We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Reviewed June 17, 2012

went there this summer, because it was so last minute and for the price it was a very good deal. Entertainment every night was great, local community very friendly! food didnt vary but was still always good, and the staff always friendly! it was my first trip to greece but for a first trip they made it amazing! its better to go half board then all inclusive or else you'll be stuck in the hotel every day! i loved commodore and Zante!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fashionade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 117 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have been in Commodore hotel in 2011 August. Originally I have booked a room in hotel Admiral but after I have paid the money, I have received a call from the agency, that they
are really sorry but a mistake happened, there are no available rooms in hotel Admiral. So they said they can only offer a room in hotel Commodore, which is placed on the same property, maybe the rooms are a bit more simple, but the food, pools...are all the same. As we did not have any other choice we agreed to go to Commodore...unfortunately.

This hotel is terrible. When we first saw our room, we nearly started crying. There were no space in the room, we had only the bed, no wordrobe...nothing to put my clothes out...and the bathroom...OMG...that was really nusty. We tried to spend all the time out of the room.
The other problem was the quality of the foods and drinks. We paid for an all inclusive package...but what we have received was garbage. The food was always the same and for drinks you could choose from 3 types of local beverages which were contains min. 50% sugar or even more.

If you would like to spend your holiday within "normal" conditions, try to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kollaragi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Booked here with only 5 days notice, so very last minute. so for the money we paid we had no complaints. up quite a steep hill but u get used to it. Rooms were fine. Clean enough. Would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

my fiance and i have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Captain-commodore complex (5th - 15th sept 2011) and we were slightly worried at the reviews on here (or lack of recent ) before we went we needent have worried apart from the wait when we arrived (4 hours) as nowhere on my paperwork or when i booked it was i told we would have to wait til 12 till check in so we settled our selves outside in the sun after a little look around it looked quiet nice from what we could see.The good thing with it being a complex is you get 3 hotels to choose from they all do breakfast so you dont need to leave your hotel as stated in the hotel description but the commodore doesnt do lunch or dinner so you have to go to the captains ~(which is only up some steps) or down the hill to the Admiral (which we prefered the pool) and the Admiral is where the evening entertainment is anyway so it makes sense to have dinner there we thought. the food was better at the Admiral and the pool was nicer too you can help yourselves to fizzy drinks and juice and water so you only need a bar tender for beer or stronger and you could go inside and get coffee yourself too.The only problem we founf was the all inclusive drinks are not as stated in the description all they had spirit wise were house vodka, bacardi,brandy,ouzo and another clear spririt that could've been gin we werent sure, there was no peach snaps or dark rum or even honey rum as stated in the description we were given but if you asked the barstaff to mix you a cocktail they would throw something together for you and this was usually nice (as with all cocktails its hit n miss whether you like it or not!)
We spent alot of time down at the magic mushroom at the end of the street which had lots of drinks to choose from and the 24/7 bar is good for food with good prices too!
We went out for a nice meal on our last night(we had eaten out previously throught choice because the hotel food was lovely with plenty of variety we just wanted the experience of eating out) we went to a restaurant called palmyra and can recommend the T-Bone steak it was pretty much half a cow and only around 17 Euros well worth it the guy peddling outside wasnt too pushy he was very polite and this is why we choose this restaurant and we weren't dissapointed the setting was lovely and so was the food.
Our room was a family room which meant it had a separate bedroom but it had 2 beds pushed together as expected but the were big heavy wooden frames which left a big gap in the middle, we figured out the beds in the living room/kitchen didng have such bulkt frames so we pushed those together and were then in the same room as the aircon it made more sense to us.Just to let you know the bathrooms are small and the shower heads are only over the bath shower heads not power showers but we managed just fine im a shower lover and my partner loves baths the only problem he had was the bath is vvery deap but not long enough to stretch out in.
The only major problem we had with the hotel was NO LIFTS im not a moaner but we were on the top floor and had a 4 hour wait to check in with a case each and we got no help from a 'porter' (i dont think they had one) and the stairs are a tough slog when its hot hot hot and even harder when your tired on a night ! but this is my only complaint, the staff work very hard and if your nice to them they are nice to you (which is the case everywhere i think) so all in all we had a great time very relaxed, rooms clean,food good,hotel lovely,great location there was even a heatwave while we were there the temp was forcasted at around 28 degrees and it hit 35-40 we were chatting to some local ex-pats who live there and even they said it was too hot to do anything!!!
I recomend you take the free bus down to the beach but remember its slightly more expensive down there ( not crazy prices but more than the shops)and there's nowhere else to go just a lazy day at the beach we had fun on the jetski's and a cheeky cocktail at the bar it was a scorcher of a day too !
I also recomend the aqua village waterpark me n my fiance had a blast food n drink was cheap and there are photographers who come round n take pics then twice a day they put them all up on a display boeard for you you purchase 3 euros each and a free A4 when you buy 5 bargain we thought!!
So to sum up please dont believe the bad reviews we are a normal hard working couple who went for a relaxing holiday with some fun which we got at a nice hotel with friendly staff so judge for yourself but give it a go we didnt want to come home :-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Red303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I have done other reviews on this hotel over the years. Here is the review from this years holiday. I have just returned from a stay at The Commodore . The reasons I have given this Hotel such a low score are many and varied so i will be as precise as I can. my main reason for going into so much detail is because i have visited Zante 6 times in the last 7 years. Always the same resort of Argassi and always either the admiral 5 times and the commodore this one occasion. Xenos hotels are ruining the resort of Argassi. The three hotels Commodore being one of them are now all inclusive and have been from what i can ascertain for about 3 years of the 6 i have stayed in them. Such a small resort like Argassi relies on self catering customers to buy from the shops and eat in the tavernas. The Commodore is now full of Eastern Europeans drinking till they fall over and whom in the main were rude and loud. Dont misunderstand me I love mixing with people from anywhere and everywhere but this hotel is like 18 to 30s for the people from the likes of Russia . If you want to use this hotel as a pure and simple base not use any of the facilities including the pool then it will serve this purpose well. For my own stay I was disapointed after a late night flight to have to wait a further 3 hours till our room was ready. We had no kettle in our room , only one knife one fork and one spoon but one enormous Pan!! Not too sure what we were expected to cook with that!! Thank goodness then for Yanni the night porter who has been there for 23 years and whom i know well. having spoken to him he feels the hotel has gone so far down he couldnt wait to retire!!! Previous years where there were a larger contingent of English and where for the main it was self catering brought a good atmosphere to the place his words not mine!! The rooms are basic so dont expect 5 star luxury but hey come on Greece is an awsome country and Zante one of the best. No kids facilitys to speak of but maids do clean the rooms well and frequently. If you are considering booking to go there dont go all inclusive and you will be fine and you will also be doing a great favour for the buisness in Argassi who now really struggle. Argassi has some brilliant places to eat and its the law to eat at Zorbas just on the main strip at the bottom of the hill. If you fancy english quizs and karaoke take a walk past zorbas and further past Molly malones to The Green Frog and see big Al what a hoot this chap is. Dont be put off by me review i love Zante but just hate it when large corporate companies get it so wrong making changes to places and things which effectively did not need changing only improving further. I for one have finally admitted defeat and wont stay at any of the Xenos hotels again but will explore other hotels that value the custom from those taking there once yearly trip to this awesome island of wonderful hard working people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jessydoggys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

After reading tonnes of reviews before going, myself and my 9 friends (all aged 18) were not looking forward to our stay at the Commodore. "Fit for animals" is the review that had best stayed in our minds. On arrival we were greeted by a dazed looking member of staff as 10 teenagers descended on the hotel at gone midnight (due to a delayed flight) but within 10 minutes we all had keys to our rooms. Once inside the room we were surprised at how nice they were. Basic, yes, but so much better than we had expected. The rooms were cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis and the cleaners were always very thorough in tidying up the mess we left. The room was cool and breezy and fitted our exact needs. The shower was powerful and hot, the beds were very comfortable and the kitchen facilities were there if needed. The pools were always clean, the staff always friendly and willing to help. Sun-loungers were easy to reserve and as much as there were a lot of Eastern Europeans, as a group of 18 year olds we did not feel intimidated or unwanted at the hotel due to this. The views from this hotel were breathtaking and as a very unfit teenager I can safely say, THE HILL IS NOT STEEP. Overall we has an amazing time at the Commodore. The barman Cody made our pre drinks before nights out a complete laugh and we felt welcome in every way. The food became very boring after a few days but it was to be expected from an all inclusive deal. Do not be put off of this hotel by bad reviews!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vzante11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

paid for ALL INC. ,the room had cooker sink ect. more a self catering room,two people could not get into the bathroom at the same time, the shower was a shower head on the wall and a shower tray & no curtain every time it was used it flooded the place.the smoke alarms in the room bleeped every two minutes as did the one in the corridor,for the whole week , it was reported and nothing done. the food was edible, but mostly the same every day.every where you went it was up & down steps as the whole complex was built on the side of a hill.The star official star rating on the back of the door was 2 star,but Olympic Hoildays advertised as 3 star.The staff were very distant and not very friendly. I would not recommend it..

Room Tip: Try to see room before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Admiral Argassi
Hotel Admiral Argassi
#18 of 26 in Argassi
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captains Hotel
Captains Hotel
#10 of 26 in Argassi
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsilivi Admiral Hotel
0.0 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#7 of 26 in Argassi
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Price Range: $92 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Argassi
Commodore Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing