We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, would go again, food & service top notch”
Review of Diana Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diana Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, would go again, food & service top notch”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We read some negative reviews before going to Diana Palace, Argassi, Zante (7 nights, all inclusive), these reports said the food was always the same and had service issues - some not worth mentioning like a cleaner forgetting to replace towels, which was solved within a couple hrs. Anyway, during our week there, the food was top class, variety (from fish fingers and chips, to lovely beef and chicken dishes, salads, pastas and authentic greek dishes like "kokkinsto", the chef was out in the restaurant cooking in front of the diners some nights. The staff were very freindly and fluent in english. Our room was of good size, with kitchen area, bathroom of decent size, room for 3 beds a dressing table and a nice balcony (hair drier in room). We did hear of others less happy with their rooms though, some are smaller only fitting a double bed in the main room area, and it sounds like the room we got (for 2) is used for families of 4. However, the room was clean and how long are you intending to be in the room, when its so sunny outside!

The pool and sun lounger area was nice and clean, the pool was good size and fairly deep (over 2m, there was a small kiddy section and a shallow end of the main pool. There was food and drink served from 7am to 11pm daily, alcohol available from 10am. Good selection of local spirits for the all inclusive.

The weather we had was fantastic, 30 - 39 deg C through the day.

The negatives (these are minimal) The entertainment at Diana Palace was the real let down - it was ok, but not befitting the rest of the hotel's high standards. There is air con in the rooms, but we had to pay 35euro for the week (or 50euro for 2 weeks) to use it. Not much of a nightlife, but this did not bother us.

Zante, does not offer sandy beaches, there are a few around Laganas, but if you want sandy beaches don't go to Zante. We wanted a peaceful, sunny holiday, with beautiful landscapes - and thats what we got! I would advise you take a boat trip, the one to Turtle Island was excellent we saw the beauty of the island, got to swim in the calm, clear, torquoise blue sea , but unfortuantely we didn't see a turtle - bad luck and time of year (Sept - after the main nesting season) was the reason.

We took a local service bus 1.40euro per person from Argassi to Zante Town. A fantasitcly cheap adventure (and pleasant,the bus was a proper coach, with air con.). We spent around 2 hrs in Zante Town, which was very interesting in terms of buildings, large harbour and lovely mountain backdrops.

We paid around £550.00 per person for 7 night all inclusive...and feel we got value for money, so if you can get a similar price - go fo it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooms39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    368
    123
    36
    22
See reviews for
488
599
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2010

just got back from our honeymoon from the diana palace hotel,had a great holiday,the staff made it especially,stathis in the pool bar he was the best ,made us welcome from the first afternoon,and by the second day knew all 20 of our names and drink orders,bill and lucas were also lovely,but the only thing that let it down was the room we called the dungeon,room 505,bathroom was grotty and old,no view what so ever,the food was nice but was a bit repetitive,steve the entertainer was very nice but had limited funds ,so the evenings were a bit dull,sorry steve,the pool is very very deep,no good for none swimmers,on the good side there was always plenty of sun beds all day,

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adetheblade10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Excellent greeting from the reception staff, but had spent 100 euros before even seeing our room for air-conditioning and safety box. The entertainment was average as Steve (who worked very hard and was excellent with the kids) had only been at the hotel for three days and had no other help. The pool was far too deep and as I am not a strong swimmer I could only get in the shallow end to cool down, I wasnt able to swim. The food was good, what there was. They did not know how to compliment the dishes that they served. But the meat was fantastically cooked. There wasnt much choice, especially the desserts. The room was dissapointing, very basic. The beds and pillows were so hard, everyone was complaining about bad necks and shoulders. There was mould on the shower curtain and the shower was so powerful (I know this seems like a good thing) but it felt like it was taking a layer of your skin off. We were in a block outside of the hotel and our friends that we went with were on the ground floor. Their room was so dark and the walkway to it smelt of cats wee!!!! There was an incident when we were there and we were told by our tour rep that there is no security which was a shame for our kids as they had to stay closer to us.

Stathis at the pool bar was fantastic, he new your name within a day which made us feel very welcome. We also met some great people so something good did come out of this holiday!!!!

We were very dissapointed with this hotel, you wait a year for your holiday and expect a bit more than this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brolid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Me and 4 friends aged 17 years stayed at the Diana Place, after reading the reviews i expected we had to pay for air con and a safe which we needed but think thats no fair since we went on an all inclusive basis. However, the rooms were clean the pool area was great the only issue was is that the pool is VERY deep! The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The food gets boring as its usually the same for lunch, and dinner however the themed nights (Italian was good) the food was quite poor but we ate out in Argassi for a few nights and that was great! There is everything you need close by e.g. a great beach, bars, shops, restaurants and they are only a walk away! You can get a tourist train into Zante. Overall we had a great holiday the hotel was great for what we wanted but quite basic. And the enterainment at the hotel is great for young children not so much for adults.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlh186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

we went for a weeks holiday with 4 16 year olds....2 of our own who took a friend each. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, couldnt fault them, especially Bill the barman who became our eyes and ears at looking out for our kids - thanks Bill you were great and enjoyed our chats at thre bar !! The venue for our teenagers was great - very safe to let loose but close enough for us to find them we needed to. The only gripe I have is the lack of air conditioning in the hotel during such hot weather - we had restricted timed air conditioning in the room - which for a 4 star hotel is not acceptable and the hotel reception was just as hot if not hotter than outside! A great hotel for families and teenagers but if you are looking for a break as a couple then probably not the best place to go. Having said all this - all the kids enjoyed it and are hoping to go back again next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I have arrived in the UK today after holidaying at this hotel for 2 weeks and have to say I could not wait to get back home. I will give credit where it's due but will also point out the bad points to. Firstly I have to mention the staff, I cannot fault any of them in any way, they were friendly, obliging, always greeted us with warm words and a smile, nothing was too much bother, that was the positive side to the holiday but, there were lots of negative points to. I have stayed in all inclusive hotels before and have to admit the others really would knock spots off this one. When we arrived at the hotel we were given a welcoming drink which was really refreshing and most welcome, we were stood at the desk waiting for our keys, the receptionist asked us if we required air conditioning, it was so hot you had to have it, hence a payment of 5 euros a day is required, then you have to pay for the safe to, so before we even stepped a foot in our room we had, had to fork out 100 euros!. Our room was in the hotel itself (I hasten to add after chatting to a few couples who were not in the hotel but had been put in the self catering rooms) I suppose we had to be grateful, but the room was very basic, a double bed which I found very uncomfortable to sleep on, the shower cubicle was so small you could hardly move around in it, the water soaked the floor every time we had a shower. In the description of the things available it says there is a mini bar in the room, dont know where that was hidden, there definately wasnt anything of the sort in our room, we did have a fridge and a hairdryer but that was it.
The bar closed at 11.00pm then drinks had to be paid for, never have I been to an all inclusive hotel where this has happened. If you wanted a cocktail these had to be paid for to.
Whilst there my husband and myself booked 6 day trips and if it had not been for these I dont know what I would have done. I'm not the sort of person to sunbathe all day, and if this is what you want this holiday is for you because basically there is nothing for you to do at all. The evening entertainment was minimal, bingo, mr and mrs, family fortunes, greek evening every monday, karaoke, a beauty queen competition (for men) and that was about it, nothing worth writing home about. I could go on and on and on but I wont, I will just say that I was very disappointed with this holiday I had been looking forward to it all year and what a disappointment it has been. This hotel cannot be classed any higher than a 3 star in my book, thats all its worth.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This was our second time to Diana Palace. It's a lovely, clean, friendly hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpfull, nothings too much trouble. The pool is great, there are different activities throughout the day. and at night there is always something to do, weather its greek dancing or bingo!
There is always a good selection of food for everyone, & food is always available throughout the day & night.
Would deffinatley recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weston079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#7 of 27 in Argassi
252 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 27 in Argassi
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel
Filoxenia Hotel
#6 of 51 in Tsilivi
950 reviews
2.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,210 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana Palace Hotel

Property: Diana Palace Hotel
Address: Argassi | Zakynthos, Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
#2 Family Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diana Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diana Palace has a superb location in one of the finest and cosmopolitan area of Argassi. It is situated only 3 km from Zakynthos town, 5 minutes walking from Argassi beach and moments from the finest Vasilikos beaches. Everything you expect from a contemporary hotel, but with a unique personal character. Offering an interior of 120 spacious hotel rooms and mature gardens on the outside where palm trees lead down will make your holidays relaxing and worry free. For those who like to get out-and-about, the charming area of Argassi is well worth a visit. The hotel, with its friendly service and loyal staff, offers every comfort and facility for guests of all ages, to ensure the idyllic holiday that brings our guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diana Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Palace Argassi
Diana Palace Hotel Argassi
Diana Palace Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing