We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday - Excellent Hotel!”
Review of Windmill Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windmill Studios
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday - Excellent Hotel!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Travelled to the Windmill Studios for two weeks in August last year as a party of five. Four of our party had travelled to Argassi three times previously while the other was visiting for the first time.

We had stayed in two different hotels in Argassi prior to this holiday, and neither have come close to the experience that we had at the Windmill.

I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel or the people who work here. From the moment that we arrived to the moment that we left we were made to feel very welcome by all of the staff. From Jenny and Dennis, to the girls on reception, to Julian, Helen and the boys behind the bar, nothing ever too much trouble for them and they always had a smile on their face when talking or serving you.

We had emailed previously to ask for the rooms as close to each other as possible, and we were very happy to find that they had managed to do this for us. The hotel itself is in an ideal location set back from the main road and on the outskirts of the main centre of Argassi. However, it is a only a short walk (or cab ride if feeling lazy) before you are in the centre of Argassi and surrounded by some great restaurants (Ethnic, Stars and Peppermint to name a few). All rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean with great shower facilities and a daily maid service. The pool is of a good size, with plenty of sun beds available. The food at the hotel is absolutely brilliant, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner, and all drinks are served ice cold (particularly the Mythos!!!) and reasonably priced. Entertainment is available nearly every night, from karaoke, quiz and bingo night to singing acts. Special mention for the hotels Greek night, which is truly fantastic and definitely not to be missed.

All in all the holiday was fantastic. Argassi is a beautiful part of Zakinthos to visit, and our stay in the Windmill hotel certainly capped off a great holiday.

We have already rebooked for August this year, and we are counting down the days till we are back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Kieran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennykladis, Manager at Windmill Studios, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hello Keiran and family, thanks so much for staying with us last year and glad that you enjoyed your holiday here. Thanks for mentioning all the lovely things you enjoyed about Windmill, especially the staff,. Its fantastic that you have decided to return again this summer and we all look forward to seeing you in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    96
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
129
214
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bury lancs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

we have been all over greece 64 times stayed at the meridian hotel in 2011 it was very good but not as good as the windmill studios they were brilliant the management the cleaners bar and restraunt and reception staff were out standing could not fault one thing stayed there oct 2012 and will definately be back and cant wait

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank viperess69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennykladis, Manager at Windmill Studios, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for posting this lovely comment. We are so happy that you enjoyed your holiday here and that everything was to your satisfaction. I will pass your positive comments on to the staff here, I am sure they will be pleased. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at the Windmill studios with my husband and 15 year old son the last week in October. My first impression of the resort was that it was closed and sadly that was the case. Fortunately we had chosen well accommodation wise, as these studios are the best we have stayed in in Greece. We had a 1 bed apt which although was up a slight hill away from the main building was extremely spacious and would easily have slept 5. The room was spotlessly clean the cleaner came every day and changed the towels and sheets every day. I have never had clean sheets every day even in 4 star hotels. We had to eat all our meals at the studios except for a couple lunches in Zante town but the food was very good and excellent value. Drinks are also reasonably priced.The food choice was sometimes limited but this was obviously because it was the end of season but the portions are huge and a good standard. The pool and reception area are lovely and the staff very helpful. I have been to Argassi previously and it did look a bit tired but again it was difficult to get a true picture when no bars or shops were open. Only 3 supermarkets and the bakery were open.I wouldnt recommend Zante at the end of October although the weather was better than I had expected. However I will definitely return to the Windmill studios, quite simply great value excellent standard of accommomdation in a good position run by friendly staff who can't do enough for you. We loved it.

Room Tip: choose a studio if you like to be close to the main building or have walking difficulty
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennykladis, Manager at Windmill Studios, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for posting this comment, the staff and management here are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for enjoying your meals at our restaurant and I will pass your compliments on to the kitchen staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family back at Windmill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks in June 2012. My first impressions were of a really clean and well cared for hotel. I had emailed prior to our arrival to request a quiet room and this was responded to promptly. We were checked into our room immediately and as requested were allocated a quiet room overlooking the fields. The room was clean and spacious with plenty of hanging space for our clothes. The kitchenette although compact was adequate for all our needs. There was a TV with BBC world news and some Greek channels (not that you go away to watch TV). The air-con was quiet which is a bonus as we needed to leave it on over night but is charged for seperately at a rate of 5 Euros per day!!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and full of useful information on where to go and how to get there. The bar area was lovely and covered which offered some much needed shade away from the afternoon sun, the food served there was excellent quality and reasonably priced. The menu was extensive and food could be ordered to your room at no extra cost which is a bonus. The Greek night is "the best in Argassi" and although we didnt try any others we really enjoyed the night. For approx £20 per couple we enjoyed a carafe of chilled white wine, lovely Greek bbq with rice and salad and an evening of entertainment provided by Greek folk dancers and the staff of the hotel!
The pool area was lovely and clean and the sunbeds were plentiful, the sun was on the pool almost all day which is great for sun worshippers.
The Windmill Studios are excellently located - just 5 minutes from the resort centre and the beach if you could call it that. The beach in Argassi was washed away in an earthquake in the 50`s. There is also a sister hotel just a few minutes walk away which is on the sea shore and you can use the facilities there for no extra charge. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable holiday which in our opinion can be enjoyed by couples and families alike.

Room Tip: We emailed in advance to request a quiet room away from the bar and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_6481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennykladis, Manager at Windmill Studios, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thankyou for taking time to write this informative post, the management and staff are glad you completely enjoyed your holiday experience at Windmill. I will pass your comments on to all the staff, I am sure they will appreciate it. Have a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have been going to the Windmill for over 10 years. I often meet the same people year on year. We all agree that the studios are amongst the cleanest and friendliest places we have ever been to! Although the beach is not brilliant (more of a cat litter tray really) - the hospitality and service together with the warmth of greeting at the studios makes you happy for your entire stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 687davidh687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the start of August 2012, my wife & 13 year old son & myself. The accomodation was superb. The room was cleaned 13 times out of the 14 days we were there together with fresh towels and linen change on each of these days. The staff were more than polite and helpfull. The ladies on reception, Sue & Suzie were very helpfully, Julian & the other bar staff superb. Our son made many new friends that he is still in contact with via facebook and we felt safe in allowing him to visit the restaurant next door with his new friends. Regular entertainment was provided in the bar however, this was not too loud if you wanted to return to your room early. The food the bar/restuarant served was really good value & reasonably priced. We would recommend this accomodation highly so muuch so that, we are thinking of returning again next August with friends & their family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltshiremanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just returned from a fortnights holiday in the Windmill Studios, what a great place to stay to get away from all the fuss of everyday life. The hotel is lovely and the rooms are spotless with bedding changed everyday and fresh towels supplied everyday also. Jenny and her husband should be very proud of the establishment they run here as it far outways many hotels we have been to over the years.

I would also like to point out the general staff at the hotel are great people so friendly and full of useful advice on the area and services available with noting being to much trouble.

But I must comment on the food available from the hotel, 'fantastic' every dish homecooked and Jenny even went to the extent of revealing her recipes so we can practice ourselves ! somehow I don't think I will be as good as Jenny :). Every morning my husband could not wait to find out what was on that night ! so if you like your food here is highly recommended.

Thanks again to everyone at the Windmill, we hope to return one day, Gwen and Steve xx

Room Tip: seaview is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.5 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 27 in Argassi
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 27 in Argassi
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#11 of 27 in Argassi
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papillon Hotel
Papillon Hotel
#5 of 27 in Argassi
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ionian Hill Hotel
Ionian Hill Hotel
#3 of 27 in Argassi
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Studios

Property: Windmill Studios
Address: Argassi, Argassi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Windmill Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run aparthotel with traditional and friendly hospitality. 200 M from beach. 20 Minutes drive from Zante Town the capital city of Zante and in easy driving distance to some of the best beaches on the Island in the area of Vasilikos. Close to the resort of Argassi but set in a quiet area off the main road, Our accommodation is suitable for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windmill Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Studios Hotel Argassi
Windmill Studios Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing