We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous value for a family all inclusive with smaller children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Isla Del Aire Apartments
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Punta Prima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I just read the prior review which gave two stars. They must be nuts! - if they'd read all the prior reviews they'd have gathered that Isla Del Aire's charms are focused on families with smaller children, so that shouldn't have been a shock to them.

The staff (especially the entertainment crew of Miguel and Aurelie) are friendly, helpful and dedicated to the guests' enjoyment, and the location was perfect, with a couple of minutes walk to a popular wide white sand beach shelving gently into the sea, perfect for snorkelling or swimming.

Food choices all day were varied and excellent, fresh and warm (who wants piping hot food when you're baking in 33 degree sunshine?) The restaurant was next to the open air entertainment area, which meant no rushing to finish food when the mini disco began.

After the children's disco and games, there was a different singing act or event each night. These were quite modest affairs but the performers were talented and professional.

During the day the focus of enjoyment was the beautiful, clean, well kept pool, a double kidney shape with a shallower toddler area and a deeper section suitable for adults and children (5ft at its deepest). The central pool felt safe, ringed by the apartments and reception building so unlikely to be visited by any non-guests. This mean we could relax, with our children in view at all times, either letting them feel a little independent swimming and playing, or joining in with them in the water polo, aqua aerobics or poolside competitions that ran through the day. All inclusive really meant inclusive too, with a full range of soft and alcoholic drinks, ice creams, snacks punctuating the mealtimes so there was never a moment you couldn't get something to eat if you wished.

Because the atmosphere was so stress free, we found ourselves eating and drinking less than one might think (knowing you can always go back for more if you want lets you relax) and no pestering from the kids either!

Our apartment was first floor and first rate. Air conditioning (a god send), plenty of space and fully kitted out inside (the kitchen was well stocked with home comforts and utensils etc.), and with a large balcony overlooking the pool, and another one outside our bedroom window where we could sit out and watch the shooting stars whilst the children slept.

My greatest enjoyment instating here was that the combination of the well thought out layout with the relaxed atmosphere meant we had a family holiday which the kids enjoyed, but one with a romantic flavour where we could share time as a couple too.

Punta Prima's location allowed us to explore Mahon, Es Castellated, the coves and ancient sites of the south easy corner of the island by hire car, as well as being lucky enough to enjoy the Sant Luis carnival that occurs around that time each year. We trekked across to Ciutadella too, (worth a visit to the Cathedral AND monastic gardens - the second location was well worth a few extra euros) and the obligatory aqua park. A tourist information box in Punta Prima can sell and arrange excursions, if you don't want to drive abroad though.

Would we go back? We booked again for next year as soon as we got back (which is a first for me).

Don't be put off by inappropriate complaints from guests who picked the wrong resort for their needs - the apartments are a perfect place for a relaxing holiday if you are a family with small children, or older ines who can make their own entertainment.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theojw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
There are newer reviews for Isla Del Aire Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 719 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Firstly may I say that this review is based on our own experience with two TEENAGE children.
On arrival my wife,s and I first impressions was oh the reception area was very nice then we walked to our apartment the pool area was very dirty and messy nothing had been picked up there was plastic cups left all over the place cigarette butts left lying everywhere nothing provided for smokers to put there butts into.
APARTMENT.
We had a 1 bedroom lower floor apartment the size was OK not brilliant as our children were 15,13 they had to sleep on the sofa beds these were totally inadequate and not big enough.
The decor was dated it just needs some TLC and some time spent on them.
ALL INCLUSIVE.
Food was plentiful and there were choices (not many) the main gripe was that the food nine times out of ten was Luke warm or cold , the drinks tea,coffee, fruit juice, came out of vending machines and was vile (we actually bought our own tea, coffee and made our own.) The sangria was nice also the Estella larger. As for shots or shorts can not comment as we don't drink them. Also a fact that we did not like was there was no proper dining room it was a converted Tapas,Music,Bar, completely not suitable for the job required.
SNACKS.
Very basic if you like chips, hot dog, or a sandwich you,ll be OK this was served every day and became very boring no variation at all.
ENTERTAINMENT.
If you have young children say up to the age of about 10 or 11 the entertainment was very good mini disco,s bingo, dancing, games, there was a table tennis table pool table ( At a cost of two euro,s ) darts, water aerobics, also there was internet access which again you had to pay for. Our son was bored the same day we arrived and our daughter done nothing virtually the whole time we were there. No consideration for older children or teenagers.
STAFF.
Worked very hard all of them but they could do with more members as they were doubling up on different jobs .
OVERALL.
After reading reviews on trip adviser we decided to book I sorely wish we had not nothing to do for teenagers Punta Prima offers very little and this is a chain of hotels / apartments that has jumped on the fully inclusive idea and its a very poor effort. will we be returning NO chance everyone must make there own minds up as I said we had teenagers the all inclusive did not work for us and I consider this very poor value for money.

Room Tip: Don,t go in the first place.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewielufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Arrived at reception at 11am and surprised to be told our room would be ready in half an hour (thought we'd have to wait until 2 which is normal check in time!). We were staying in an one bed first floor apartment, that was very spacious and had three good size balconies!! All apartments are arranged around a half circle and over loo the pool. Only 60 apartments in all so were on nodding terms with most guests!

All the staff were very helpful, reception very quickly provided extra sheets, pillows etc. The bar and restaurant staff worked exceedingly hard and there was never much of a queue at the bar always happy to serve you!

Evening entertainment was the usual mix of shows, bingo and quizzes and a lively kids disco every evening. During the day water aerobics, water polo, table tennis, darts and kids club enthusiastically organised and run by the animation team. Miguel in particular did a superb job.

Food was plentiful with a wide choice of salads, fish and meat dishes. Although could have done with a bit more choice than just chips, would have been good if boiled potatoes or rice was an option. Snacks served outside of meal times. Hot dogs and chips were a big hit with the kids!

Mainly British holiday makers with a few Italians and the odd Dutch, Russian families. No Germans surprisingly. Just a few minutes walk down to the beach and main shops but conveniently there is a supermarket right next to the hotel, above where you take meals and the entertainment area.

The hotel also allow you to take meals and have drinks etc at its sister hotels in Fornells and Cal Galdana which is really handy if you are planning to have trips out from the hotel. Just let reception know the day before and they will telephone the sister hotel to let them know you are coming.

All in all a great holiday the grounds and pool are a lovely setting for a relaxing holiday and the hotel isn't to big to become impersonal.

Remember its a three star hotel and you get what you pay for. We can't fault the value for money. A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We arrived to be greated by the lovely receptionist. Paul and Guille behind the bar are kind, friendly and attentive, the chef does a brilliant job, the great value all inclusive option is varied and there's loads of fruit and salad. Miguel and Aureile are fabulous (sorry if that's spelt wrong) and do a really wonderful job keep the kids entertained and the mini disco is great! They also do water polo, darts, table tennis for kids and grown ups to!!

This really is a lovely, relaxing family holiday, suitable for younger children, maybe up to 10 or 11. Great pool with loads of sunlongers (new in 2012) so no morning rush to get towels out.

Nothing is too much trouble, they'll do you packed lunches (request the night before), we got a bag with a small bottle of water, 2 rolls, cooked meat, chocolate wafer and 5 pieces of fruit per person!

Bus stop practically outside, to Mahon 1.60 EURO each way. Little road train to nice beach at Binibeca 5 minutes from hotel, beach at Punta Prima 10 minues walk. Market in Punta Prima, Sunday all day and at night on Monday, Wednesday and Thursday (small and gentle).

Apartments are roomy and clean have everything you need the patios and balconiesall over look the pool set in lovely gardens. There also a little park. If there is anything at all to say as a slight negative, the apartments are a little tired but for the price I really don't think this should be a criticism.

All in all a really good value holiday in a wonderful setting that I would recommend.

Our set-up is 2 adults and kids aged 4, 8 & 9 and it suited us perfectly.

Room Tip: No need there are no bad rooms, perhaps just request ground or first floor based on which suits you...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

just back from ISLA DEL AIRE apartments and just had to say what a great place right from day one felt at home the staff were so helpful and friendly the apartments are roomy and clean have everything you need the patios and balconies over look the pool set in lovely gardens. No problems getting a sun bed and although i had read the sun beds were tired we must have been lucky they had all been recovered. It was a short walk to the beach which has lovely sand and the lighthouse is set in the back ground. The meals were great lots of choice and we found it was a high .standard. The entertainment was basic but the childrens disco was a big hit

Room Tip: only two storey and all over look the pool so may be better on ground floor for children
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very nice aparthotel! beautiful rooms, swimming pool and position. The beautiful Punta prima beach is 500mt walking. the bus stop is in front the hotel. possibility to rent a car.
The chef Julio is the best! Every day something different and good! Beautiful Paul will take care of you for your request.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just returned from a two week stay at this resort, it is perfect for families with young children, the pools are safe, water temperature perfect. The entertainment team, Miguel and Aurelie were fantastic with the children and there was plenty going on to keep them entertained. The complex only consists of sixty apartments and isn't very big so you can always see where your children are which is reassuring. We stayed on an all inclusive basis, there was a good variety of food, the salad selection was lovely and always plenty of fresh fruit on offer, my only criticism is the food wasn't always very hot. Punta Prima is a small resort and very quiet, I don't believe it would be very suitable for couples with teenage children as I think they would get bored pretty quickly but for families with young kids the resort is perfect. The apartments although slightly dated are spacious and well equipped. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kazzie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Prima
0.1 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,731 reviews
24.8 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
12.0 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xaloc Playa
Hotel Xaloc Playa
#5 of 6 in Punta Prima
474 reviews
4.8 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Del Aire Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Del Aire Apartments

Address: Carrer de Ponent, s/n, 07713 Punta Prima, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Punta Prima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Punta Prima
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta Prima
Price Range: $60 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Del Aire Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isla Del Aire Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Del Aire Apartments Hotel Punta Prima
Isla Del Aire Apartments Punta Prima, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing