 6am very impressed with the cleanliness of the studio and general appearance of the area. typical greek studio with twin beds, wardrobe etc. and kitchenette area plus a bathroom with shower, all one needs for a comfortable stay. Tomas and Elena at the pool bar very friendly and went out of their way to make your holiday very enjoyable especially the cocktails and free shots. Food at the bar very good and reasonably priced. Only downfall of our stay 13th-21st May the moaning family from Thurrock nicknamed by all as the Clampetts. Very good restaurants in Argassi - Premier, Palmyra, Carrissoma to name but a few. Gyros pittas at Mario's excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseandthelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

Overall, a lovely holiday with great weather but I was slightly disappointed in our young neighbours (backpackers) who openly took drugs and ran about at all hours of the night shouting and swearing, without the owner even mentioning it to them! This was very worrying as we had 2 young kids with us!

The town is great, loads of fun things to do and some great tacky shops!! People lovely also and the food was always fresh!

Book a 'Greek Night' and go the all day cruise around the island and explore Smugglers Cove. You might get lucky and see a turtle like we did!

We really enjoyed it and would go back. The backpackers were the only problem for us!

  • Liked — Close to everything
  • Disliked — Pay extra for air con, young people running wild
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.1 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#7 of 27 in Argassi
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#4 of 27 in Argassi
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 27 in Argassi
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 27 in Argassi
1,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maria Mare Apartments
Maria Mare Apartments
#18 of 27 in Argassi
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papillon Hotel
Papillon Hotel
#5 of 27 in Argassi
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dora's Apartments and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dora's Apartments and Studios

Property: Dora's Apartments and Studios
Address: 166 Argasi, Argassi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dora's Apartments and Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dora's apartments & studios were established in the year 2000. A new complex was created and is operating from our family always having in mind top quality service, clean environment and customer satisfaction. We pride ourselves on the services we offer, the fact that we are always there for the visitors who are treated as guests. At Dora's you will find family members willing to answer all of your questions regarding the island, places to go and excursions to take, also receive help in many things during your stay at Zakynthos island. Dora's apartments and studios offer accommodations for the family or for couples and friends. The rooms are situated around the complex's swimming pool so that everybody can enjoy the sun around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dora's Apartments and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dora`s Apartments And Studios Hotel Argassi
Dora's Apartments And Studios Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing