We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveler rating
260
105
23
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
260
105
23
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plenty of sunbeds pool bar shallow area lack of storage space large pool rooms are basic next year central location bed apartment air con fantastic holiday brilliant location small kitchen two weeks for making our holiday restaurants and bars gyros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nicely refurbished hotel my room overlooked the pool. Very modern decor hottish shower. As mentioned in previous posts Argassi is quite touristy but the Papillon was an oasis of calm.Given a free drink upon arrival in the bar. As I was literally on a fly and flop holiday I sunbathed and went out for dinner most of the days. Constantina who served breakfast was lovely very smiley and keen. I have to say the breakfast was just ok. The hot food was good but only 2 cereals to choose from was very limiting. It would have been lovely to have had a fruit basket to choose from as opposed to random slices of fruit. Fruit juice well the orange juice was very watery. Considering their potential for a decent breakfast buffet please see what other hotels offer.
This was my only gripe the sun shone 6 days out of 7!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank ceciliawalker4253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papillonh2018, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ceciliawalker4253

Thank you for your stay and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are pleased that you liked our hotel and friendly staff. Thank you for bringing your breakfast feedback to my attention. We will strive to do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fully refurbished to a very good standard, spotlessly clean hotel with friendly staff.
Excellent pool and breakfast is OK.

But - you can hear everything through the bedroom walls, take ear plugs with you!

Also, we had three rooms between our group all on the ground floor garden area. The maids left my patio door unlocked on the first day, and for one of our group, their door was left open three times! Have suggested they let Jet2 know. We did tell management on first day, and they promised it wouldn't happen again!.So, if you are going to this hotel, ask for a room on first or second floor, just in case.

Went during quiet season, so was not too busy there, nice not to have children running around (sorry!)

It's a good hotel if you are a social person, like to meet people and chat. Lots of British people saying there. Easy to walk to the bars, not hilly and very close to the airport.

Argassi itself it quite touristy, full of restaurants that try and draw you in from the street and tacky tourist shops. There isn't much beach there or a promenade, you need to visit another village for a decent beach. If you want more of a Greek feel, go further inland, or to one of the smaller seaside resorts. Zacynthos itself is beautiful, do hire a car and explore!

Room tip: don't take ground floor as maids didn't always lock the patio door after them
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank linapinapw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papillonh2018, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear linapinapw

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the standard and cleanliness of our hotel.

In regards to the bedroom walls, all walls have been insulated. Please bear in mind that there will some occasions of noise as this is a hotel and a summer destination for our travellers that might make more noise than the usual. If this happens in the future please let reception know so we can talk to the room regarding this.

Furthermore, the safety and security of our guests is always a top priority for us. As you stated about the patio doors been left open came to our surprise as this has never happened before. Once you communicated this to us we made sure this wouldn't happen again in the future. These rooms on the ground floor have balconies with direct access to the green area, so a lot of customers find it convenient to walk in and out of the rooms through them instead of the main door. Having said that customers may leave the balcony doors open by mistake, which may be the case with your friend's rooms.

All in all such feedback can only help us improve so thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is definitely batting above it's it's star rating, just returned from a weeks stay and we had an amazing time. The hotels recent refurb is to a very good standard with nothing that we could fault. Amazing friendly staff from the cleaners to the owners and our room along with all other areas were kept spotless. Pool area is great with lots of space and a great bar area with reasonably priced drinks, Ody is a great guy behind the bar and he recognised me from 16 yrs ago when he worked at another Argassi bar. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice on offer. We were here at the start of the season so no need for aircon and sunbeds were always available.
All in all a great hotel that know's what's important to it's guests. We have been going to Argassi for 20 yrs, first time here but will definitely return

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank deano12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papillonh2018, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear deano12,

We are very pleased to hear you have left with such great impressions of our hotel. Thank you for staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

We stayed here last September (sorry for the late review) and also back in 2016. Wow wow and wow that is all I can say ! We like to change our destination every year but after staying here in 2016 we promised ourselves that we would return. The hotel back then was looking a little tired, however everywhere was always spotlessly clean and the staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful. We had one of our best holidays here way it be basic or not.
We had seen that the hotel had undertaken a revamp and booked again and sure enough we were not disappointed. It was like a different hotel looking so clean and bright. The staff as usual were amazing. Well a different destination every year has changed and we will return again this year for some Papillon therapy. Can not wait !!!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papillonh2018, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Simon J

What a great review!, We thank you kindly for your kind words and couldn't be more pleased to hear such guests leaving with such great impressions. We look forward to seeing you in the nearby future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

Thought would give this another chance but was again disappointed no amount to paint can change this. May be good for family’s wanting to spend time outside the apartments but wow not good at all. Would I go again.....mmmmmm no way.

Room tip: On your own perils
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kinky02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula S, Guest Relations Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2019

Dear kinky02,

First of all i would like to thank you for taking out the time to write your review. I feel that your review is quite vague so i would like to comment on a few things. Back in August 2017 you reviewed the Papillon and commented that you knew that Greece was basic and that the hotel needed some money spent on some updates. Now baring in mind that you stated that you were disappointed with your first visit you still decided to book to stay with us again.So as we value all of our guests comments and suggestions and take them very seriously and always have done (many repeat guests will vouch for this), we decided to update and the hotel went under MAJOR renovation work to the point of taking the buildings back to a shell. We completely turned both blocks of rooms around including new walls new floors, new balconies,new bathrooms,new decor, one block even has their balconies on the opposite side changing them from a garden view to a pool view, again many guests had requested this, another request was that we installed a lift which we did, another request was that we updated our shower/courtesy rooms which we did!!! The reception area was totally re - designed as was the pool bar area and also adding more space for our breakfast area with a pool/mountain view to enjoy whilst eating breakfast.....The pool area was also renovated where most of our guests spend most of their days and not away from the apartments. Our staff are always welcoming and always happy to assist in any way that they can, hopefully having a positive impact on everyones holiday. You may wonder why i have chosen to point out all of this and the reason is that i feel that your comments 'not much change' and 'no amount of paint can change this' are not only disappointing but quite harsh as it is quite clear to our repeat guests or even new guests that can see the difference in previous photos to how the hotel looks now, that 'just a lick of paint is not the case at all' We will continue to do our very best for our guests and always welcome any new ideas,we take pride in doing so.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to review.
Hotel Papillon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews