We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Island and People”
Review of Windmill Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windmill Studios
Certificate of Excellence
North Shields
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Island and People”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Just come back from a week's stay in the Windmill Studios, Argassi, Zante. What a lovely establishment this is. Clean, comfortable, room sizes are larger than adequate. Room was cleaned on a daily basis, towels and sheets changed every other day. Can't fault the Windmill Studios at all.

You reach the Windmill Studios by a road with a slight hill leading off the main road. When we arrived in the early hours of the morning, we were greeted by the night porter who drove down in his 4x4 to take our cases up to reception! What service is that! The room was larger than average and we were very surprised at how big it was. Very clean and comfortable.

If you stay here you must attend the Greek nigh which is held every Monday. Well worth the 12 euros per person. The meal you get is fabulous and the Greek dancing was out of this world - better than anything I've seen previously in Greece. All in all a fantastic night.

Not much of a beach in Argassi but the water is clean, clear and warm. There is a bit of a beach further along but everyone seemed to be getting the free bus service to St Nicholas Beach. We didn't bother with that so can't comment.

If you're after tours then you must visit Peter at Mamfredas Tours. What a lovely, lovely man he is. Very helpful and very, very friendly as are all the people in Argassi. They can't do enough for you. Very welcoming.

Places to eat - the Athina Restaurant is highly recommended. When you walk along the main road towards the Church, when you come to the Magic Mushroom, the Athina is down a small lane leading to the beach on the right hand side. Also the snack bar 24/7 and the Double Grill. There are plenty of other places to eat and drink but these ones are the best that we found for us. You are greeted with a handshake, the waiting staff are excellent and when you leave, your hand is shook again.

Plenty of shops/bars/restaurants/supermarkets etc.

I can't fault Argassi or the Windmill Studios at all and will be going back at some point.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccysgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    98
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
133
220
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I have just returned home from a week away at this hotel and it was perfect, I travelled with one friend and we had a relaxed holiday in mond and this is just what we got. The hotel is very clean and all the staff are friendly and happy to help you with anny problems or queries you may have. The rooms are of an ample size and have balconies which are perfect for relaxing on after a day out in the sun. THe air-con is 35 euros for week but well worth it as it works a dream keeping the whole area lovely and cool even after it has been off for the day whilst you have beeen out by the pool etc.
The resort is alos lovely, everything you need is there from supermarkets to a chemist, tourist shops and a hudge variety of resturants to eat in and it is all less than a ten minute walk from the hotel. There is a train that stops just across the road which can take you into Zante town where there are lots of historic sites, a beach and shops. It will drop you off for four hours and then return you back after for just 4 euros a person. However it should be noted that if you go in a saturday it is best to go earlier as many shops shut early in preperation for Sunday mass, though not the ones local the the hotel.
I would also highly recommend the trips that a holiday rep, if you go with thomas cook etc, can organise for you. We went with thomas cook and went on a jeep tour of the island for the day for 50 euros each which was fantastic and well worth the money, you see the island froma whole new perspective and can visit all the popular sites in just a day as well as a trip to the sea and wine and local produce tasting. We also went to the water park for the day, though slightly nervous I would recommend this to anyone, there is something there for everyone.
However if you do not want to go on day trips the pool is perfect for relaxing by and the pool bar serves lovely food and drink which is of good value for money

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicoli024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

The apartments we're superbly clean and big enough for three to share, thought it is all in one room (i.e. what we expected for a studio), the kitchen was tiny (not really any good for even trying to cook - no toaster too) but we could still use it for breakfast and lunch, and could probably have made something if we had the inclination... The staff here we're nothing but friendly and the place is close enough to the 'action of Argassi' to walk there every night (5-10mins max) but far enough away to have no noise or anything like that... Shops are about 2mins away...

The pool is a simple square but perfect for relaxing, swimming, games etc... The place was full of families and couples (and we we're there as three non-coupled friends) but it was still fine, it's the kind of place you can go to really relax, sit back and let everything pass by...

Argassi the resort is a bit quit for 'young people' but there are a fair few bars and couple of 'places to dance'... calling them clubs might be a bit ambitious! Loads of restaurants and a trip to Zante centre or Laganas (the club place) is only a few euros...

The accommodation is really well recommended... truly lovely..!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabberdabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

First time at Windmill Studios after recommendation from family. We were not dissappointed. Excellent location on edge of main strip, short walk to supermarket, bars and Tavernas. Hotel staff were very friendly and polite. Studio was basic but comfortable.
Good value meals in the Pool Restaurant. Only bad point was the Pick - up/Drop off point on the Main road. Link to video I made of hotel can be found on You Tube under title of Windmill Studios Argassi Zante.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackemDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

stayed here for the second year running and was not dissapointed.newly refurbished and looking great.we were welcomed back like old friends and had a fantastic time.close to all resturants and shops and nice and quiet.just about to book 2 weeks for next year and i never go to the same place twice let alone 3 times.we ahd a jeep for 10 days and visited keri and hired a boat to out and around turtle island.it was brill also visited all the beaches down towards vasilikos.so the windmill is an ideal base and lovelly to go back to for a swim and a cold mythos.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lincarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

quiet end of town, short walk to shops /taverners. green frog excelent. peters tour shop very helpful, great cruise arround island. good mini road train ride into main town/port. overall a delightful holiday

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2010

An excellent value for money hotel. We booked this through a travel agent and were extremely happy with everything. The pool is lovely, there are plenty of sunbeds so no need for rushing out at 6 am to lay a towel on one! The location was central but quiet with sea views and Argassi was a lovely resort. The food at the hotel was great value for money and delicious, there was a nice mixture of Greek and other food too. The staff were really friendly particularly the evening barman. Rooms were basic but very well kept, they must have been recently decorated, and were spotlessly clean. Only critcism would be if there were 3 in some of the rooms it would be a tight fit but I think they carefully choose larger rooms if there are 3 of you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCB186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.5 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#7 of 27 in Argassi
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 27 in Argassi
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 27 in Argassi
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#11 of 27 in Argassi
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ionian Hill Hotel
Ionian Hill Hotel
#3 of 27 in Argassi
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 27 in Argassi
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Studios

Property: Windmill Studios
Address: Argassi, Argassi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Windmill Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run aparthotel with traditional and friendly hospitality. 200 M from beach. 20 Minutes drive from Zante Town the capital city of Zante and in easy driving distance to some of the best beaches on the Island in the area of Vasilikos. Close to the resort of Argassi but set in a quiet area off the main road, Our accommodation is suitable for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windmill Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Studios Hotel Argassi
Windmill Studios Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing