We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Katerina Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Myself and my partner and our 2 year old daughter stayed at this hotel from 31st May - 11th June and was our second consecutive visit to Zante having stayed in Tsilivi last year. We found everything about this hotel to be excellent from the moment we landed where reception staff greeted us outside reception to take us to our room so we didn't have to climb the steps. We stayed in room 323 which was a family room and very spacious, with a small balcony with a very nice view over the sea. There were two main pools and a childrens pool which were all really nice, the top pool was more lively with easy access to the pool bar which played music. The bottom pool was more for relaxing away from children and noise etc. The childrens pool was excellent for our 2 year old daughter who didn't want to come out. We found the pool bar very good throughout our holiday, the staff were fantastic and the food was as nice as you would expect in the restaurant especially the jacket potato with chilli which was 4.50 euro and was enough to feed two people for a snack, the hotdogs were also large and were priced at 3 euros the only downside is the soft drinks are a bit pricey at 2 euros a can. To be honest we bought soft drinks from the shop and nobody commented and were cheaper than the pool bar at 60 cents a can.In the early evening the bar staff swap over and george runs the show serving cocktails between 6-8 at 3 euros after 8 the price goes up and the pool side bar then closes and the inside bar opens. George is an outgoing character and makes your time around the bar very amusing and he definately likes the ladies! HAHA. We stayed bed and breakfast and we considered it to be good enough, breakfast is served in the conservatory/breakfast room but we ate outside by the bar as it can get quite hot and was easier with our daughter. The breakfast consists of coffee, tea, orange and cherry juice, a range of jams, honey, butter, nutella, greek yoghurt, muesli, chocolate cereal and cornflakes but the bowls for cereal are tiny! There is also ham, cheese and boiled most days however a couple of times a week there is scrambled eggs or baked beans and sausage, also bread rolls and sliced bread that you can toast .If you are a fussy eater you may not think its the best but we ate there everyday for 10 days. There was a kids play area with slides, swings and see-saw it wasn;t brilliant but our daughter enjoyed it. There is a maintenance guy on site, i don't think he ever slept he was always there first thing in a morning and last thing at night, mowing lawns and watering the plants, the gardens and foliage in this hotel are absolutely beautiful.The owner of the hotel Katerina was at the hotel almost everyday shes a lovely lady, short bobbed hair and glasses. She makes sure her guests are 100% happy. She also rents the restaurant at the bottom of the complex called piccadilly, you can 10% discount here if you pick up a card from the reception. The food here is lovely we had the pork souvlaki and lamb kleftico which were very good portions and cost between 7 - 9 euros, average meal was around 25 with wine. You can hire a fridge if you are bed and breakfast for 3 euros per day and also a safety deposit box at the same price. You can pay for air conditioning but we didn't need it however on our last few nights it was getting very warm. Argassi itself is a lovely resort with a very small beach/ non exsistent but this is made for by an array of beach bars, the best being remezzo in our opinion, the staff in that bar can't do enough for you, there is free padded sunbeds, pool table and swimming pool here, the food and drinks are lovely. Some of the best restaurants we can recommend are ethnic (best for meat), zorbas ( huge portions) but you have a book a table if you eat between 7.30 - 9.30 as its so busy, castaways roof top restaurant is also very good. Jungle bar is a good place to go for a nice drink with very friendly staff especially John who is down to earth, Avalon ( the castle) and magic mushroom seem to be the places to go for a lively evening and beer academy where drinks were cheap ie a pint of mythos and a glass of wine for 4.50. It has good music, big screens/sports, and pool tables, this is only a stones throw from katerina, it also has a childrens play area. There 24/7 snack bar which is next to beer academy which also does very nice food and is actually open 24 hours a day. Overall this was a very good holiday, it was the beach that let it down for us but everythign else made up for it and we would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ste_danni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    224
    96
    33
    26
See reviews for
119
348
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

This was our first time to Zante, we stayed from 4th June 2010 for a week at the Katerina Palace Hotel. We were self catering in the studio apartments.

On arrival to the airport, we were met with the slowest conveyor belt in the history of the world! It really was quite amusing. Once we had out luggage, we were met by our Thomson greeter, and bundled off onto a lovely air-conditioned coach.
Our coach only dropped off in Kalamaki and Argassi, so was around a 20-30 min journey. The Katerina Palace Hotel, was the last drop off, so we got to see all the other places, our Thomson rep on the coach was very informative and friendly.

On arrival to Katerina Palace, we were greeted by Katerina herself, who showed us to our studio apartment.
Your key fob activated the power in the room.
When you walked in, to the left was a sink, cupboards with self catering facilities in them (toaster, kettle, crockery and cutlery) and two hot plates. Two the right was the door to the shower room (shower, sink, toilet & the toilet paper bin). If you walked straight into the studio, next to the kitchen area was a double wardrobe with drawers under it, two chairs and coffee table, a dressing table with stool and drawers, two large single beds with bedside cabinets and lamps.
The room has an air-conditioning unit, which I believe you can pay 5 euros a day for, however we seemed to be a bit lucky, and the remote was left in our room, so we got it for free!!!
To go out onto the balcony you had to open some dark heavy curtains, open two wood and glass doors, unlock two shutter window type doors (lets air in, but no light), and then you can walk out onto what I thought was a very good sized balcony. It had a table and two chairs on it.
We looked out onto a small garden, the path/driveway into the side entrance of the hotel, more gardens then one of the hotel blocks.
Our studio had sun from morning to lunch, so was lovely to sit out in the early evening, watching the world go by.
If you require a safe, you can hire a safety deposit box, these are situated in the main hotel part, in reception. It cost us £15 for a week, which isn’t a lot for peace of mind.

The room was cleaned daily, which they have to really, due to the lack of flushing of loo paper!

The resort – Argassi – Brilliant place, quite during the day, and yet a nice about of hustle and bustle during the evenings. Plenty of places to eat and drink, we only ate in one place twice for an evening meal, and this was Zorbas, huge portions of food, and tasted wonderful.
We tended to eat breakfast at the 24/7 place on the corner of the main enterance to the hotel, the guy there is very friendly indeed. We ate one breakfast at Legends Sports Bar & Grill, very reasonably priced, but I personally missed my people watching, that I did in the 24/7 place!

Our least favourite place we ate as was Zeus, there was nothing wrong with the food at all, the service was as good as all the other places, but it just didn’t wow us. The food was well cooked, but just seemed average compared to the other places we ate at.
The Lamb Chops at Castaways restaurant are to die for (so says my partner).
The people in all the shops, bars, & restaurants are so very friendly, they remember you, always have a smile and a hello for you as you walk past.

The beach, now people keep saying there is no beach in Argassi.. hmmm well these people must be blind! Now in sections it is very very narrow, but at these spots there are usually a few bars with free sunbeds on grass.
In other places you have quite wide areas of sand (ok now white sand, bit builders sand like), we spent a fair amount of time on these none existent beaches, and had a fab time. We hired two sunbeds and a brolly for 5 euros all day, which we thought was pretty good, considering we were there from 11.30ish till around 6pm. The sea, well its very blue, very clear, and like walking into a luke warm bath! You can walk out really far, before you need to swim, I am guess this is another reason the resort it popular for families.

In summery, we loved the resort, the food and the drink. Katerina Palace – we will be going back, the location is perfect, the rooms are clean, the staff and owner are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crinklemaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke Heist
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

We liked this hotel, his management and staff, very much. This visit to Zakynthos(from 14 to 28 May 2010) was our first one. We travel at least twice a year to Greece. Always to different destinations. Mainland, islands of which some are more commercial than others. Zakynthos is beautiful. Argassi is a very commerical location, even in this month of May. Katerina Palace Hotel is a good place to stay. Do not worry about comments we read here about the breakfast. We do not complain about it at all. There was cheese, ham, eggs, cereals, greek youghurt, fruit, cake, different jams, and honey to put in that nice greek youghurt..... There is a toaster for the bread. (I did not see that in all Greek hotels we visited over the years). We changed ou original planning to stay on Zakynthos for one week and than to go by ferry to the mainlaind (Kyllini) into two whole weeks on the island. Like I said before we have seen many of them all around the Ionian, Egean and the Dedocanese but Zakynthos was a nice surprise for us. There are no old buildings because of the very heavy earthquakes in recent time. But nature is very lovely. We hired a car for 2 weeks to see as much as possible of Zante. There are very nice views. The people working at the pool bar, the reception, and also the management are all very kind. The room was spacious, the balcony not very big but we had a table and chairs. The guests of the hotel during the 2 weeks we were there, were almost all English.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerdavde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

My partner and I with another 2 couples stayed at the Katerina Palace (on a Bed and Breakfast basis) from 18/5 to 25/5. We cannot fault the hotel in anyway. The Hotel is situated near to the shops, restaurants, etc but far enough way not to be noisy. The rooms are basic but very clean, continental breakfast is very adequate and plentiful, the pool and grounds are immaculate. . The staff are very friendly and the owners are seen around the place on a regular basis. Most people we spoke to have been coming to this hotel for many years so that really says everything. We, ourselves, will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnSkegness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

we stayed self catering in a studio for 2, lots of space and very clean. over looking the pool area. the reception staff were lovely and the pool bar staff were very quiet but very nice and efficient. the surrounding restaurants and cafes were excellent i would reccomend you all to try the local greek food its lovely. we ate greek for the whole 14 nights. and try as many different restaurants as possible. Ethnic is fantstic the chicken and lamd didn't sound that great on menu but was determined to try it and we went back there again it was so nice. then other good food came from Zorbas. the little pitzaria at bottom of katerina next to peter trip seller. was lovely. going right out of the bottom gate you come to legends. Costas owns that and he has been in argassi for over15 years. he does excellent value breakfasts.and lots of different entertaimnents in the evening. then further down the road is the green frog, we didn't eat there but had lots of fun there. they try to put entertainment on most nights or they keep you entertained. lovely people big Al and Alex. ten you have the jungle bar which is to the left at the bottom of the road. we learnt more about the island from john in there than the locals and he was from leeds. a good snack at lunch time can be had from the pool bar but sometimes we'd go the the 24/7 which is by the top gate. the Gyros there were lovely and such good value for money. i would go back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank track64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

This is a tipical Greek hotel very clean slightly basic.
There is the main hotel with a dinning room for breakfast ans also a smart bar.

There are two swimming pools with quite a lot of sun beds. The hotel as plenty of space with some lawns as well
The pool bar was very good you could buy snacks or just have a drink.

There is the Picadilly restaurant on the main road part of the hotel with 10% discount for hotel guests.

We were staying in one off the buildings which was mainly self catering. The room had a shower room and limeted facilities for making you own meals there was a fridge and a two ring electric hot plates toaster and a kettle also provided.

Also the hotel as two entrances Ideal. one on the main road and the main entrace is up one of the side streets

Unique Qualities: A very friendly hotel the staff are great.
There is money exchange, safe deposit boxes also at the reception

The Hotel is owned by Katerina who we saw quite regular.

Vere central to every thing.

Leave a Comment

Theme: Hotel

Phone: [--]
Directions: In the centre of Argassi
Website: www.katerinapalace.com/

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickracer077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

stayed in this hotel in the middle of september 2008, so just coming to the end of everything.
We stayed in a self catering apartment on the 2nd floor, over looking the pool area and the moutains behide.
Hotel was spotless, had a toaster, a small hob and various pots and pans although we just used the area for breakfast, nothing too fancy.
Only small problem i had was that when we used shower gel or shampoo in the shower if was left running for a long the bubbles and water would back up and flood the bathroom, but it was only our own soap bubbles not dirty water so not a real problem.
The location of this hotel is great, noticed on a few hotels on the drop off that the pool areas were very open to roads extra, this one wasnt, quite hidden away from the main Argassi street, but walk out of the gates and you in the middle of all the bars and clubs, which you can hardly hear from where we were in hotel.
plenty of stuff to do in Argassi, but nothing like Laganas, the Austrialian bar round the corner from the hotel does amazing cocktails, and so does the avalon bar (shaped like a castle cant miss it) the resturant and the bottom of the Katerina complex (cant remember they name, they popped a discount card under our door) do some good food, worth a try and even better with discount!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dotty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#11 of 29 in Argassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zakantha Beach Hotel
Zakantha Beach Hotel
#8 of 29 in Argassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papillon Hotel
Papillon Hotel
#5 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katerina Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina Palace Hotel

Property: Katerina Palace Hotel
Address: Argassi Resort, Argassi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Argassi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Argassi
#7 Family Hotel in Argassi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Katerina Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Katerina Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Katerina Palace
Katerina Palace Argassi
Katerina Palace Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing