We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you know what to expect you won't get disapointed”
Review of Occidental Menorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Menorca
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Punta Prima
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Göteborg, Sweden
1 review
“If you know what to expect you won't get disapointed”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We read that the rooms where small, the walls thin and that after a while you got fed up with the food. Knowing this before we went made us more able to enjoy all the things that where good. The different houses where only 3-4 storys high, the rooms where clean and had a modern feel to them, we never hung around in the large common area but went down to the "golf-club" where they had a very nice pool and not alot of people around. The beach is onley a short walk away and very nice and has life-guards. The local bus stops outside the hotel witch makes it easy to travel around if you don't want to reant a car. We got the trip at a very affordable price witch made it eaven more worth while. The beds where a bit hard but I had no problems sleeping in them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Therese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    952
    365
    96
    56
See reviews for
1,139
861
29
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We're planning our return for next year!

The hotel is within close proximity to the airport about a 24 euro taxi trip with very scenic views. I hadn't been abroad in a few years so after an anxious trip I was dreading any unsavoury at the hotel but I have to I was over the moon. The hotel is spacious with such fantastic and attentive staff. We had a superior all inclusive room. The room wasn't particularly big but it was more than enough for a couple for a week. We had a balcony overlooking the main courtyard and pools and would often spend our evenings sat on the balcony watching the world go by!

I do have to agree with a sound proofing comment I read further down, we could hear people brushing their teeth and coughing etc in the rooms next door, also quite a lot of stomping and furniture shuffling from above. However, our sleep was never disturbed other than the beautiful Spanish sun peeping through the curtains in the morning... The rooms are very modern with air con and a handful of English channels (+ others) on the TV.

There is loads of wardrobe storage, including a mini fridge, safe, hangers, extra pillows, extra blanket etc. The room does lack in tea and coffee facilities but I believe this can be hired from reception. Lovely shower with different settings.

We couldn't believe the amount of choice there was at every buffet meal - fantastic! My partner travels a lot and did say this is the best all inclusive buffet he's ever had. The food was of good quality, fresh and constantly being replenished. The drinks included are very good too, lots of choice.

The beach is about a 3 minute walk from the hotel and is gorgeous! We spent some time at the Noray bar situated just on the beach which was very peaceful in the day. The local shops are very we stocked I would suggest not shopping a little bit merry otherwise you'll find yourself coming home with lots of souvenirs!!

We spent a lot of afternoons lying by the pool at the Bar Golf just a stones through within the Barcelo complex - we found that it was quiet and a nice place just to do things as you wish. This bar is not all inclusive which is a little disappointing but fully understandable. There was a female member of staff here who was our adopted mum for the week she was fantastic and couldn't do enough for us (Alexandra?) terrible name recall.

We did use the spa - 19 euros for 1hr 30, not bad, I don't really enjoy hot stuffy places so I stayed for about an hour, it was relaxing and for some very enjoyable but I did get bored after a while.

We hired a car from across the road for 3 days - 50 euros!! Bargain. We travelled to Binnebeque which is absolutely beautiful a real must, we went to Mahon (great shopping), San Luis which is a little bit of a shanty :/ and S'Algar (general age about 60+). What a beautiful place it is Punta Prima, rural but in the 21st Century, unspoilt, the bluest seas I've ever seen we will be back!

The weather in May was perfect, maintained about 24-26 degrees most days. There were a few families with young children but kids do have their own pool and most parents tended to stay to that sort of area if you are worried about noisy kids!

Barcelo is highly recommended by me!

Room Tip: We stayed in B102 - faces the courtyard, 1st floor, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunSeaAndMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights as a large group of my parents sister and partner and my self with my husband and two children aged 2 &4, we all enjoyed our stay. The location is great from beach, Mahon and airport!

Large swimming pools with loads for the kids.

Our family room was great! large, clean and everything we needed two showers a bath two toilets two large wardrobes 3 balconies and partitioned doors for our privacy from the children.

Food was always good quality and plenty of choice. Would have preferred an al a carte restaurant to split the 10 nights up but this didn't spoil our holiday.

The all inclusive could do with improvement on the drinks as we have stayed in much nicer 4 stars for less and had a lot more choice but again this didn't ruin our holiday and the location made up for it!

The spa was great we visited twice, the staff their are brilliant.

The local bus service is great into Mahon at €1.70 one way per adult and children under 5 are free.

Safe was €3 a day and €20 deposit plus towels were €20 euro deposit each

We would go back again as we loved Menorca but in hope the hotel changes the golf bar to be included in the all inclusive as we found this to be one downfall

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katyGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Overall a nice hotel & very suitable for families. We chose it because of its proximity to the airport & we have stayed in other Barceló hotels previously. We stayed AI and the food was quite good. My husband enjoyed all his meals, but the food which could have been a 'healthy option' was all cooked with lots of oil, & even the tuna was swimming in oil. Fresh fruit always available though. The beer, wine & spirits on the AI were good quality & better than I have experienced elsewhere. (Smirnoff vodka, Amstel beer).

The room size was a little disappointing & the one small mirror in the bathroom over the sink (which you could not get close to because of the shape of the sink) made it a little difficult for even a couple to get dressed up in the evening. A full length mirror or even an additional smaller mirror in the bedroom area would be a great addition. It was very hot when we stayed & we felt the air con could have been better. The ultra modern, wet room type shower left a lot to be desired, you had to switch it off a couple of times when showering or it would overflow, even on the very lowest setting. Overall room not very practical & definitely designed by a man who has no need of lights & mirrors for make up or straighteners!

On the positive side there were always plenty of sunbeds, it was immaculately clean & all the staff were pleasant & helpful. A porter took our cases to our room on arrival, but I think this is a bit hit & miss, depending if you arrive at a quiet time as we did. Towels changed every day.

Punta Prima is a very quiet little resort, as mentioned in other reviews, but had everything we needed.

We holidayed as a couple & as long as you are prepared for quite a bit of noise around the pool from the animation team activities, as we were, keeping in mind it is a family friendly hotel, it should not spoil your holiday. Evening entertainment varied from the African acrobats (excellent) to the 'perfect couple' & 'miss Barceló' nights (dire)!

Room Tip: After reading other reviews we asked for a room on a high floor overlooking the pool, and were alloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEM3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 6th June- 13th June on an All Inclusive basis, weather great, staff friendly and rooms nice. Rooms aren't massive but after a day at the pool you don't need a mansion! We particularly enjoyed the beds- the mattress was very good quality. We were room 4306 and had gorgeous views out towards the sea, very quiet too.

The resort of Punta Prima was very quiet, the restaurant El Faro was our fav with good food and nice atmosphere. We hired bikes and rode to Benibeca, which was nice.

Only thing that we were disappointed enough with to make comment was the good in the onsite restaurant. We only paid £580 each for 1 week so knew that something had to give but it was quite dire. The seating area outside was beautiful, staff very attentive but the quality of good was lacking- probably as we are British we eat meals with different components- meat veg etc. It was often difficult to make a meal out of what they had- e.g hotdogs, grilled tomatoes, chips. Breakfast was best with fresh fruit and pastries but other than that it wasn't great. We preferred eating out! Note as well that food at the pool bar wasn't all included as part of AI- you had to pay €3.70 for club sandwhich!

Overall nice place but if you are going AI get a deal so that you can still afford to eat out in the town!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katieparratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is just perfect for families of all ages. I have just returned being part of a family party of 16 covering ages from 1 to 52. It is a brilliant hotel that caters for all your needs. The setting is perfect for the kids, it is a quiet resort with nothing to do after 11pm but the kids are too tired and just want to go to bed which is ideal. A glass or two of wine on the balcony at the end of the day was sufficient to allow you to wake refreshed to start the next full on day with the children

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Adam Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The barcelo pueblo is a 4 star hotel with 3 star food and 1 star entertainment.We are a mature couple and have just returned from 2 weeks half board,we were given a first floor room in block 9 which was small but nicely appointed,walls very thin so you hear all the noises from next door and I mean every noise.The whole complex was kept immaculate,plenty of sunbeds and all the staff worked very hard.We found the food very bland,plenty of it and loads of choice,but all the meats tasted the same and the fish coarses were very poor,breakfast was the better of the two meals,but even then you found yourself waiting for either eggs or bacon to be cooked,resulting in warm food,which seems to be the norm in a/I hotels.The big letdown for us was the entertainment,the resident team of 8 were a complete waste of time,their efforts during the day and in particular the nightly shows were cringeworthy,even the brought in acts were at best average,which means your very much stuck because if you want evening entertainment there's little in the way of alternatives,because at this time of year the resort was very quiet.I know this review contradicts most opinions but I strongly feel this hotel is not for couples over a certain age.Would we return,if they sort out the entertainment ,yes.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Prima
18.7 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,026 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
14.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,517 reviews
12.9 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,426 reviews
24.3 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Menorca

Property: Occidental Menorca
Address: C/ Mestral s/n, 07710 Punta Prima, Minorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Pueblo Menorca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Punta Prima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Punta Prima
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Prima
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Prima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Occidental Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Pueblo Menorca Hotel Punta Prima
Barcelo Hotel Pueblo Menorca
Barcelo Punta Prima Es
Occidental Menorca Punta Prima, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing