We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Money”
Review of Hotel Xaloc Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xaloc Playa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Punta Prima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Bit apprehensive on arrival as the outside looks a bit" tired".Soon altered my view, the staff were a credit to the Hotel and the cleanliness was far superior to many 5 * hotels I have stayed at. Only slight criticism is the food which as previously stated did become a bit repetitive although there was plenty. Very quiet, ideal for families with small children and people who do not want their ears burst by night club music. Would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank blackwatch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 485 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

this hotel is very clean, the staff are friendly and welcoming. the rooms are a decent size. the food is a bit repetative, but there is a lot of it!! If you need a relaxing holiday away from clubs and noise i would recomend the xaloc every day.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mummychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I stayed here a couple of years ago with my parents and we had a fantastic break. The hotel is directly next to a beautiful beach with clear shallow water and golden sand, this is situated right on a shop front with a selction of supermarkets, souvenir shops and restauraunts.

We stayed all inclusive and ate well, the food was satisfactory and kept us going. The staff were very friendly and entertaining and loved have a chat with you!

The rooms were basic, just a bedroom-bathroom, no kettle etc. but did the job, comfortable. However the three of us were cramped into a small room and I slept on a sofa bed, could have done with being bigger but had we requested a change they would have obliged i'm sure, there were apartments on site, but we made do.

The pool was lovely and big, but there wasn't many loungers so they needed to be reserved early!

Overall, lovely holiday in a nice quiet location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank emily2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

we have been to the xaloc with friendsand also as a couple, we found it lovely. the staff are very polite.we are looking forward to going again this year in may and august.we will be going with the family which includes our grandchildren, aged 5 and 3. will let you know how it goes.thank you to the staff for making our holidays great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank janethansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

This is the 3rd holiday my 15yr old daughter and I have had at this fantastic hotel. As with the previous two holidays, we could not fault it. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean, with fresh towels and sheets every day. The staff have become friends and are most helpful and friendly. The food is delicious – freshly cooked and plenty to choose from. The pool is lovely with lots of sunbathing area and situated in peaceful gardens.
There isn’t entertainment every night but when there, is it’s a great atmosphere.
The lovely beach is directly opposite the hotel. It is one of Menorca’s largest beaches and has fine white sand and crystal clear sea.
Punta Prima is small but that’s what we like about it. There are about 6 bar/restaurants, 2 supermarkets, a pharmacy and a few souvenir shops. The capital, Mahon, is just a short bus ride away with regular busses every hour. Mahon is a traditional Spanish town with a spectacular harbour which you can take a boat trip around.
The land train to Binibecca is a must. It’s great fun and Binibecca is very picturesque.
We hope to return for our 4th time next year (2011) as we have such a wonderful holiday here.
Ignore all the bad reviews – it is excellent value for money. If you want a 5 star hotel then you must expect to pay 5 star prices!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank menorcalover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We booked this hotel based on the reviews we read but as soon as we opened the door to our room (situated away from the main building and reachable by using a narrow path through a very dense forest of conifers dotted with signs saying "keep off the grass" and similar) it was clear that the room had not been updated since 1970!
We only had 1 bedside cabinet which was probably a remnant from some car boot sale from the 60s, a small out-dated table and chair situated in a dark corner of the room and a 14 inch TV (with a non-working remote) situated on a bracket at least 2.5m high. To watch it from the bed you needed binoculars and if you tried to watch it any closer, you would get a neck-ache as it was too high.
The built-in wardrobe (again, old) was incredibly small and the bath tub had rust marks in it.
Because of the amount of trees outside, the room looked dingy and dark even when the sun was shining and it was really cold and uninviting.
Sheets and towels, although washed, had some old stains.
The food was bland and the receptionists were not particularly friendly (we ask to use wi-fi and were told it would cost €3.- per hour. They didn't offer the €5.- per day tariff!).
The "entertainment" was dire but obviously enjoyable to the older residents. Even during the day, the hotel gave a "retirement home" vibe...
Thankfully, 2 days later, after several phone calls to our travel agents we managed to be relocated to a brand new, extremely friendly, really clean hotel with all mod-cons!
Avoid at all costs!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NivesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We booked a late deal to the Xaloc Playa. We knew the hotel well from the outside but had never ventured over the threshold. Decided to take a late booking to Menorca (book one day and gone the next). We arrived late in the evening and a meal was waiting for us. From then on things only got better. Sandy on the reception desk is a treasure as are all the staff absolutely nothing was too much trouble to make our life comfortable and pleasant. The food was absolutely fine, always something to choose and I am quite picky about my food. What would I change to improve We were on the ground floor and the room was very stuffy, perhaps a bit of aircon would improve. The beds were incredibly hard, although Sandy sorted my problem out. I wouldn't hesitate to go back. Excellent. The gardens are lovely. The pool just right and never a problem with sun beds.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonesgirlSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Prima
0.2 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,822 reviews
24.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
15.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 3 in S'Algar
1,563 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,368 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xaloc Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xaloc Playa

Address: Calle Major s/n, 07713 Punta Prima, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Punta Prima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Punta Prima
#5 Family Hotel in Punta Prima
Price Range: $54 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xaloc Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Xaloc Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xaloc Playa Punta Prima Es
Xaloc Playa Hotel
Hotel Xaloc Playa Punta Prima, Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing