We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Menorca”
Review of Occidental Menorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Occidental Menorca
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Punta Prima
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned from 1 week stay at the Barcelo Pueblo in Punta Prima, Menorca. Great choice of hotel and location. Punta Prima is only 25 minute transfer from airport and is a small resort with a lovely beach with lifeguards even at end of September! Don't expect any night life but for a relaxing chill-out week it is ideal.
Hotel accommodation was excellent but you need to choose your room - there are nine 4 storey blocks arranged around 2 pools and the best rooms are those on the 1st/2nd floors overlooking the pools. There are lifts in all the blocks. At this time of year there was plenty of space around the pools and there was no problem getting a sun lounger. There are 2 separate areas that cater for children away from the main pools and with their own bars/snack bars and there is also an excellent nursery facility on site with plenty of activities for children of all ages. The only downside from my point of view was the choice of food. Whilst my wife found no problem, I felt the choices were uninspiring and lacked imagination although the food was prepared and presented well. The restaurant is self-service and BIG although choosing to eat outside on the well appointed terrace made it more intimate.
Coach trip around the island is well worth it but if you want to visit Mahon take the service bus from outside the hotel at a cost of 1.65 Euro each way and then take a boat trip around Mahon Harbour.
The island has a totally different feel to Majorca and Ibiza - greener, more relaxed and compact. Ideal at this time of year with temperature mid to high 20s.

Room Tip: first or second floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 2,824 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for a week with our two young children. Hotel room was great 2 interconnecting rooms, cleaned daily and we got the ground floor rooms we requested. Breakfast was excellent. Dinner good but repetitive we ended up eating out a few times. Dining room is large and would recommend dinning outside it's much calmer and more pleasant than the chaos indoors. Reception team were lovely and helpful. The sports area next to the hotel was great. It comprised of a regular pool with kids shallow pool, a kids splash pool with slides, tennis courts etc and a bar area serving food. The kids mini disco was great fun our kids adored it the kids entertainment team were fantastic.
The things that could be better, the wifi in the rooms is poor, the main pool area in the hotel isn't that inviting possibly due to the grey stone effect tiles that made it look murky and cold. It was surrounded by rows of tightly packed sun loungers it didn't work for us with young children. The sports area made up for it and we chose to swim there it was always quiet. The dining room experience wasn't a positive one, the food was good and service was swift but it was filled with some of the rudest people we have ever encountered. Our child was pushed and elbowed out of the way while with me picking his dinner. Guests would push in front of you as you queued and barge through us as we tried to manoeuvre a child and his dinner to our table. It wasn't nice and ruined our meals some days. The rudest guests were the older spanish guests which surprised me. The highchairs were not great our toddler slipped out of them a few times. The hotel information book doesn't give you the necessary information we had to ask at reception for wifi code, about hiring pool towels and about the room safe this basic info should be included.
We gave this hotel 4 out of 5 because it is a good hotel with decent food and nice rooms, the hotel is not responsible for guests rudeness and perhaps we were just unlucky with the week we visited

Room Tip: For brighter rooms avoid the rooms that face directly onto opposite buildings. For a quiet room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having used our Tesco Club Card vouchers, we booked a 5 night visit to the Pueblo in Minorca, staying on a half board basis.
This is a lovely hotel that is run by friendly helpful staff. The hotel is very much aimed at families and couples. The buffet style breakfast and evening meal is a slick operation that offers a great variety of food for all tastes. Another reviewer comments that food is not so fresh and likens it to a Toby Grill. We recently had the misfortune of eating at a Toby Grill and feel that the comments are very unfair and insulting to the Pueblo. The food is very fresh and the standards of hygiene and cleanliness very high. The only criticism we can give the food is that some of it could be more flavoursome.
The beds for us were far to hard and caused us to wake in the night and the following morning with a stiff back.
Punta Prima is a nice area, suited to families and couples looking for a quiet, relaxed holiday.
We didn't hire a car on this occasion but instead used the local buses to get from the airport to the hotel. The bus journey for two was under 10 Euros. The buses were on time, clean and driven by friendly, helpful drivers. The bus stop is very close to hotel and you can get buses from here to other areas on the island. In terms of sightseeing the immediate area, there is a land train (bus) that runs regularly during the day. It stops at 3 or 4 villages, all are worth seeing, so pretty. The cost for two people return fare is 14 euros, you can get on and off the bus for this price. We also hired push bikes to see the surrounding villages, the cost for two people was 16 euros, this was for the whole day.
To summarise the hotel and Punta Prima are lovely and we will return again next year, just got to start saving the Tesco vouchers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WendyA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A well situated well presented hotel with excellent facilities for all ages. Bedrooms are of a high standard but not sure about the frosted glass wall between bathroom and bedroom area which means you can get a silhouette view of anyone showering. Food is good but restaurant can be very busy. Evening entertainment is available but the standard can be patchy

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

As i am writing this i am sat in the reception after having been for a very early morning walk as it is only 6am. I have lost count of how many visits we have had to this hotel over the years but it is lots over 30yrs. Another 30 mins and it will be time for coffee across the road in a small local bar. We have always been AI when stopping at this hotel and have always without fail received the best service across the board, i could not recomend this hotel highly enough. The hotel is spacious - the rooms are good and well kept although not all have good views i have to say - it is a complex this will occur due to the design restraints. The staff are and always have been excellent - children are well catered for - our 7yr old grandaughter loves the hotel. It does get busy with Italians / Spanish etc but for me that is ok as i do not wish to associate with my fellow countrymen on holiday as a number of them tend to be quite obnoxious as i have seen yet again this year. I grow weary of feeling that i have to appologise for their attitude and behaviour over the years, good manners cost nothing and attempting a little spanish will always pay dividends.

Room Tip: If you do not like the room allocated ask if this can be changed, they will accomodate you occupancy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karma0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed in a family suite we were apparently upgraded. There were 4 adults and our 18 month old. I have stayed in better accommodation. The room was ok clean yes but the bed were two singles that moved they were very hard. Our cot was ok but the only place it would fit was right under where the air con came out so it was too cold for our toddler at night and we were too hot. If we hadn't of had this room we would like some other parents had to put our buggy and cases on the balcony. We were lucky though to get this upgrade apparently. The food is ok but I found it not so fresh if you eat at toby carvery and are happy to you will be fine. I found it very much akin to a all you can eat buffet. This is no frills to me and an adequate 3 star.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Me and my boyfriend and our 2 children have just returned from a week here half board.
the rooms are spacious and the children got beds instead of bed sofas so everyone was more than comfortable there is only 2-3 English channels on the telly but then you don't really go to sit and watch TV it was nice to catch up on the news later on at night before bed. the bathrooms were big with plenty of room to get ready in and fresh towels everyday..

the pools are a little cold to get into but you soon warm once swimming around . there can get busy but every seemed to respect everyone else so no one was on top of you. both my children enjoyed splashing around without fear of hurting anyone. there are 2 main pools and a small splash pool for the children with animals and slides in . joined to the hotel is a sister bar that also has a main adult pool and a children's splash pool. this one was a lot bigger and my children seemed to enjoy this one better than the hotels ones. however be warned if you are all inclusive then you will have to pay for ALL drinks and snacks brought at this pool bar as these are not included in the deal.

the staff are all friendly and always happy to help. the majority of them speak very good English and there was never any language barrier.

the beach is only 2 mins walk straight down the hill from the hotel so nice and close for anyone to assess. It has a small variety of shops and restaurants along the beach-front and all have superb choice at excellent prices. you can hire sun loungers for a fare price and there is always plenty even in busy times. we loved the views down here and the sand is lovely white sands . although it seems a small resort its well worth a visit or 2. at night time they do a night time market that sell trinkets, bags and bits and bobs. its lovely to take a short walk down and have a browse.

meals times is a buffet style and the restaurant caters for all taste. breakfast there is cereal,fruit,yoghurt,parties,and of course fry ups as well as cheeses and meats ,coffee and a range of fruit juices.I was half board so didn't get to experience the lunch time menu but if its anything like the evening meals it won't disappoint as the choice there was amazing with at least 4 main things to choose from as well as veg potatoes . they also had 1-2 children's choices each night ranging from nuggets to meatballs. every night there was also 2-3 pasta dishes and a different pizza and chips. you can also choose from soup,meats,cheeses,and 2-3 salads . pudding was always ice cream and 3-4 different sponges or mousses or jellies. whatever your taste I don't think you will be disappointed. The one thing we found with the meals was the times with small children 7:30pm is a bit late for dinner would of rather it was more like 6:30pm .


The entertainment at night was good. every night was different and the children were catered for as well. they did a kids disco first them an adult show. even though it was an adult show you were allowed to bring the children if you wanted and everything was tamed down so it was more like a family show . we all looked forward to going each night and watching .

Over all this is a fab resort to go to and would highly recommend to everyone of all ages. it very much deserves its 4 star rating and really I couldn't fault it . well worth coming to and I am sure you will enjoy every second there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maggie2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Prima
24.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
12 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
4.6 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,370 reviews
24.3 mi away
Sol Falco by Melia -All Inclusive
12.9 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Menorca

Address: C/ Mestral s/n, 07710 Punta Prima, Menorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Pueblo Menorca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Punta Prima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Punta Prima
Price Range: $98 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Pueblo Menorca Hotel Punta Prima
Barcelo Hotel Pueblo Menorca
Barcelo Punta Prima Es
Occidental Menorca Punta Prima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing