We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Admiral Argassi
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Argassi
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Poor hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here in 2005 the hotel was not that great. In 40 degree heat our hotel room had no a/c we were told there was not other rooms available till the next week. So we had to unpack all our stuff and move rooms a week later! Very annoying! Rooms were very small even the family rooms and one double bed was in the kitchen! Room was also very dark! We did not eat there instead we went to captains hotel to eat dinner and breakfast which was lovely! The hotel pool is very small but then again so is the hotel :( toilets were very dirty but entertainment was good! :) hotel is in a good location :D

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    66
    53
    30
    44
See reviews for
103
77
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is quite nice and the room we had was very good. It was clean and modern with a large bathroom. Cleaners came every day, towels and sheets changed every third day. As mentioned in previous reviews the main customer base here are Polish, about 95% and the rest are Russian, English and a few Swedes. We never experienced any direct rudeness from these people as such ( again previous reviews) but when my wife and i said "Hello" or "Good Morning" we was just blanked out out completely. We did notice that they only spoke to those they were on holiday with and completely ignored anyone else, even their own countrymen.....very odd. We came to the conclusion that these folks are socially inept and are not sure how to behave or react to others. The staff here were fine, especially the Greek staff and Giotta, the lady at the snack bar was very nice and chatty even when inundated with people waiting to be served. The swimming pool was ok but got a bit crowded at times and unfortunately too close to the road, so there was quite a bit of engine noise at times from passing traffic. The food was not that good we are afraid to report. Small frankfurter sausages, beans, eggs and some sort of onion mush for breakfast??. Luckily we found cereals or yoghurt and honey instead. Lunch was chicken something, meat something, a quiche something and chips, there was also spag bol. That was always there, even in the evening. Dinner was much the same. The dining room was small and got very crowded with the inevitable barging in. And once the Poles all started talking at once it got really loud and it sounded like we was surrounded by angry wasps. So, despite paying over the top for All Inclusive, we ate out most days, just like the other Brits and Western Euro's we met here. Beer was ok, spirits limited, mixers poor and some kind of low life brand.. We found it best to get our own from the supermarket. Argassi itself... well its ok. By the look of it, it must have buzzed a few years back, but now due to All Inclusive hotels it seems the resort is slowly closing down as the Poles etc don't venture out that much it seems and the Brits and others are not going there because of them. Such a shame as there are some great eateries and bars there.
We do feel however that the British travel agents must know about these hotels and should tell their customers.
So Dear Reader if you would take advice from seasoned travellers, please don't do All inclusive when in Greece, you will only find Eastern Europeans in those hotels. There are many, many fine eating places and bars to be found and of course the fantastic Greek people who will make sure you have a great time.

Room Tip: If you must book this hotel go for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonScoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed on the Admiral / Commodore/ Captains complex before, so thought I knew what to expect. I knew it was a 'budget' holiday and so wasn't expecting 5 star treatment. However, good manners cost nothing! The hotel has certainly gone downhill over the last 3years. The attitude of many of the guests and the hotel staff was appalling, meal times resembled a cattle market and anyone hoping to utilise the 'all inclusive' facilities will be in for a nasty shock. This was one of 3 hotels we stayed in after marrying on the island in August 2013 (the two other hotels we stayed in, although still budget accommodation, were fabulous, clean & with friendly staff /guests). Some of our wedding guests purchased gifts for us which they left with reception staff to pass on to us as we checked in..... these were never received! We attempted to eat at the hotel on the first day only, but didn't attempt again. Only the English bothered queuing - everyone else simply barged through, the food was left out for long periods of time and uncovered with flies crawling over it. The pools were filthy (which didn't really affect us as the sun beds constantly had 'reserved' towels on them anyway so there was no chance of using the pools) and the majority of the staff were ill mannered, rude & bad tempered (the friendly young lady on the reception desk in the Admiral was the exception to the rule). The only positive comment I can make is that our room (in Admiral) was clean, bright and we received maid service daily. I hate to leave so many negative comments, but they are a true reflection of how i and 14 of my family felt.

Room Tip: Rooms in Admiral are better than in other parts of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fayejosie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Argassi hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the admiral hotel in argassi for one week In September . Obviously a lot quieter than in the peak summer months but everything was still in motion ie excursions etc. receptionist lady and theo the manager were always very helpful and did all they could for us ie change our rooms and give advice on the local area. Our rooms were cleaned daily and clean towels etc were also given daily. The pool in the admiral was right on the main road so didn't really use it that much so spent the days on the beach. Beach narrow but sandy and the water was warm and crystal clear. Entertainment ok not fantastic, was repetitive in the sense that every night there was a kids disco that played the same tunes every evening then you have a different part each evening then a disco that was done in the hotel foyer??? Would have been better in the actual disco hall I felt. Breakfast was nice. evening meals were excellent and had no complaints with the food. the drinks consisted of cheap fizzy drinks that were warm but then i suppose you could add ice if you wanted too , house red and white wine which had rather a twang to it in my opinion, no cocktails other than make your own, and the beer was lowenbrau beer which in my opinion would of been better if it was mythos or a choice of either. Went to the shop across the road for cans of mythos. Lots of polish/Russians who were nice enough but felt a bit of a loner being British. Overall hotel was nice and food was excellent. Drinks were ok but could have been of a better standar, but fulfilled out needs. Poolside snacks were nice, salads toasties, burgers and chips. The m

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

It is a very nice hotel: with lovely and helpful staff, clean ( room was tidy up every day), really good food ( breakfast were repeatable, but there was everything what you could have for breakfast, so I cannot understand why people complained about below...), quite good entertainment in the evening. We had no toaster or kettle in the room, although there was no issue for us as the bar in walking distance:), but there was a fridge. When booking it is worth to ask for a sea view. Quite nice swimming pool. Really good thing that visitors could use facilities of Captain ( beautiful view from restaurant and swimming pool area to sea) and Cammodore.

Argassi itself is nicer than other towns, although beach is not excellent.There are free buses to Banana Beach and walking distance to Zakhyntos. Taxi from airport cost 16 euro( no buses from airport)

We rent a car, so we visit other parts. Definitely worth to go Keri, Laganas ( Camao Island),
Porto Limnionas, Aristeon Olive Press & Museum, Agios Nikolas ( take a boat trip with Thediosis-15 euro to Blue Caves and Shipwreck). Moreover you can see another life on Zante, but be prepare that roads are narrow.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

After reading all the reviews I wasn't looking forward to the holiday but on arrival it was clear that these people must have nothing better to do than complain about everything. The hotel was fantastic, the staff were lovely, it was always clean and tidy. The food was what you expect from a 3* all inclusive. It wasnt amazing but you get what you pay for. I never went hungry. All the people complaining about the Eastern Europeans need to get over themselves, everyone deserves a holiday, people kept to themselves and they were welcoming when joining in with activities such as volleyball and kareoke.

Overall the hotel was very clean, the staff were excellent (if you are nice to them they are nice to you), the pool was small but never over crowded and there are three hotels in the chain whose facilities you can use all within walking distance. The food was good and the entertainment was also great, especially greek night. I have no complaints whatsoever.

The only issue is the beach, if you want a good beach the one down the road isnt great but there are buses running to other beaches.

Definitely a good choice for a budget holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katyc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

having had 2 weeks all- inc at the admiral hotel, we have mixed feelings about it all, The hotel itself was clean, thanks to the hardworking maids who worked all hours, our maid was lovely, rooms cleaned well everyday. Had no kettle and toaster in our room, and the beds were backbreaking. (cant have it all) The food was ok, the breakfast was catered predominantly for eastern European liking and very repetitive, how ever the lunch menu was varied and always found something we liked, evening meal was also repetitive and could have been more choice.
Most of the staff were great, very helpful and full of banter, especially the night porter YANI!!!,
YANI you are a legend.
Argassi itself is a lovely town, on a beautiful island, we hired a car to explore zante, and save money on the trips available, we came and went at our own leisure, CRACKING!!!.
beer academy is a top bar for watching sports and having a good old general time, as were other bars on Argassi strip.
we would definitely return to zante one day, but at a different hotel, hardly any English there, and some very rude eastern Europeans, the few English that were there we are sound friendly folk, had a ball, we made our own entertainment as the hotels was minimal, yet enjoyable.

Room Tip: TRANSFER TIP do not pay for transfers for the airport to Argassi as we paid £120 return, but late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
5.3 mi away
Tsilivi Admiral Hotel
0.0 mi away
Captains Hotel
Captains Hotel
#9 of 29 in Argassi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
4.0 mi away
Majestic Spa Hotel
Majestic Spa Hotel
#65 of 77 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Argassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Argassi

Property: Hotel Admiral Argassi
Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Argassi 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Admiral Argassi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Admiral Argassi Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing