We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of India at the sandy beach!!!!!”
Review of Indian Restaurant Shanti - CLOSED

Indian Restaurant Shanti
Price range: $21 - $28
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Indian Restaurant SHANTI PLAYAShanti Playa, el restaurante con auténtico sabor de la India, abre sus puertas en Calafell (Tarragona), una localidad costera llena de encanto. Situado a pie de playa, este restaurante ofrece a sus clientes una amplia degustación de platos indios, al tiempo que les permite disfrutar de la brisa marina y del paisaje de mar desde su terraza.Este restaurante es el segundo de la cadena Shanti, que nació en Barcelona en 2008. Hoy, Shanti Playa es un sello de garantía de la auténtica cocina hindú, representada por platos de sabores exóticos y únicos, aromas diferentes y aderezados con un toque marino. Todo ello, servido en una atmósfera repleta de paz, calma, tranquilidad y bienestar, puesto que la palabra “Shanti”, que procede del sánscrito, significa paz. El espíritu de la India y la luz del mar confluyen en este restaurante singular y apto para los paladares más sibaritas. Visítanos. Disfruta del sabor auténtico de la cocina hindú a pie de playa. 
1 review
“Taste of India at the sandy beach!!!!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I visited calafel in April and found this Indian restaurant and tried the food there. The food and service was so good that we ate there everyday for seven days!!!! The variety if Indian foid is amazing and you get spoilt for choice.

The environment is very welcoming with the choice to sit outside in the sun and well organised staff whose main purpose is to treat the customers with open heart and tasty food... loved it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Went to this restaurant on two ocassions. The food was very tasty. Both times the staff were very friendly and the service very good. Located on the seafront so nice view of the beach.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockaphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Indian restaurant on a quiet sandy beach - a true surprise”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I saw an Indian restaurant while I was walking from a quite distant parking place to the beach. I thought that we should give it a try, as my family enjoys Indian food and in-between all the fried stuff around and tapas, it looked like a refreshing choice.

The restaurant was fairly empty when we arrived, while the surrounding places had a lot more guests. We were a bit concerned, however, our worries were gone by the time they brought us the complimentary poppadoms. They were fresh and came with 3 really nicely tasting sauces.

We ordered a couple of mains, raita, garlic naans, as well as drinks. The food came out fairly fast and for the price was excellent. It was not made to order like in more upper class restaurants - you do not get this for 8-12 EUR. Nevertheless, it tasted fresh and authentic.

Overall, considering the price, what you get for your money and quality of service, I give the restaurant five stars. One small item, which was not too important for us - the ambiance was a bit boring.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“great indian food hidden on the costa dorada!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Ate here 3 times!

Fresh, delicious food with attentive staff.

Great value for money (half the price of adjacent restaurants).

Must try the Chicken handi lazeez and raita (but everything else we tried was great too).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank P-Fogg-1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Service”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Very good restaurant , the food was very tasty and the service was excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank neetie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Restaurant Shanti also viewed

Calafell, Costa Dorada
 
Calafell, Costa Dorada
Calafell, Costa Dorada
 
Calafell, Costa Dorada
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing