We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Papillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Papillon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I loved the location of the hotel. It was close to some very good restaurants, close to the beach and close to a supermarket. The room was quiet, I coudn't hear the noise of the bars and clubs. The Papillon Restaurant was also pretty good, the rooms and the pool were clean. In my opinion Papillon Hotel is a very good choice for a family trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Irina N,

Many Thanks for your review, Nice to hear that you had a peaceful stay here in Argasi.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay.

Regards from the Hotel Papillon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 299 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

Thanks for the last 2 holidays 2012 and 2013 also we will be returning in August for the third time. I would like to say that everyone that works at the Papillon does there very best to make your holiday as pleasent as possible, Nothing is ever to much trouble. IT IS ONE OF THE MOST RELAXING HOTEL'S THAT I HAVE EVER STAYED IN.
I have stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world and none of them compare to the lovely warm welcome that you get here.
The rooms are clean and minimal and if anything is not to your satisfaction you only need to tell reception and they will do there best to sort it out. My family opt to stay in the 2 bedroom apartment , Very spacious. We have had the most lovely time for the last 2 years that this year we are staying for 3 weeks and I know we will have a great time yet again.
I can't thank all the staff enough for making our stay very relaxing.
I CAN'T RECOMMEND THE PAPILLON ANY HIGHER. WE LOVE IT.as for the rest of your holiday it is what you make it .
Thanks to all who work at Papillon see you all in August.


Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Steven D,

From the Papillon hotel we thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
Very nice to hear that you have enjoyed relaxing holidays here prevoiusly, and that you find everyone welcoming and friendly, it is always a pleasure to provide the best service that we can for all of our guests.
Finally we would like to thank you for recommending the Hotel Papillon/Apts and we look forward very much to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes
Dimitra Paula Nikos and all from the Papillon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent four days in Zante and our stay at Papillon was a great one. Clean, close to shops, restaurants and the awesome bar Magic Mushroom. Locals are friendly and quick to help. Would stay here again!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
9  Thank Theo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel was in a good location close to every thing but not noisy, the hotel rooms were basic but clean, what you would expect for a 2*. The service was 4* the staff were all very helpful and friendly, Paula was especially friendly, nothing was to much trouble (even if she did take the micky out of our scooter!!). There was a nice pool and bar area. We had a great time thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear jane b,

Great to see your reviews here on Tripadvisor and we thank you for taking out the time to write them.
Thank you for your kind comments on our Hotel and staff, as said before we aim to please.
Regarding the scooter (your mean machine sorry), it had to be done (micky taking)!! Just glad you had a great holiday and hope to see you again maybe in the future..

Paula Dimitra and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Arrived back 5 days ago from this hotel, and must say we had a great time, the staff were fantastic, really friendly. Paula on reception was lovely and really helpful, and if you wanted a taxi the staff would sort one for you. We spent most of our days around by the pool as there was plenty of shade if you wanted it, i actually find the more shade i have the better tan i get, and it suited my nephew as he is not exactly a sun worshiper, the staff at the pool bar were great and my dad, brother in law and husband spent time chatting and playing games with them.
We had a 2 bed roomed apartment and found we had plenty of room with a lovely bathroom cleaners did a great job keeping the place clean, beds were changed ever other day and clean towels given every other day. My mum and dad had a studio and breakfast was included, they said the breakfast was lovely the only thing that spoiled it was the greedy people who piled their plates up 3 or 4 times not leaving food for anyone else.
The Magic Mushroom is a club that is attached to the Papillon and it plays great music, we couldn't hear the music from our rooms not even when we sat out on the balcony till gone midnight, my mum and dads room was nearer and when i asked if they could hear it they said no, mind you we were in there most nights trying to find the rudest cocktails to try and believe me there were some good ones.
All in all a great time was had by 3 generations and i would return again xx

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nicolajohnson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear nicolajohnson40,
Thank you for taking out your time to write your reviews here on Tripadvisor.
Great to hear that you had a good holiday, and that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities to the full
I would like to thank you especially for your comments on the breakfast., that was great.
Finally it was great to meet all of your party a real pleasure to have had you here as our guests.
Take care

Paula Dimitra and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

PROS:

On arrival you are given a little envelope which consist of discount cards which is a nice thing to do,

Room included a fridge which was nice as you could have cold bottles of water for in the heat,

Room was tidy and had a warbrobe,

Large swimming pool which is split into two (sort of)

Place in the pool to lie on and relax a sort of 'shelf' not deep so you can read in peace,

Free WIFI,

Replaced toilet seat quickly (As our room had one when we arrived but it wasnt even secured on (not even hanging on by the hinges)

Pool bar has computer access so you can check e-mails,facebook etc. At an additional cost (50c for 10 minutes i think)

Cosmos rep sorted us out a hire car 100 euros for 2 days FULL insurance, 1/2 soft top

Gave a little bottle of wine for my mums birthday with a little note from all the hotel staff

CONS:

Hotel could do with a handy man, On arrival we was expected to carry our suitcase's and hand luggage up to our room on the secound floor which wasn't easy as the stone narrow steps are very slippy!

Out of the 14 nights we stayed here we had our bedding and towels changed 3 times INCLUDING the towels and bedding that we had on arrival not very nice when the weather is hot and you want fresh towels after your shower the hotel staff told us the bedding and towels got changed every 2 days? Well in our case that wasnt the answer, But our neighbours had clean towels and bedding everyday!!! (So they say) ,,

Beds werent made in the mornings so we had to do that ourselfs (not an issue to us as we are not lazy!)

Shower room is so cramped we had to shave our legs in the bedroom! Shower cubicle is tiny even my mum who is a very petite size 6 found it a struggle, Shower curtain got stuck to your wet skin and the shower got flooded most nights as the shower head is hand held!

Tiles in the whole room got very dirty (Don't think they were cleaned for the 14 days that we was there) Swept up maybe but they could have done with a quick once over with a mop,
I myself had to clean the floors by hand with my personal towel! Which i then had to take to the laundrette to be cleaned!

Maides never changed beds or towels on days that they was supposed to,
Some days all they did was come in and empty the bin!,
On one occassion we had to go down to reception and ask for some toilet roll as the maides hadn't given us a fresh one even tho the toilet roll holder was empty!

Pool bar shut very early most nights about 10-10.30pm!! Couldn't even get a drink before bed so this encouraged us to go and buy some things from the shop (which the hotel asks you not to do on signs around the pool)

Breakfast was shocking we had it twice in 14 days breakfast consisted of ( small peices of bread, warm milk, 2 types of cerial (the cerial dispensers felt like they was going to break everytime you turned the knob), Pastrys (if you was lucky, Margerine and honey! .. Tea bags but NO hot water? Only a coffee maker......

One staff member who works at the pool bar liked to stand and stare at all the women, me and my mum found this very creepy and it made us feel like we didn't want to use that pool anymore, So we used a swimming pool everyday at a different hotel, We used papillon hotels swimming pool 3/4 times .. Also there is alot of shade due to the palm tree's, Pool itself is plesent enough though,

Staff member's rarely spoke to us only when we asked for the Master key! One young girl when asked a question (Can we have some more pillows please?) replied with 'I DONT KNOW I WILL PUT IT IN THE DIARY!' (Made us feel like we had done something wrong?)

Walls very thin we could hear everything during the night, lots of banging and scraping and music from magic mushroom until around 5am!

One time our neighbours had an early flight so they had to be out there room for 12am, The maids decided to clean there room at 4am! Whistling, Slamming doors, Dragging mop bucket down the hall, Laughing and talking VERY loudly, Which disturbed us so we couldn't get back to sleep!!! VERY DISRESPECTFUL as there are signs up on the halls to tell guests to keep the noise level down for consideration to other hotel guest's


We used this hotel just for our room at night, Which was handy enough for all bars and restraunts We wouldn't stay here again but it was ok for time we stayed even tho we had to put up with alot of faults,

Im sure the hotel staff will be quick to jump on this review to defend themselfs as they have on previous members reviews but in my defence I have tried my best to find things to comment about so my review includes Good And Bad views.

I have included some nice pictures to this so other people can see it for themselfs :-)

Room Tip: Apparently self catering is nicer than b&b rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Leanne G,

As always I would like to reply to your review and Thank you for taking out a lot of time to write your comments here on Tripadvisor.
Please note that we are not quick to jump on reviews to defend ourselves (as stated by yourself),but we feel it is common courtesy to reply to ALL reviews posted on here. And as we know there are always two sides to every story.
Thank you for all your comments(good or bad), one thing though,I cant help wondering why you made some things noted whilst here on holiday and other things you didnt, you waited until you got home to post them on Tripadvisor.
Firstly you have stated that things that you reported to us were acted on quickly, yet you failed to inform us of certain things that bothered you. The fact that you felt uneasy using our pool as there was a creepy man staring at you, surely if this was true we would have had more complaints. (which we havent).
Our hotel does have a handyman, but it is not his responsibilty to carry cases, maybe you mean a Porter which I believe that you would normally find in hotels similar to the Hilton maybe.
Following onto this your bedding and towels were changed according to our housekeeping plan, the standard of a 2 star hotel.As you said your neighbours said theirs were changed regularly, why would we have one rule for one room and not another?
I would also like to reply to your comment on our maid cleaning rooms early in the morning, you mentioned that they were very disrespectful making a noise, talking, whistling etc. Yes our Maid did come early one morning as we like tp provide a service to our guests due to leave on early morning flights by allowing them to keep their rooms until they leave, and then to have the rooms ready for new guests again arriving straight after.However the maid was working alone, so it makes me wonder who she was laughing with, or maybe you have mistaken this with other guests probably returning from a night out.
You also commented on our pool bar being closed at around 10.30 in the evening, that is correct as it is a pool bar not a nightclub. The signs around the pool that you saw regarding not bringing your own food and drink are purely for when the pool is in operation and are for legal reasons.
Breakfast comments, we serve a continetnal breakfast/buffet here and try to vary as much as possible, maybe you didnt understand what a continental breakfast involved when you booked the holiday..And for the Tea bags and no hot water, its simple, you just ask the person at the bar and it will be given to you..No one will ever make you feel like you have done something wrong at this hotel as everybody is friendly and helpful, this is one of the biggest polices here. I am sure that that other guests will and have agreed.
Finally a comment that you made in your "pros" list was that we gave your mum a bottle of wine and a little note from all the hotel staff on her birthday, only thing was that you didnt even take out your time to thank us.

Kind Regards
Hotel Papillon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here in June, sorry for the delay in posting the review. We had a two bed appartment, very clean and lots of room. The kitchen area is small, you could not really cook a main meal in here but great for snacks. The bathroom is clean but be warned the shower is hand held rather than on the wall like we have at home, this made for some interesting washing!!

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, the pool is huge and lots of sunbeds. The bar man does play the music around the pool very loud and there is surround sound so if you are looking to relax then head for the beach.

The resort is fantastic, small beach but beautiful and lots of cheap bars and snack places to go. In the evening there are lots of restaurants and bars, some having tribute bands which were great fun. We met lots of people as the resort is small and had a whale of a time - cheap cocktails and lots of laughs.

I would definately come back to Argassi and these appartments...........enjoy.

Room Tip: The two bed appartments are spacious and have great views - we were on the third floor and could see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belliestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear bellestravels,
Please dont apologise for the delay in posting your review here on Tripadvisor.
We thank you for taking out the time in doing so.Thank you very much for your kind comments on our hotel, staff and facilities. Nice to hear that you would consider staying with us again.

Regards from all at the Hotel Papillon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.2 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 26 in Argassi
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#7 of 26 in Argassi
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria Mare Apartments
Maria Mare Apartments
#13 of 26 in Argassi
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Hotel

Address: Argassi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Argassi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Hotel Class:2 star — Papillon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Papillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing