We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”
Review of Hotel Xaloc Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Xaloc Playa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Punta Prima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our 3rd visit here in 3 years. Nothing flash, everything friendly. Food is a good standard, choice of at least 3 main courses each night. Location is excellent, just across the road from the beach. I invested 15 euros in a weeks unlimited wifi, sounds costly, but compared to a week of drinks at a "free wifi" bar, not so bad.

We like this place and hope you don't come, be a shame if it got too full for us to get in!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gttbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 486 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

I agree with most of the latest reviews of this hotel. Visited during the heatwave average temp.38 degrees. Definately needs air con as humidity was a problem especially at night. Agree you should not have to hire a fan in these temperatures good moneyspinner!. All staff work hard and are very pleasant. Drink prices are very reasonable and good measures given. Food well prepared and a good varied selection including plenty of fish including large prawns,mussels and a varied selection of fresh fish not usually provided at 3 star Hotels. Good breakfast selection keeps you full for most of the day until Dinner.
You must take the little train to Binibeca,its just out of a fairy tale! Menorca is a lovely green and laid back island completely different to Majorca and Ibiza. This hotel would not be suitable for party animals but entertainment alternative nights very good.Thomas Cook rep in most days and I would recommend the day trip round the Island very good value . Sheila our coach rep is English and talks from the word go. Very knowlegable of the history of the island. No trouble with sunbeds as most people tend to go to the beach which is just two minutes away.
Try and get up to see the sunrise over the beach quite spectacular.All in all a good value holiday.
One tip, watch out for "ants in your pants" especially if on ground floor room facing the pool as we were. A quick spray did the trick.

Room Tip: Request a pool view on the ground floor or a beach facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CountyDurhamPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Prior to leaving the UK with a party of 3 adults and two boys I e-mailed the hotel and asked if we could get 2 adjacent rooms. They did better than that and offered us a 2 twin bedroomed bungalow with an additional full single bed in the lounge area so we all fitted in with ease.The rooms in the bungalow had air con (at a supplement, which we were happy to pay for), Satellite TV,a big terrace etc.Resort is very quiet which was what we wanted,lovely beach,bus stop right outside hotel for getting into Mahon.A few nice bars in the centre of the village and one pub nearby called the Blue Anchor.Hotel was spotlessly clean,maid service every day inc new towels etc.Be prepared to experiment with different foods which were all nice to eat. If you are a pool person, go for an early swim and grab a sun lounger early as they do get taken up V quickly. Exceptional staff , lovely location. If you go with Thomas Cook book the discover Menorca tour , the guide Sheila is extremely knowledgeable and is passionate about the hidden beauties of the Island. Will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade to a bungalow for privacy, air con and silence at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Animo_et_Fide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hotel was very clean,staff very helpful, and food was very good. Bar prices very reasonable considering i drink cider. Beach lovely also. On the down side no air-con it was like sleeping in an oven during the night, fans were available but all they do is blow the hot air around the room. the resort is very quiet ideal for couples looking for a relaxing break or families with small children, i think teenagers would be bored out of their mind other than the pool/beach there is nothing else to do. There are about 6 restaurants and a British style pub with Sky sports and 2 supermarkets all with in a 10 minute walk from the hotel. we were there for one week it was long enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here in August for 2 weeks and had a wonderful holiday as usual. During our stay Menorca experienced a heatwave. I have seen many reviews of people complaining about no air con in the rooms - we managed fine without even a fan. It states quite clearly on the hotel website that there is no air con in the rooms - so why do people make such a fuss? However, there is air con in the dining room.
The hotel is excellent! The staff are extremely friendly and work very hard. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the food is superb value for money - there was always a good choice and is proudly cooked by their resident chef.
Punta Prima itself is small and quiet but there are 6 restaurants which are all very good and friendly - infact we have become good friends with many of them over the years. The beach is gorgeous and looks across to the island where you can watch all the boats going by.
There is an hourly bus service, from beside the hotel, into the capital, Mahon, from where you can get busses to all over the island. Mahon itself is well worth spending time in.
Do take the road train to Binibecca from Punta Prima - it's great fun and Binibecca is lovely.
Once again we had a fantastic time in this hotel and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank menorcalover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Have to write this review to "big up" the value for money for the lunch at this place. We have a place in Menorca and having been there for many many years we have learnt where to go for value. Since having the kids we have always gone here for lunch. The meals are basic but such big portions and such value for money - E5.60!!!. We are always full. The staff are always friendly and polite and more than happy to help. We then use the bar and the two pools. The kids use the pool table and golf facilities and being so close to the beech, we sometimes pop over to snorkel in the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Henstooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just returned from a scorching hot week at the Xaloc in Menorca. Overall we enjoyed it, very, very near the small but perfectly formed beach, which can feel a tad overcrowded. Sea is lovely, some good snorkeling to be had.The food in the hotel was not bad, don't expect Michelin stars but i felt there was always choice and they did chicken well, and i enjoyed the breakfasts. The pool is lovely and our daughter virtually had the kids pool to herself. Towels put down in the morning was a problem, though the English were just as much to blame as you know who!!. Fans cost 12 euros a week with 15 euros deposit, in my opinion they should be provided free of charge. Bar and restaurant staff were very helpful. Room was very basic, large bathroom and living room/bedroom but didn't spend much time in it anyway.
The resort is very quite, couple of restaurants and some shops, lots of little play areas for the kids.Overall we spent a very good week there but felt a week was enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lovemissile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Prima
1.8 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 3 in S'Algar
1,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#2 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,831 reviews
26 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,379 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
15.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xaloc Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xaloc Playa

Address: Calle Major s/n, 07713 Punta Prima, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Punta Prima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Punta Prima
Price Range: $67 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xaloc Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Xaloc Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xaloc Playa Punta Prima Es
Xaloc Playa Hotel
Hotel Xaloc Playa Punta Prima, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing