We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, comfortable, well located and relaxed hotel.”
Review of Papillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Papillon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A friendly, comfortable, well located and relaxed hotel.”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

As a family of 4 with children of F12 & M15 we found the Papillon a great place to stay.

We initially stayed in 2 twin adjacent rooms, which were comfortable and quiet. (We had expected an apartment, but due to our mistake in UK with the agent booking us initially onto wrong island and the arrangements needing to be changed at the last minute, etc., we had in fact booked the twins.) However, we asked if there were any apartments free and fortunately were told there would be. After day 2 we moved, which was great as we were in the busiest time of the year.

The apartment was large and airy. 2 bedrooms, (1 twin room and 1 with double & single beds), balcony looking over the pool, kitchen/dining area and bathroom...with bath which proved invaluable for those long cooling soaks. The 1st floor front entrance 'veranda' gave a nice overview of the side streets shops and restaurants. A kettle and hob plate was provided, along with a fridge, cups/glasses, pan and cutlery. Enough if you really want to cook for yourself, instead of utilising one of the many reasonably priced and substantially menu'd restaurants!

Breakfast was sufficient for the climate, Coffee/Tea/Hot Chocolate/Juice, bread, ham, cheese, cakes, plenty to see you through most of the day.

The pool is the biggest in the town and the pool bar is well stocked for both snacks and drink. The large clean pool area has plenty of sun-beds and tables and is a nice quiet little sun trap set away from the towns sights and sounds. The beach is only about 100m across the road if you want the sand between your toes.

We hired a car and there is parking at the hotel which was convenient and reassuring.

The front desk is occupied 24/7 and everyone is very friendly and helpful.
Nikki especially looked after us very well. From our initial room query to her invaluable local knowledge, leading us to find the cool blue waters of a quiet cove, nothing was too much trouble.

They say that a great holiday has nothing to do with age, or even cost, but everything to do with where you go and who you go with.
Well, you can't do much about your family ;-) ... but coming here made it great for us !

Room Tip: Apartment overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    77
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
119
101
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Zakynthos is an island hardly known among Germans. I chose it because I found good offers (flight and hotel). I spent a week at the papillon in Argassi and was positively surprised. The hotel staff was extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. The place was clean and spaceous. The pool is large, clean and superb. I had not expected that much for the low price I payed.
The hotel is situated in the middle of Argassi, about 3-5 minutes from the beach. It offers different rooms / apartments, all with a bathroom and a balcony, some with kirchen and air condition. I chose the cheapest room, it was nothing special, but offered all I needed (bed, wardrobe, chairs, fridge) and was clean. I enjoyed the little balcony with a view of fabulous trees in a back garden. Breakfast consisted of (good) coffee, fresh bread and cake, ham and cheese as well as butter, honey, and jam. No fruit, no cereals.
The pool is surrounded by hotel buildings, secluded and extremely nice. Palm trees and a bar make it a perfect place to relax.
If you are looking for perfect quite, this may not be your place, since there's music at the pool all day. I soon got used to it.
What impressed me most was the friendliness of all the people working at the hotel. Every request was taken seriously, Maria, Nicky and all the others really helped whenever help was needed. Thank you, Papillon, I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelkeMainz_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here at the Hotel Papillon at the begining of July. The hotel had everything we needed for a relaxing stay in Argasi. It is family run and the family certainly made us feel welcome. The rooms were clean and we paid a little extra to also have Air Conditioning which was an added bonus. Neither of us drive so the location of this hotel was perfect. We were right in the center of the resort. There were also local buses to Vasilikos and Zante Town.

They told us this was one of the first hotels in Argasi and it is still holding it's own with it's beautiful pool and pool bar and a great selection of restaurants nearby. Thank you very much the Hotel Papillon family for giving us a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for Air Conditioning in July and August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hfd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

we booked this hotel because it was a last minute, cheap place, although we didnt actually stay here (only because we moved to another hotel so we could stay with friends who were already in argassi), what we saw of the hotel looked very nice, the rooms were basic but clean, the pool looked lovely and the pool bar v inviting, the reception staff were english speaking, and not at all offended or off hand knowing we had moved, we still used the safe at the hotel and this was 10euros for the week and based in reception to give easy access, we would have no hessitation staying here when in argassi

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I must admit after reading some of the latest reviews about this Hotel/Apartments I really didn't want to go. When we got there and opened the door to our 2 bedroom appt (#254) we had such a relief. It really wasn't as bad as we thought. It was clean and although the room probably needed a bit of maintenence it was definitely liveable. The accommodation was very spacious and although they are self catering the facilities to use were quite limited. There was a fridge, kettle, plates, cutlery and a freestanding 2 ring hob. The cost of eating out though was very reasonable.

We also heard bad reviews about the pool area, but this again was better than expected. Looked clean enough to me. Talking about the pool area I would recommend having the club sandwich at the pool bar. They are the best !

I would say that if you like peace and quiet or not much noise then these apartments aren't for you. You can hear everything to doors closing, kids shouting, people walking above you in their apartment. I even had to buy some earplugs so I could get some sleep!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sazzle2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Look on the justzanti web site and read other complaint's. I read these bad coments a week before i arrived at the Popillon Hotel but went with a open mind as i have been going to greece for years and know whot to expect. The place is run down and dirty. We had to fix our bed, mend the draw as it was hanging off, plus bits in the bathroom. The kichen smelled of urine, plus more. If you are going to this hotel take the phone numbers from your travel agent in England as they did help as after 5 days to get out of the Papillon. The Zanti co-op rep was no help at all until she received calls England Head Office. If she tells you there has not been any compaints she is wrong, as a lot of people have. The lady on reception was very rude after the complaints.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 186338Disappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.2 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 27 in Argassi
1,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 27 in Argassi
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#11 of 27 in Argassi
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 27 in Argassi
136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Hotel

Property: Papillon Hotel
Address: Argassi, Argassi 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Argassi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Papillon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Papillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Zakynthos/Argassi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing