We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apart from the food”
Review of Diana Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diana Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Had a lovely week at this hotel. A great welcome, good rooms and well kept grounds. Our only criticism would be the food. We were all inclusive and as the catered for mainly Brits, we expected food more in keeping with British tastes. The food consisted mainly of Greek dishes such as cheese pie, vine leaves, meat and cheese pie and salad. The afternoon snack was pretty much all Greek food. Meat seemed to be hard to come by. We enjoy mediterranean food but not all day every day.
The people we overheard who had visited last year said the food was a lot better, this year they had eaten out most days.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraceyH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

HelloTraceyH1972!

Thank you so much for spending some of your valuable time to add your review on Diana Palace! We are very glad you had a nice time with us and we thank you for your positive feedback. With regards to your comments about the food i would like to inform you that our lovely Chef ( Sakis) was working with us last year as well with exactly the same menu. It sounds surprising to me that some guests think the food was better last year. The only thing we have added was an extra theme nigh with Chinese food. Yes, i must agree with you that our menu mostly covers Mediterranean and Greek food, but this is something our guests ask as they love Greek cuisine. Every Sunday night we do roast beef during our dinner as we know this is what most of our British guests like. One thing that distinguish us from other all inclusive hotels is that our Chef is not in the kitchen. During dinner he is always in our dining room talking with our guests and make sure everyone is happy. If there is a special dish request from any guest he is very happy to cook it on the spot no matter. Our aim is always to have happy guests with full stomach.. I hope that you had the chance to meet Sakis or Marcos our restaurant manager and they took care of you as you were expecting.
If you wish to come and visit us in the future, you just have to tell us what you like to eat and the next day you will have it on your table. We hope we will have the chance to have you in our home again. Thank you very much for your time. Have a great time back home and take care of yourselves. Love from all the staff and family at Diana Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Please do not build your hopes up for what appears to be a fantastic hotel. We made a booking on the back of the great reviews at the start of March this year for a ten night stay on 18 June 2012. We paid extra for a premium room only to be told yesterday that the hotel is overbooked. The explanation given was that the suppliers and hotel take more bookings than available and hope for cancellations to ensure full capacity. This has left me and my girlfriend in a position where there are no hotels available at a similar standard, with the only resolution being a refund of the accommodation. We are unable to refund our flights, and all hotels are now booked.

So whilst the hotel does look fantastic, they're greed to ensure all rooms are full leaves you with a distinct possibility of your booking being cancelled at the last minute.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Hello Mr Christopher.

First of all i would like to express my frustration with regards to the bad experience you have faced. I would like you to assure you that in our hotel the term overbooking does not come along with our philosophy and our way of working. We feel appreciation for guests choosing our hotel and we respect the fact that all are anticipating for a summer break after long hour of work during the winter.

For you information, when we see that our hotel is very close to reach 100% occupancy we have a way to avoid stop sales proactively and we send to all tour operators stop sales so as to block future booking for specific dates. After we send stop sales, all tour operators have to stop selling our hotels through their distribution.

Please believe me that this is no excuse. When we do mistakes we own them and we do our best to improve ourselves and this is reflected to all of our management responses on TA because we do care about our guests.

Below i am explaining how all happened. Please note that for what we mention we have written documents in detail at your disposal. The story is as following:

- Until the first of May when our hotel opened we did not have your booking, although we had several bookings in our hands. Some of them were made even a year before. Yours was not included in our list.

- As we always act proactively, taking in consideration that our Occupancy was dramatically increasing for June, we emailed Youtravel tour operator ( the one you booked with), with a stop sales for 17-24 June. The stop sales email was send on the 11th of May. Youtravel confirmed our stop sales email on the 11th of May ( the same day).

- On the 15th of May, Youtravel sent us your reservation for June. That was the first time we came across with your booking.
( this is the part that i start wondering)

- We directly send them an email explaining that we cannot accept this reservation because we have done a stop sales on the 11th of May which was confirmed by them. ( in this part i am convinced that there is a big gap of communication between the departments of Youtravel).

- They did not reply to our email.

- On the 23rd of May, we received a new rooming list and you name was in it. We directly replied for a second time that we are not able to accept this reservation as we were fully booked and there was a stop sales sent on the 11th of May.

- On the 24th of May Youtravel replied, asking us to help them find alternative accommodation for you.

- On the 25th of May we replied the following: '' According to the below reservation, as an alternative, in order to help you with this issue, we can suggest you or sister hotel Filoxenia in case you decide to move the particular guests. This reservation is not our overbooking as you have been informed for a stop sales on time. so we would appreciate if you send us a new reservation for Filoxenia after you inform the guests.''

- On the same day ( 25th of May), Youtravel replied that as soon as they have an answer they will get back to us and they thanked us for our help.

- They never got back to us.

- on the second of June 2.39 pm we received a cancellation of your reservation. Although that your initial reservation as you said was made on the 30/03/2012, we saw that in the cancelation details the booking date was on the 02/06/2012. ( This sounded strange to me and i thought that you should know).


So, this is how the story was. Please note that there are documents of prove that confirm all the above. The best thing we could do, was to suggest an alternative accommodation in our sister hotel and i am sure you would have a great time there. Filoxenia has perfect reviews and a certificate of excellence from TA and i wish we could have you there as guests. I am wondering why Youtravel did not suggest you Filoxenia as an alternative as it is equal to Diana Palace and there was availability for June.

What i suggest to everyone who faces any kind of bad customer service, is to contact your hotels directly to cross check if the information given to you by the travel companies are true. Unfortunately, in your case, the travel company ( Youtravel) was the one who gave a bad customer service. I would suggest TripAdvisor to have a section where guests could rate customer service of all travel providers and not only hotels. It would be a great help for us if could inform us who gave you the false information that your have been overbooked by our hotel.

As i am not aware if you will visit us and where your accommodation will be, i will be glad if you come at Diana Palace for a drink so we can meet you in person. If you need any kind of assistance please feel free to contact me. It is always a pleasure to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

As members of Steve and Kerry's wedding party we could not leave without writing this review.

The Diana Palace certainly lives up to it's name.
As soon as you enter reception until the day you leave you are indeed treated like royalty.

The Hotel staff are truly amazing and we cannot praise them enough.
On arrival everyone is greeted with complementary drink and most of all a warm and genuine welcome from Katerina and Gina then taken personally to you room not being left to find it yourself.
This level of service is reflected throughout the whole of the complex , the restaurant staff are always on hand to assist and nothing is to much trouble special thanks to Marcos and George. also thank you to Stathis and Illias at the poolside bar.

Once again many thanks for a memorable time

Ron and Pauline

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Hello Ron and Pauline!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Diana Palace! Please allow me to express our appreciation to you for giving a special credit to our staff. It makes us really happy that you had a wonderful time with Steve and Kerry and the rest of your friends. It is a great honor for us to have such guests in our home and we hope that your visit is a beginning of a wonderful friendship. I always say that nothing makes the world so spacious as to have friends at a distance.

Please know that the doors of our home are always open for you and your family. We hope that we will have the chance to see you again in our beautiful island. Until that day, take care and have some good fun at home. Love and hugs from all the staff and family at Diana Palace! xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Having just returned from our first trip to the Greek Islands we were a little sceptical before going because of all the financial worries with in Greece, this was dispelled fairly quickly once we arrived at "Diana Palace", we went into the reception the only 2 guests being dropped off there from our birmingham flight to a really friendly welcome by the reception staff who spoke great English giving us a drink and showing us to our room following check in. Our room was spacipious and clean with a balcony overlooking the bottom pool and a small stretch of sea that had Kefalonia on the horizon, the twin beds we found very comfy resulting in a great nights sleep, the bathroom whilst a little tired would have benefited from a facelift but was very adequate for our needs with plenty of hot water. The restaurant in the 10 days we were there constantly provided a variety of great food to suit all preferances at evening meal and lunch time, Soup, salad bar, hot food which generally consisted of 2 meat dishes, a fish dish, pasta dishes, Greek dish and 3 or 4 sweets. Breakfast always was as good with great selections on continential style, along with Cerials, freshly fried eggs which were always perfect with nice runny yolks, bacon and all that you would expect for a full English breakfast (no hash browns)
The pool area and bar was lovley to relax and take a welcome cooling swim with a pool bar that provided a great selection of all inclusive drinks and ice creams for the kids, the day time games and activities were ok but we did not generally get involved with these so it would be unfair of me to comment. The evening entertainment programme was by no means the best that I have experienced but likewise was not the worst either, the entertainment staff worked hard to please and should be complmented on this.
The Bar staff and restaurant Staff were all superb and was always so welcoming and friendly it made our holiday, it is not possible and would be unfair to pick out individuals by name but you wont be disappointed with them as they always will go that extra to make your holiday complete helping the less able bodied through the buffet service and back to tables etc bringing drinks to your table or sun bed if you wanted them too.
A fab holiday location too with easy access by bus, car, scooter or quad to beeches and the sea, we hired a quad for 2 days for 30 euros which we got around on with ease.
We will be back at some stage.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Hello andinann!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Diana Palace! It makes us very happy to see that you had a great time with us and we feel honoured for your kind comments. Your feedback is very important to us as i see that you have travelled to quite a lot of places and your experience is of high importance. On behalf of our staff i would like to express our appreciation to you for sharing your holiday experience and for giving such praise to our lovely staff. Please know that this is the biggest reward they can ever have from our guests and a great motive to keep on doing what they love. Making our guests happy and sharing their smile and friendship.
Well, that was just a note to say a thank you from our heart. We hope we will have the chance to see you back again in the future. Our doors are always open for you, your family and friends. Until we meet again, stay safe and take care of yourselves. Sending love from all the staff and family at Diana Palace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I strongly recommend this hotel. What a fantasic time we had. It was the best All inc hotel for food as there was such a good variety. The staff were excellent they couldn't do enough to help. Our thanks to Marcos and Neetu Husband and wife Waiting staff who looked after us at meal times.Dennis the chef top marks. Stathos Illias and Vassilis the bar staff were really very friendly and they made sure they looked after the children when they went to the bar for their soft drinks.And a big huge Thank you to Zanna and cissi the entertainments team who mkept the children and adults entertained day and night.Some of the Guests were very miserable as two couples sat at the front of the pool and my grandson was swimming and they told him off for splashing (what a joke) and another old misery told him off for treading on her foot as he would mess her nails up. so that made us on edge for the rest of our holiday. They should have gone adults only hotel instead of a family hotel.

Everyone must go there

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shonky40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Hello shonky40!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Diana Palace hotel. Please allow me to express my appreciation to you on behalf of all the staff and family for your very kind comments about them. This is the greatest reward we can have and we promise to keep on making our guests happy by doing the best we can. We are very proud for each one of them!
I hope that this incident in the swimming pool did not influence the overall experience of your holiday. Our home is always open for all ages and we never have faced any problems with children and adults. We have two swimming pools available and our guests can have the spot they need at anytime. During May we accommodated 70 pensioners from the UK and they had a great time with the rest of our guests including children. I suppose that you can meet people you do not cope with wherever you are and i think that was just an incident. I hope that your grandson had a great time in the swimming pool and i am sure that Zanna and Cissi were there for him to share their laugh and love.
Well, that was just a note to say a big thank you for making us smile with your positive comments. We hope that we will have the chance to see you back again with us in the future. Our home is always open for you, your family and friends. Until we meet again, stay safe, have a great time back at home and smile! Love from all the staff and family at Diana palace hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Arrived back from Diana palace on the 22nd of May and have just booked our next trip here for September. We had a pool view and can not fault the room at all, always kept very clean and tidy. The food was not always the best but there was always quite abit to choose from and the chef George was always willing to cook up something different if you did not like what they had to offer. All the Bar staff were amazing and were always pleased to see you. Big thankyou to Cissi,Zanni and Andy for keeping us entertained with Bingo! Vassilis at the main bar always greeted you with a smile and was always willing to help and a big thankyou for my Birthday Champagne!!!. I can not think of any faults to this hotel and I would reccomend this to anyone who is thinking of taking a trip to Argassi. We are very much looking forward to getting back here! x

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Hello Zara!

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Diana Palace hotel. We are super happy that you had a great time while holidaying with us. We are looking forward to have you back with us soon! It feels so great to see familiar faces around! Roll on September!

Please allow us to express our appreciation to you for giving a special credit to our wonderful staff! They are our shinning stars and we are very proud of them for making you feel so welcome!

Well, that was just a note to say a big thank you for your kind words. Until we meet again, have fun back at home, stay safe and smile because September is very close! Love from all the staff and family! xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

With the exception of t cooks check in system at man air it was a good flight arrived at the palace nice frontage right in the middle of the village plenty of bars and tavernas to keep you happy rossis next door is an Aussie owned bar good food and reasonable prices the legend for a Sunday dinner awesome.We were met at the reception by katrina and her fellow reception with a friendly smile and a cocktail shown to our room 416 a 2 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen if required.The star of the hotel has to be the staff ,from the reception girls and vasillias the lobby barman and of course Lisa who with vas joined in with the Greek night.the pool bar man stat his is without a doubt the best hotel barman I have ever met a local guy who will tell you the history of Zante and the best places to go with the memory of the proverbial elephant.in the restaurant Dennis the head chef is so involved with the guests he comes around ever day to make sure you are happy and th see if you would like him to make a special meal he made a pastisio for us (my favourite meal) which was perfection ,the rest of the staff were faultless George a great guy and now a friend Marcus and his lovely wife (good luck with the baby) 2pools top pool with a bar and plenty of shade with seating undercover with Jodie to look after you hope you are better now the lower pool is better for families with a slide and table tennis and shallower a kids pool at both pools .from the cleaning staff to the entertainment team the staff make this a fabulous holiday I could probably write a book on the palace but I won't best wishes to Jeanette and tim great company the only disappointment was hiring a car which is cheap and driving to view shipwreck cove only to find the viewing point closed so you could not see the cove but the view was stunning all in all fantastic holiday made by katerina and her staff we will be back next year cant wait

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank milikman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina-dianahotels, Manager at Diana Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Hello milikman!

Thank you so much for spending some of your valuable time to add your review on Diana Palace. First of all, i would like to tell you that you do not have to write a book about us! I am believe that if i print out your review it is going to become a best seller itself! To tell you the truth i did print it out to show it to all of our staff but they anyway hang out right here as they like reading our guest’s comments. I must personally thank you for your kind comments. They come from the heart and this is very important for us. We feel very proud and happy when we know that our hospitality makes our guests smile and going back home with such wonderful memories. Thank you so much for mentioning each member of our staff and taking the time to express your feelings about them in a few lines. Be sure that we can also read between the lines and what we see there is that you are a wonderful person and we are proud to have such guests in our home. Please know that our doors are always open for you, your family and friends. It will be a honour for us to have again with us and we promise that you Pastitsio will be waiting on your table! Until we meet again, stay safe, and keep smiling. Life is always wonderful! Love from all the staff and family! xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
780 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel
Filoxenia Hotel
#8 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,039 reviews
1.9 mi away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 26 in Argassi
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana Palace Hotel

Address: Argassi | Zakynthos, Argassi 29100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
#2 Family Hotel in Argassi
Price Range: $112 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diana Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diana Palace has a superb location in one of the finest and cosmopolitan area of Argassi. It is situated only 3 km from Zakynthos town, 5 minutes walking from Argassi beach and moments from the finest Vasilikos beaches. Everything you expect from a contemporary hotel, but with a unique personal character. Offering an interior of 120 spacious hotel rooms and mature gardens on the outside where palm trees lead down will make your holidays relaxing and worry free. For those who like to get out-and-about, the charming area of Argassi is well worth a visit. The hotel, with its friendly service and loyal staff, offers every comfort and facility for guests of all ages, to ensure the idyllic holiday that brings our guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diana Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Palace Argassi
Diana Palace Hotel Argassi
Diana Palace Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing