We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for beach and train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silken Canada Palace
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Calafell
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location for beach and train station”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our c stay here, and couldn't really hear the trains at all and they certainly b didn't keep us up. Very clean big rooms. Only criticisms - shower curtain wasnt long enough and floor got wet with every shower and ran out of juice and milk at breakfast, people were having cereal using milk from the hot drink machines but plenty of breakfast to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    102
    41
    20
    28
See reviews for
150
60
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Meath, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

as other people have said this hotel should be listed as a 3star. it definitely is not a four star.
we were a family of 5 (2 ad 3 kids aged 13,10 & 6 ). we stayed for a week at the end of July. Our booking had said "pool view" but we got a room facing to the street.
The room we were allotted was very very small so we asked for another. the next room ,again overlooking the street and trainline, was still very very small. In fact , honestly, it was too small for 5 people but at least we had a balcony. however we were told the next morning that it would be a 100euro supplement for the room with the balcony.
Another funny thing is the drinks,,, you cannot pay for them at the bar,,, you give your room number and it is charged to your bill. the bill has to be paid "IN CASH" NO CARDS ACCEPTED.
Which I thought was a bit funny. anyway we cleared our bill after 3 days so we wouldn't have a huge bill at the end. the food was ok. typical Spanish hotel... nice fresh fish, salads and of course the obligatory chips. The entertainment was all in Spanish as was the kids club so our lot couldn't really join in. Price of a beer in hotel 2,25 price down the street 1.20 (bit of a ripoff)
On the plus side ....the hotel is just a short stroll to a wonderful beach area which is huge, clean and safe. Also very convenient if you want to travel into Barcelona. The hotel will supply pool tools free of charge if you want.
Try and do the calafell slide.. the kids had a great laugh ..but be warned not open till 5pm. The citidell is also very interesting as is the church up on the hill.
I would definitely go back to Calafell but not with 3 kids ... rooms too small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsCoMeath_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This very nice hotel fronts onto the railway, with an adjacent station , with frequent connections to Barcelona. Advise ensuring a room at the back of the hotel ,overlooking the pool,which is quieter at night.The hotel is about 120 m from the marvellous beach ( wide, flat and sandy, stretching for miles) ( whoops ..kms ! ).The public rooms were spacious , well decorated and hung with interesting pictures, and a pleasant restful lounge.
Food ( buffet style )was of good quality ,quite wide ranging , and plentiful.
The bedroom, interestingly decorated, was spacious , clean, and with a nice small balcony overlooking the pool. The beds were wide and comfortable, and the bathroom roomy and modern .
The hotel has plenty of facilities. There are outdoor and an indoor (heated ) swimming pools, a sauna , gym, and plenty of games facilities for children and adults.
The staff were enthusiastic and helpful.
There appeared to be plenty of parking space.
Overall this was a very enjoyable stay .

Room Tip: Ensure you are at the back overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatC2549600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafnarfjörður
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Was staying here with a large group of people in april. Loved the town (Calafell) and would definetely go there again. The hotel was nice, well situated, clean and comfortable. The rooms were nice and the garden area. Big bathroom and good shower. There were only two things that needed improvement; there was no refrigerator in the room to cool drinks and there was a problem with money and paying for drinks and other costs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goofus1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

On arrival at the place, the atmosphere seemed calm and pleasant. The staff helped us to get lunch at 3pm when we arrived, which was very good as the restaurant was closing at 3pm because the lunch was over. It was all tranquil enough until the evening when we discovered between 100 to 150 students descended on the restaurant in readiness for their food. You need to be quick in order to get something to eat, and then eat quick just to get away to find some more peace and quiet. However, the students were mostly noisy until gone midnight each night, so if you want a good night's sleep then it's not going to happen early. The weekends however didn't have the students so was quieter. There is a train station opposite which is handy, and there is on-site car-parking for 6 euros per day. Drinks seemed expensive with a can of Fanta at 2.50, and a bottle of Estrelle at 2.25. The decor looks dated and needs a bit of a re-vamp.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Whilst I have to agree with other reviewers that this hotel is not a true 4 Star establishment it certainly rates a 3 Star Plus. We spent two nights here on a full board basis and had a room overlooking the pool. The room was large with two big comfortable beds. The docor was unusually bright, perhaps best described as eclectic. The room was spotlessly clean.
The food was buffet style and excellent with plenty of choice. The breakfast was particularly good although some might wish there was more fresh fruit.
The location is excellent, just a short walk from the station and five minutes from a golden sandy beach. It is very much a family hotel and whist we were there the guests were mainly Spanish (or Catalonian) with more than a few of a certain age. Club 18-30 it is definitely not (Great !). If you're looking for a good quality, good value, local hotel then this is the place for you. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank popeye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

This hotel is not truly reflective of its apparent four star ratings. The main issue I had as a single female occupant was that I was woken each morning from 8am with a lot of noise in the corridor by the cleaners and fellow guests who let their toddlers play in the corridors; I had a 'do not disturb' sign on my door but on two of the mornings the cleaners knocked on my door and attempted to open it at 9am, fortunately I had the security chain on. I can't recommend this to young couples or those who like a lie in on their holidays. It would be good for young families who wake early or other travellers who are early risers."

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dublin35Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calafell
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kursaal
Hotel Kursaal
#5 of 10 in Calafell
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Solimar
0.1 mi away
4R Miramar Calafell
4R Miramar Calafell
#3 of 10 in Calafell
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Antiga
Hotel Antiga
#1 of 10 in Calafell
215 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga
Nuba Hotel Coma-Ruga
#1 of 7 in Coma Ruga
643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Canada Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Canada Palace

Property: Silken Canada Palace
Address: Mossen Jaime Soler 44, 43820 Calafell, Spain (Formerly Hotel Canada Palace)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Calafell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Calafell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Canada Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Canada Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canada Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing