We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Greek Night”
Review of Locanda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Locanda Hotel
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Argassi
Waterford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traditional Greek Night”
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Just returned from a week long holiday in Zakynthos in Greece where I and a friend stayed in the resort of Argassi in the Locanda Hotel. During our holiday we went on excursions organised through our travel company one of which was the so called traditional greek night. Upon arrival to the restaurant there were two sets of stairs used to gain access to the restaurant unfortunately the reps for the travel company failed to tell one family who had a child in a wheelchair about this. As part of the excursion we were told that wine would be freely available during the meal however this proved not to be the case. The staff that woked in the restaurant were extremely rude and on one occassion having been asked for wine for the third time slapped the tray off the back of the chair of my friend and didn't even apologise. After still not receiving any wine twenty mins later I and one of the other people sitting at the table decided to go and speak to somebody in the bar of the restaurant and ask for wine. We spoke to the manager of the hotel and explained that no wine had been dropped up to our table despite having asked staff for it three times. While speaking to the manager we were standing beside the reps table who looked on in stupid astonishment knowing we were having difficulties. She didnt come to se if everything was ok she just continued to eat her steak and chips while the rest of us tucked into what ressembled and tasted like deep fried sponge cake ie. suppossedly mussaka. the other dish was souvlaka which were basically pork on kebab sticks which consequently were so hard that they could not be removed off the sticks. To sum up the food was dreadful, the entertainmment consisted of two poeple dressed in greek outfits getting the people in the restaurant to form a train and dance around like a bunch of idiots. Unfortunately many people were unable to do this because of starvation due to the total lack of edible food available. The night in total for two people cost €74 and at least five hours of your life and holiday that you will never get back. The reps on the trip were nonexistant, too busy tucking into their free wine probably the wine that was ment for our table and a nice steak and chips. On the plus side we met three fantastic couples with whom we spent the bus ride back singing songs and slagging off the evening to our hearts content. This evening is one to avoid do not waste your money. Zakynthos is a paradise to visit, you just need a high tolerance for some ignorant restaurant staff and useless reps.

Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Yesterday we came back from Zakynthos-Argassi-Hotel Locanda. I just cant say anything else only BRAVO for this nice, clean, relaxing hotel. The staff is very friendly, helpful, food is OK, ritch sort of coktails. The beach is clean ( when the weather is windy, normally some waterplants are flowing out from the sea, but nothing horrible. The pool was cool also. Our room was brilliant, with little kitchen, nice big bed, mirror, WC, shower, everything spotlessly clean. Hotel Locanda has very good location, near to everything, we had quadbikes for 3 days and went around the whole island. This way i want to say Efcharisto to Hotel Locanda, hopefully we will get back soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Puncedly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We just got back from a week in the Locanda. There were two of us sharing a studio apt. We found it lovely, spotlessly clean and as we tend to pick basic accommodation we had everything we needed. At this price you don't expect room service etc. Balcony was lovely and we had a fantastic view over the bay. Staff were lovely, the coctail bar area was very nice and the pool was really gorgeous. Location wise it is fantastic, 2 minutes walk from anything you could possibly need. Foodwise, we found Ethnic nice but a bit of a disappointment despite all the recommendations, but we loved Zorbas - food out of this world and so reasonable. Papillon was also fantastic. We seemed to end up in the Artemis bar most nights, quiet and with cheesy music which suited us down to the ground as we were not looking for big nights out or anything. We did nothing by way of tours etc, planned to hire scooters one day but then realised like muppets we hadn't brought our driving licences!!! Basically we both just wanted to lie in the sun and relax and thats exactly what we did. Found the people warm and friendly, v easy going and none of the hassle you get with people trying to get you into their pub/restaurant or whatever. Also no sleaze, drunken louts, noise etc which was a big bonus. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dazriel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed in a studio apartment in the Locanda Hotel, Argassi. It was absolutely disgusting, The room was damp and mouldy. The bathroom was filthy and mouldy. Bathmats were all torn. The towels and bedsheets were dirty looking even though they were supposed to be clean. It was a holiday from hell. It could have been seriously hazardous to our health. As we were on a budget we could not afford to change hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MollyCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Argassi hotels

Clare
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Hotel was ideally located and in one of the nicest resorts on the island. It is located at the end of the “strip”. While the room itself is basic, it had all the necessary items for a week stay: a fridge, table and chairs (both inside and outside the room), wardrobe and shower (en-suite). The pool is nice but has no shallow end or bars to hold onto, however, the beach is 5 feet away and the water is shallow for about 100ft, nice and warm and safe if not a strong swimmer. The bar is nice and cosy and the bar men are quite helpful.
A down point is checkout. There was nobody to check us out at 12 and bags had to be left unattended in reception all day (even though courtesy room promised).

Resort:
Argassi is 5 minutes from the main town of Zakynthos. It is orientated mostly towards families and couples. However, it does also cater for younger groups. It has many pubs/clubs and restaurants, some of the better nightlife locations included Factory (good nightclub at back of pub), Avalon, Kiss, Legends (Sports/Irish Bar) and Molly Malone’s (Irish Bar). Molly’s also had 3 18 hole crazy golf courses, reasonably priced. Nice restaurants included “Premier”, which is just off the main street, “Stars” (located opposite Locanda hotel) and Legends. Not much to do in Argassi other than chilling.

Zakynthos Town: We went here for a meal and found a lovely restaurant just of Solomos Square (can’t remember name sorry but you will know it by the sign “top 10 in Greece”). Mainly shopping to do here. We visited the Byzantian museum in Solomos Square and also St Demetrius Church. Quite impressive, but only for 5 minutes.

Laganas: A big long strip of pubs, clubs and restaurants. Not a very family orientated area and can get quiet busy and loud. Many stories heard from locals about lack of safety for tourists here. The beach is also a main road as restaurants and bars are located along the beach.

Other:
Cruise: We booked the cruise around the island from “Smile Tours” for €20 euro (€37 when booked with budget). A nice day out but the opposite side of the island can drag as not a lot to see. Plenty of swim stops and picturesque views, bring your camera!

Greek Night: Budget and other groups were offering a Greek night for around €30 each. We found one at Granada Restaurant just past Molly Malone’s Irish Bar. No Set price, you eat your meal from the normal menu and the Greek night starts at 9 o Clock. Very entertaining but be prepared to dance and make a fool of yourself, they don’t take no for an answer!

Prices:
Lunch for two: €10 - €15
Dinner for two (Main Course & Desert): €20 - €30
Drinks: Cocktails - €3 - €5 (Lots of special offers though!)
Magners - €5
Alcopops - €4
Soft Drinks - €1.50

Taxis: Argassi- Zakynthos - €7 (€1.40 Bus)
Argassi- Laganas - €14
(Generally cheaper than Ireland!)

  • Liked — Location on the beach
  • Disliked — Checkout - lack of!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank garyproftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Just returned from a week in Argassi were we stayed at the locanda hotel.

When we arrived at the airport, we got a taxi to the hotel. It took about 5 minutes and cost about 12 Euro. Much quicker than the coach. That took nearly an hour with all the drop offs. So take a taxi! However we flew in pretty late in the evening so when we got outside there were actually only 3 taxis. We shared with another couple who where going to the same complex.

Location :On reaching locanda we were very pleasantly surprised. We had booked a last minute deal thru budget travel for €160 each so weren’t expecting much. The complex has a lovely bar and seating area at the front which is quite charming. Andreas and George the barmen, came out to welcome us, both have fluent English so no probs there. We were ushered into reception, where the lady quickly gave us the key to our room and showed us to it. Literally 10 steps from the pool and beach on the ground floor. Hotel is located on the left as you come in from the airport and is one of the first hotels you come to really. The main pubs etc are in the middle of the strip so it is a bit of a longer walk than most would have, but in saying that it will only take a few minutes


Hotel: Room was spotlessly clean, but was quite small. However you really don’t need anything bigger. Small kitchen with cooker with 2 rings, fridge, glasses and kitchen utensils. Separate shower room and then double bed with small breakfast table and 2 chairs. No travel iron or hairdryer so bring your own!

Only negative things I would say here:
1. The room was quite dark and the shower room was a little dingy. I.e. no light and quite small. I found it fine but some of the other guests didn’t think it was great.
2. Secondly, if you are a beach lover, this is the wrong part of Zante to go to. The beach is very narrow, as wide as meter in parts. The beach out front of the locanda is quite short and narrow with rocks at one end. Water is shallow enough out to a good distance.
3. The pool does not have a shallow end and no bar to hold on to for any non swimmers so stay away. Wouldn’t be suitable for kids.
4. Sun chairs are limited and people tended to leave their towels out and then go off for a few hours which meant no one else could use the sun loungers.
5. We weren’t allowed to keep the room on the last day past 12 o’clock. We had to leave our bags in reception which was unattended. No one there to even check us out.

Cleaners cleaned the room’s everyday and changed sheets and towels daily. There was a small safe in the wardrobe but weren’t able to lock this. However no need to worry, we left valuables lying about and nothing was taken so don’t worry. I think there is a safe in the reception area you can use but we didn’t need it.
The pool side bar opens from about 10:30am. Music starts at that time so as long as you are up before then it won’t bother you.

The resort:
The resort itself was quiet enough in the main. Lots of people but defo not a place for a wild holiday. No drunken louts either which was a plus. I’d say at this time of year it is suitable for families and couples looking for a quiet holiday. Nothing really to see in the resort itself so would advise getting out about the island to see the nicer beaches, blue caves etc.

Trips – lots of trips on offer and by the end of the week, I was getting fed up at being asked by the tour people to book with them. Even if you said no thank you, they’d ask you every single day.
There are trips around the island by boat. 8 hours to go to see all the main sites. Not great if you don’t like boats or don’t travel well. Some found them good, others said that they wouldn’t do them again as not a whole lot to see on the opposite side of the island.

Greek night – don’t this. We heard very bad reports from our group. Food was awful. Dessert was advertised as tropical fruit, was in fact 2 apples cut in 4 with cinnamon sprinkled over it to be shared between 8!!! Also the starter , caeser salad had to be shared with the person beside you. cost 36 euro per person. Entertainment was reported to be a joke. So skip it!

We did the Athens trip – cost 98 euro each for 2 days in Athens. Got ferry from zante to Greece and then 4 hour bus journey (with 2 rest stops) to Athens. First nite there was a traditional bazooka night or you could do your own thing, and on the second day up early to see the acropolis, city tour, and changing of the guards. Then bus and ferry home. Well worth the money. Booked with smile tours in the center of argassi. Sou the guide for the trip was Lovely. And the Greek guide Helen that we got for the acropolis had extensive knowledge of the acropolis and was very good. Tassos our coach driver was lovely and boy does he know how to get you places. You’re better off closing your eyes in Athens as I don’t how they don’t have an accident every second! Pedestrians walking straight out in front of the bus, bikes criss crossing in front of you etc.

Tip: don’t book through your tour rep as these are always more expensive. You’re better off booking yourself at any of the tour shops in argassi. Also Sou said that it’s much cheaper to buy goods in Athens as Zante was quite expensive, so do you shopping in Athens if you do go!

Car hire – when we went to price car hire in Argassi it worked out very expensive in faro’s they added lots of insurances etc on so we decided against it. You can rent bikes and quads but need your license.

Taxis- very cheap. 7 euro in to zakynthos town which is good for shopping or if you want to get the ferry to Greece. Again not a whole lot to see.a day there would be enough.12 euro to/from the airport.

Restaurants:
Fav by far was Ethnic – which was directly across from smile tours. It’s very popular and you’ll know it by all the fairy lights hanging from the roof. Gina is very nice in there and the food is superb! 2 course meal and bottle of wine only 30 euro!
Second was legends – it’s really a bar but does some good value snacks etc.
Stars close to Locanda was also quite good. Favoured by the locals.
Ruby’s good for English breakfast.

Pubs –
Avalon – give ya lots of free drinks
Legends – good entertainment most nights
Magic mushroom – meant to be the night club. Didn’t go ourselves as it never seemed busy.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the small room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank apples2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

This definitely has a great location. Location is just a few minutes walk from the main strip of Argassi where there are plenty of bars and restaurants so you can walk everywhere and dont need to worry about taxis! The studios are small but clean. The bathroom is a good size and the kitchen was typical of a studio apartment. I didnt use the kitchen anyway apart from the fridge for storing drinks. The balcony is great for relaxing on and having a few drinks at night. There is an onsite bar / restaurant and also a snack bar by the pool. The pool is small and deep. There is no shallow end so it is definitely not recommended for people who would not be confidant out of their depth. There are sunbeds around the pool and a green area and we never had a problem getting beds or a place to sit. There is a small beach just beyond the pool and the sea water is fab. It is calm and warm!!!! I cant remember how much the sunbeds on the beach cost but a woman will come and collect the money from you... but then u can stay there for the day. You do not need to pay for the sunbeds at the pool. When we were there they held a greek night with a barbeque one evening during the week. Over all I would recommend these apartments if you are looking for a relaxing place in the sun. Argassi is not a party town but there are plenty of bars and restaurants around to keep you entertained.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The pool
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.2 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mimoza Beach Hotel
Mimoza Beach Hotel
#13 of 27 in Argassi
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 27 in Argassi
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 27 in Argassi
1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#11 of 27 in Argassi
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zakantha Beach Hotel
Zakantha Beach Hotel
#8 of 27 in Argassi
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Hotel

Property: Locanda Hotel
Address: Argasi | Zakynthos, Argassi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and hospitable, located right next to the beach, "Locanda" hotel gives you a unique feeling of serenity and well-being.Only five minutes away from Zakynthos town, at Argassi area, only 200 m away from the center of Argassi tourist resort, on the main road.The sweet ochre and white tones blend naturally to create a fresh and romantic atmosphere. The pastel colours emphasise even more the green and sea blue of nature all around.Every small corner has been decorated with care, using ornaments that reflect the traditional venetian style - the landlady herself has seen to the matter!The traditional style, though, coexists peacefully with every possible modern convenience.The sea breeze alone, flowing through every window, is enough of a lure to make you leave city life behind... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Hotel Argassi
Locanda Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing