We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zakantha Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just got back from Zante and had a fab holiday (6th July - 20th July). When we arrived I wanted a room with a different view and the woman on reception happily let us look at a different room and swap. The rooms were lovely, modern and cleaned very well everyday. We was B&B but only went to breakfast 3 times as we didn't really like it. We ate out at resturants every night in Argasi and all of them we're gorgeous! The pool was fab and went just at the right time as when we was leaving more children were turning up! Can't wait to come back again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieBx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 476 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

Booked last minute through Olympic website - simple as usual but tickets on departure for a very early flight and could have done with better direction as to where the tickets could be collected from (rather than the non existant Airport Agencies office which would not even be open in the early hours). Flew with Strategic. Comfy seats and good flights.
Room: 131, first floor near lift and stairwell and facing onto the main road. Can honestly say that didn't experience any unreasonable noise and no problems sleeping. Furnished in modern, decent pieces, fridge, TV (not LCD like some menntion) and air con (free this time of year). Didn't need to use fridge - air con kept drinks cool. Bed a king size but firm, I like it that way though. Bathroom is small but big enough for one, it's not like you're hosting a party in there. Good shower pressure, hot water and shelf space. Towels changed every 2 days, but was often more in my experience. Balcony a decent size and good furniture. Only tips for improvement - 6 hangars in the wardrobe is no way enough and needs a waste paper basket in the room (not counting the bin in the bathroom cos we all know what that's for in Greece).
Food: Stayed B&B and plenty of choice every morning. Toasting machine quick and actually toasted the bread. Could do with coffee machine though. Nice to be able to eat outside.
Pool area: Looked bigger on the photos but pleasant. Loved to lounge on my sun bed on the grass area gazing out to sea. Great that it was just a few steps down to the sand. Snack bar was great to have on hand and offered a good variety. Bugged by the lucky lucky men though - massages, DVDS, CDs, bags and purses, watches, sun glasses, bracelets, pictures, even a kid with an accordion. Started to get on my nelly a bit but they just walk up from the beach.
Hotel generally: Clean, someone always cleaning, reception friendly, maids great and said hello when they passed and in a good spot in resort - takes no time at all to walk to main bit.
Argassi is small and basically a couple of roads but everything you need is there and it's close to other places. Loved the little road train and the horse drawn carriages.
If I went again I would have no hesitation in choosing Zakantha Beach Hotel.
Zante airport - be warned it's a rip off. Small snack bar - paid 8 Euro for a sausage roll and a coffee. The sun must've warped my head!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank serendipity402010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've just came back from Greece and I must say that this is not a four star hotel. First of all the mini bar is locked and you have to pay 7 euros per day for it, just to open it. Then, the internet is not free also. 1 euro/15 minituse...I have never seen a 4 star hotel this stingy...the food was poor, i thought that if greece is near a see I could eat more sea fruits but no trace of this kind of food. You can find only hamburgers and Gyros...
the beach is ok, the pool is great!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the Zakantha Beach from June 24th to July 1st 2012 and enjoyed it very much, largely due to the fact that it is situated right on the lovely sandy beach. We spent most of our time lying on the sunbeds in the garden, in the shade of the palm trees, with an occasional foray down the steps on to the beach and into the sea for a swim. The sea was very warm so swimming was a pleasure. The hotel was fine - I found the beds rather too hard for my taste, but everything was spotless and the cleaning lady was lovely! We had to pay for the aircon as it became free for everyone from July 1st, but we were very glad we did as the weather was boiling! It worked very well and kept us so cool that we needed a blanket on the bed at night!The food was very tasty and I didn't find it repetetive at all. I enjoyed it because a lot of it was typical Greek food, flavoured with Greek herbs, and, as an Anglo-Greek couple it was lovely to have something authentic instead of the watered-down English food you usually get in package hotels.
The little restaurant in the garden near the beach also did huge delicious salads so we ate there most lunch-times. The only day we didn't eat there was when we caught the very reasonable little tourist train (run by a Greek Australian) into Zakynthos town and had a look round ( lovely shops) and had a salad there and I got food poisoning! I think it was the smoked salmon! Luckily it cleared up quickly and didn't ruin the holiday but all the hotel staff were really concerned and kept asking me if I was OK when I ventured back downstairs in the evening and the cleaning lady gave me some basil to keep in the room as it smells wonderful!
We were a bit concerned about the waiters as there were only two of them doing all the work and Alexi in the main restaurant did breakfast and dinner all by himself. He had a car accident a short while ago and broke his shoulder so it was very painful for him to carry piles of plates, but he was always cheerful and very efficient. The other waiter, whose name we didn't know, was in the beach restaurant all day so he had a lot of work as well and was also very efficient, but a bit less cheerful!
Altogether, we enjoyed our stay very much and may well go back!

Room Tip: if you can get a room over the garden and facing the sea, go for it, but you need to be on a high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhoebeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for five nights. Couldn't accommodate a family of four so had to get 2 rooms.

Rooms are average, as per most of Europe, but clean. Breakfast average too.

After touring around the island, we found that all accommodation is very similar to this hotel.

Location is fine. Pretty quiet especially as compared to roudy Lagana.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

we arrived back 2 days ago..had a great time in the zakantha beach hotel,very friendly and clean,breakfast was good.ovarall a fantastic stay. also situated on the beach,good location lots of shops bars,and some nice places to eat out,reccomend peppermint tree for good food opposite the church,and the artemis bar for some live music.and thanks to monika for making our stay extra special....david,gail from wales

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at The Zakantha Beach Hotel from 10-17th June 2012, and I would give it 7/10. The location was great just a short drive from zante town and only about 10 mins from the airport. The staff at the hotel were great, always friendly and able to assist with enthusiasm. We stayed half board and after about 4-5 days the food was getting a bit repetitive but on the whole there was a good selection of very tasty food, for both breakfast and dinner. No ice cream, which our daughter was very disappointed about. The only downside to the hotel is that we had to pay extra for air con in our room at a cost of 7 euro per day(which was very much needed) and also extra for a fridge in our room 21 euros, and if required extra for a safety deposit box too. The weather was without doubt faultless sunshine every day with temperatures reaching up to 35C. The beach was at the end of the garden area and the water was very clean and very shallow for a long distance so was ideal our small children. The rooms were very comfortable and cleaned by the maids I think every day to a very high standard. Our room was on the third floor and we could see the sea and zante town in the distance from our room. The only noise in the night if leaving your patio door open was the sea and noise from a bit of night time traffic. Lots of supermarkets, gift shop,s bars, and restuarants just a short stroll from the hotel. We booked a boat trip with Mytours just a short walk fromt he hotel to see Shipwreck & the Blue Caves and were not disappointed. would recommend an early morning boat trip, less heat and less people. We also booked car hire from the UK from Merlis Car Hire, which was great as we could explore the island in our own time. Overall a great holiday for the price we paid. Ignore any bad comments you read. I would definitely recommend this hotel and location to others

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank N3ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.1 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 26 in Argassi
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#7 of 26 in Argassi
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Beach Ηotel
Paradise Beach Ηotel
#21 of 26 in Argassi
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zakantha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zakantha Beach Hotel

Address: | Argassi main road, Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Price Range: $85 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zakantha Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zakantha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zakantha Beach
Zakantha Beach Argassi
Zakantha Beach Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing