We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Katerina Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here 10th to 17th Aug. Lovely hotel with lovely friendly staff. Rooms basic but very clean. Lovely pool and gardens. Did not stay at pool but always had drinks at pool bar on return from beach. Gregory (I think thats his name) great craic and thanks for all the shots~!! Lovely athmospere would definately stay here again. Top tip, hire quad bikes to see the Island. Found some lovely beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatsyWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 702 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and myself along with my 16 & 13 year old boys just got back from 2 relaxing weeks at Katerina Palace Hotel, we had 2 rooms on a B&B basis. First impressions on our rooms were a bit disappointing as they were a bit basic, especially with the portable tv's, But hey your on a Greek Island, not in a 5* on Park Lane overlooking Hyde Park. The main point is the rooms were clean, and beds were comfortable, and the pool's were large and clean, and the hotels no reserving sunbeds policy saved me getting up at the crack of dawn to get a good spot by the pool, the kids enjoyed spending most of the day in the pool. The pool bar/snack bar was very reasonabily priced considering its a hotel, and the food was great and tasty too. The staff were all extremely helpful and polite and couldn't do any more to please you, Especially the owner Katerina, who was always around everyday to help out or answer any questions we had, a big big thank you to Katerina as it was my sons 16th, and she kindly arrange for his bedroom to be filled with balloons and banners wishing him a happy birthday along with a birthday cake and a bottle of bubbly by the pool bar all compliments from the hotel and herself. The hotel is in an ideal location and we can't fault anything about it, lots of bars, snack bars and good restaurants all within a very short walking distance. Katerina also recommended a few great choices of restaurants which we tried on more than just one occasion both locally and in Zante town. The hotel also arranged a car for us to hire with a local company which includes full insurance with no excess whatsoever which allowed us to explore the island and see some amazing
places.

Would we return??? FOR SURE.
Would we recommend it to our friends??? Without a doubt!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Astakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just returned from a lovely relaxing two week stay at the Katerina Palace in Argassi. The hotel is in a fantastic location in the middle of Argassi but set back from the road so there is less noise. We were situated in the old building which contains the main reception, the room was well proportioned, clean and well maintained, the only downside was that there was only one plug in the entire room (fortunately I took an six plug extension lead). The balcony looked over the world mini golf behind the hotel (which is excellent for E5 an adult), but we had no noise bother from them at all throughout our stay.
The staff at the hotel are all really friendly and helpful, including Katerina who runs it who is always a presence, mucking in with the rest of the staff wiping tables, running reception etc. For two weeks we paid E172 for air conditioning, a safe and a fridge. We know a few people who tried to get through without air conditioning and then gave in after a few days, having been a rep in Zante in 2008 I know how essential air conditioning is! It got up to the mid 40 degrees some days and stays in the 30s overnight.
The breakfast is served 8am till 10am but if you're going out for the day on a trip or something you can ask for an early breakfast which we did when we went on the shipwreck cruise and were being picked up at 8:30am. Breakfast has fruit juice, coffee, tea, cereals, greek yoghurt, nuts, fruit, bread, toast, cakes, jams and marmalades. On occasional days there were sausages and beans or scrambled eggs.
There are three pools; a smaller shallow downstairs one, a larger one next to the pool bar and a toddler splash pool next to the larger pool. The first week we stayed down by the lower pool as when we went for breakfast at 9am there were towels on every single sunlounger up by the main pool, we too became part of the crew of having to put towels out before we had breakfast just to ensure we had somewhere to sit, there were families that ended up with no sun loungers. It was a nice relaxing quiet vibe down by the lower pool in the first week and a bit noisier up by the larger pool. You can only just hear the music from the pool bar upstairs so can listen to your own music and enjoy. In the second week the lower pool was noisier and we ended up being splashed a lot more by large groups of children playing about so we moved upstairs to the bigger pool, there were several days on this week that the sun loungers were all taken by 8:30am which was quite incredible but after a couple of days of this it slowed off again and there were sun loungers that were free all day. So i think it is entirely dependent on the guests who are around.The upstairs pool has a very deep end which is about 8 feet deep so be careful if you jump in the wrong end expecting to hit the bottom or be able to stand up! beautiful for cooling off though, particularly as it has a little ledge that runs all the way round that you can sit or lie on in about an inch of water. :-) (perfect with a book)
Be careful with your lilos and pool inflatables, if you buy any keep yours with you and take them to your room when you're done for the day. There are hotel ones available but there was one day when a guest refused to hand over a girl's lilo and he had four people trying to get him off it including the rep, hotel receptionist, manager and the girl herself. But don't be put off by this, it was an odd occasion. Majority of guests got on really well and there was a lot of chat amongst groups and play between families.
One negative was that the pool wasn't cleaned very often from what we could see, there was often things floating in it even first thing in the morning.
The receptionists are really helpful and helped us book a car to explore the island, there is also free wifi in the reception area which you can tell by the children all sitting there with their phones all glued to their hands checking facebook(!) :-)
There are some great restaurants in the area:
Dionysis - at the bottom of the hill turn right, or if you come out the bottom entrance of the hotel turn left. Make an amazing Zakynthian Lamb which I could eat forever, they also do a mean Souvlaki which comes out on a suspended stake.
Zorbas - Great family run restaurant, staff are really friendly and attentive. Fantasic Kleftiko in here. Not many tables though so either pre book or get there early. Particularly if you're travelling in a group.
Ethnic - down the hill turn right, on the left hand side. Amazing meat cooked on the spit here. Get here early, once the spit meat is gone it's gone. Most amazing roast chicken, my friend had the lamb rack and it was beautiful. Also very small but excellent, not open on a sunday though!
Simply Greek - down the hill turn right, on the right hand side. Might look empty from the front but that is because everyone is eating out back on the balcony overlooking the sea and the beach. Absolutely gorgeous at sunset.

Bad restaurant:
Premier - down the road on the right hand side. We tried it here and the food was pretty tasteless. The staff badger you for starters and deserts, and press you even when you refuse and when we asked for the bill we were offered more drinks which we refused and then they insisted on bringing out fruit. By that point all we wanted to do was leave.

Definitely go to the World Crazy Golf, it's E5 per adult but it's really well run and maintained, beautiful grounds and a lovely bar with free wifi. The Bar Academy bar next door to the hotel is very friendly and we were able to watch the olympics here. They also have pool tables here if you fancy a game.

We got the local free bus to St Nicks beach which leaves every day at 10:30am and comes back at 17:00. We paid E20 each to our rep and we got a ticket that entitled us to a sun lounger, umbrella, drink, lunch and a free banana boat ride. This was totally worth it, for a bed and a umbrella for the day it is E8 anyway, lunches are about E6-E10 euros and drinks were about E2-E4 euros so really we got the banana boat ride for free. The watersports are run by George who owns the whole beach, the restuarant and bar. They are really well organised and do photos for you and everything, highly recommend the fly fish!

As i said, i did work in Zakynthos (Alykanas) as a rep so if you have any questions about the island then don't be afraid to ask and will answer as best I can.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L87Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

stayed sept 2011 loved our stay there rooms very clean but basic but hey who wants to sit in their room all day two lovely pools great poolside atmosphere brilliant friendly staff good snack food poolside perfect location going back there august 2013

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeandjan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Katerina Palace. We were there for two weeks and in that time have no complaints at all. The breakfast was continental plenty of choice, cereals, boiled and,scrambled eggs, fruit, meats, Greek yogurt and honey, etc. Two nice swimming pools plenty of sunbeds and shades. Nice rooms which were cleaned to a high standard. the staff were all friendly and very helpful. A lot of the people we spoke to have been before. and like them we will be going back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elkedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Katerina Palace has everything you need for a great holiday. Katerina is very nice we met her several times over the holiday she always takes the time to speak to her guests. Gregory in the bar is friendly and kind, he is always there with a smile and a drink to keep you happy. The reception staff are always happy to help if you need more pillows, shampoo, books to read by the pool or anything else. Breakfast is okay although they could add more fruit and larger cereal bowls, maybe even a breakfast fry up once a week would keep it interesting as the selection is quite repetitive. The rooms are a good size, the bathroom is small. 3 swimming pools and a nice pool bar for salads, toasted sandwiches and cold drinks.

Room Tip: Try and request a top floor room for better sleep. Thin floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Katerina Palace had its pros and cons. Our room was spotless and spacious but balcony view was of a hedge :-(. on our first day my parter cut herself in the shower on the metal shower hose but in fairness it was sorted straight away once we reported it. After our first night i found i had trouble sleeping because of how humid it was in our room so i asked for the air con to be turned on, only to be suprised that i had to pay 50 euros.
Service was brilliant and the pool was great. we spent many nights staying up chatting to other guests at the pool bar.
The downside to the whole holiday was argassi itself. The guys trying to get you to eat in there restaurant are way too persistant and be careful walking the terrible paths of a night as there health and safety is non existent, Stray cats and dogs everywhere, the one place we eat at we were pestered by a dirty stray cat.
Then luckily 3 days left on our holiday, we decided to go to the bar called "Magic Mushroom" where i was stared at by a dozen teenage Greeks. 10 minutes later i was just stood there minding my own buisness when i was attacked round the throat by a guy. It was then apparant that these teenagers staring were infact the bouncers and they all jumped on this guy and dealt with him....later that night another British guy was hit over the head with a bottle once he found out hes phone was stolen by the Greek standing next to him.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wwfcJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#7 of 26 in Argassi
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 26 in Argassi
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papillon Hotel
Papillon Hotel
#4 of 26 in Argassi
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katerina Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina Palace Hotel

Address: Argassi Resort, Argassi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Argassi
#7 Family Hotel in Argassi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range: $38 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Katerina Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Katerina Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Katerina Palace
Katerina Palace Argassi
Katerina Palace Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing